Wyoming gun laws are "Unrestricted," and the permits are issued on a "Shall-Issue" basis. Residents with the appropriate age limit of 21 years and valid permits are allowed to carry a firearm either concealed or openly with no permit required to be carried at all times. As the state does not provide a permit to non-residents, other state residents may conceal carry firearms from reciprocatory states. There is no need for a permit to purchase a shotgun, rifle, or a handgun.
However, certain firearms like sawed-off guns and silencers are not permitted in the state. The state does not have any waiting period for the gun buyers, as long as they meet the eligibility criteria to carry a gun. 36 states across the country honor the Wyoming permit while the state honors 35 other states' gun permits. Permit issued by the state of Wyoming is valid for 5 years.
Wyoming CCW Process
There is a basic set of requirements any applicant willing to procure a Hand-gun must satisfy to get the Hand-gun license:
- The applicant must be a minimum of 21 years of age on the date of application
- The applicant must be a legal resident of Wyoming state for at least a period of 6 months.
- Must have demonstrated the ability to handle Handguns and must have completed a handgun training course.
- Must have a clean criminal record in recent 5 years.
- Must not have any charges or offenses in the past three years
- Must not be chronically or mentally ill in recent years.
- Must abide by the Federal Laws.
Here is the list of steps to be followed to get a permit for CCW Handgun:
- You can download the application form from the CCW Application Form site or get the forms from the local county office.
- Ensure to fill the application form accurately with all valid details and print 4 copies of the same.
- You need to pay the processing fee either through a money order or cashier's check only.
- Take the filled-in application form along with the check to the local sheriff's office.
- It will take 60 to process the permit.
Following documents needs to be taken along with the filled-in application form:
- Driver's license
- Proof of identity for the current residence
- Firearms training certification
You can renew Wyoming concealed weapon permit before the expiration of the current permit. The renewal form needs to be notarized and then submitted at the sheriff's office. Upon payment of the renewal fee and verification of the documents, the permit shall be renewed and intimated to the applicant.
Handgun License Fee
Processing fee for a new permit: USD 64
Processing fee for renewal: USD 45 (before the date of expiration)
Processing fee for renewal: USD 55 (before the date of expiration)
Processing fee for a duplicate permit: USD 5
Wyoming CCW Basics
Must Notify Officer
NO – Must Inform Officer when contacted
As per Wyoming Gun laws, it is a must to inform the officials when approached for an inquiry regarding the possession of a firearm. It is mandatory to carry the firearm permit along with you all times if you are carrying the firearm with you. It is a right to possess a firearm with an appropriate permit. If an officer approaches you and requests you to display the weapon and permit, you may do so.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
When a “No Firearm” sign is displayed, it is a must to oblige by the law. You may not enter a private or public area with no weapon sign enforced. If you do so, you will be legally penalized.
YES/NO- May carry without a permit
Wyoming gun laws permit any legal state residents with a valid permit to carry the firearm in the vehicle. If it is a long gun, it is a must to unload the gun and keep them visible in the vehicle, while in case of short guns; they must be unloaded and enclosed inside a case. You may carry a firearm, in your vehicle without the need to carry a permit at all times.
YES- Without a permit
As per Wyoming gun laws, any individual possessing a valid permit can legally carry weapons and firearms openly in hand, vehicle or to the place of work.
Wyoming Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
No permit of the state of Wyoming is needed to purchase a handgun, rifle or shotgun. A person legally possessing a concealed firearm permit issued by the state of Wyoming shall be exempt from a NICS check at the time of purchasing a firearm.
The information mandated by federal law to be recorded in regards to firearms shall be kept by every retailer, pawnbroker, wholesaler and dealer in guns in the place of business of the retailer, pawnbroker, wholesaler and dealer, and made available for inspection by any officer of the law or peace officer at any and all reasonable times.
The state of Wyoming does not require a permit to own and possess a shotgun, rifle or handgun.
Carrying a Firearm
Any resident of Wyoming 21 years of age or older may carry a firearm openly or concealed without a license unless the citizen in question is explicitly prohibited from carrying a firearm. Non-residents must obtain and maintain a permit from their state of residency to carry a firearm in Wyoming. Residents of Wyoming may also apply for a permit to carry a concealed gun in other states that require a permit for firearm possession and concealment.
The attorney general of Wyoming has authorization to approve and distribute permits to carry a concealed gun to parties maintained in this section. Local law enforcement and divisions of criminal investigation and justice are responsible for the availability and distribution of forms and applications. All permits issued shall remain valid in the state of Wyoming until precisely 5 years following the date of permit approval and issuance. When a holder of a permit is carrying a concealed firearm they are required to have a form of valid identification along with the aforementioned permit to present for inspection to any peace officer who inquires.
A permit shall be issued to anyone who:
- Is a legal resident of the United States and a legal resident of the state of Wyoming for at least 6 months prior to completing the permit application;
- Is 21 years of age or older;
- Is physically capable of safely operating a firearm and is not afflicted by any physical condition that may prevent the person from safely maintaining a firearm;
- Is not explicitly prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. section 922(g) or W.S. 6-8-102;
- Refrains from the chronic or habitual consumption of alcoholic beverages or malt liquors to the level of impairment of basic motor functionality and/or reasonable cognitive judgment. The state of Wyoming shall presume that the applicant has engaged in or is engaging in chronic or habitual consumption of alcoholic beverages or malt liquors to the level of impairment of basic motor functionality and/or reasonable cognitive judgment if the applicant has been committed, involuntarily and within a one-year period prior to the date of application for a permit as previously stated, to any residential or rehabilitation facility under force of the laws of this state or relevant laws of any other state stemming from the consumption or use of alcohol;
- Has not been declared legally incompetent and has not been committed to a coercive mental institution.
An applicant is ineligible if they have been:
- Committed to a federal or state institution as a result of the abuse of a controlled substance, within a one-year period prior to the date of application for a permit from the state of Wyoming;
- Proven guilty in a case of felony violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or relevant laws of any other state or the United States pertaining to the abuse of controlled substances and has not received a pardon; or
- Proven guilty in a case of misdemeanor violation of Wyoming Controlled Substance Act of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or relevant laws of any state or the United States pertaining to the abuse of controlled substances within a one-year period prior to the date of submitting an application for a permit from the state of Wyoming.
All applicants must demonstrate competency with firearms. A clearly legible photocopy of a document or certificate that verifies completion of any of the classes and/or courses or a legally notarized affidavit from the organization, school club, instructor or group that offered or taught the course or class confirming the successful completion of the class or course by the party currently applying or a copy of a document which proves the completion of a class or course or gives evidence to participation in a firearms or shooting competition, shall qualify as satisfactory evidence under this paragraph. Any one of the activities listed in the following section is deemed satisfactory in proving the firearm competency of an applicant:
- Successful completion and certification of or in any firearm safety course monitored and administered by an instructor certified by the Wyoming State Law Enforcement Academy or the National Rifle Association;
- Successful completion firearms safety and competency course offered for the training of special deputies, investigators, security guards or other specialized members of law or security enforcement;
- Personal experience in the handling and operation of firearms in competition or in military service;
- Successful completion of any gun safety or training class or course conducted by a National Firearms Association or state certified facilitator or instructor;
- Certification in firearms safety and competency under any Wyoming law enforcement agency and their policies, procedures and regulations; or
- Honorable retirement as a peace officer, state or federal, with a minimum service requirement of 10 years.
The division maintains the ability to revoke or reject a permit or permit if an applicant has been proven guilty of or has entered a plea of no contest to one or more violent crimes consisting of a misdemeanor offense during or within the period of three years preceding the date of application.
All applicants will submit to the division through the office of the county sheriff in the applicant’s current county of residence:
- A fully completed application;
- A fifty dollar ($50.00 USD) fee collected for all permits and renewals;
- A complete set of finger prints of the applicant processed by a body law enforcement for which the applicant is financially responsible;
- A copy of a document or certificate that establishes competency in the handling of firearms as stated above.
It is the responsibility of a sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence to submit a written report to the division including any information that he or she feels may be relevant to the approval or denial of a permit application. This written report shall contain established facts known to the sheriff which constitute reasonable circumstances or grounds to evidence that the applicant has been or is relatively likely to pose a danger to himself and/or others, or to the general public as a result of the applicant’s emotional, psychological or mental state or condition, as is clearly evidenced by a prior established pattern of behavior, or involvement in instances directly related to the use or consumption of controlled substances, alcohol abuse, or threats or acts of violence as these instances pertain to previously established criteria in this section. It is the responsibility of the aforementioned sheriff to submit the written report within a period of no more than 30 days following his receiving of a copy of a completed application.
The county sheriff of an applicant’s county of residence may present a written report to the division, at his or her personal discretion, vouching for the immediate issuing of a permit to carry a concealed firearm even if the applicant has not yet undergone the proper finger printing process. The written request shall explicitly state that the sheriff personally attests to the competency of an individual in the handling of firearms.The county sheriff of an applicant’s county of residence may present a written report, at his or her personal discretion to the division vouching for the issuance of a permit to carry a concealed firearm to an applicant who falls between the ages of eighteen (18) years and twenty-one (21) years and who satisfies all the requirements and mandates of this section. The written request shall explicitly state that the sheriff personally attests to the applicant’s circumstances which constitute the immediate issuance of a permit to carry a concealed firearm.
Within sixty (60) days of receiving all necessary forms and proofs including a completed application the division will:
- Approve and issue the permit; or
- Deny the application because the applicant does not qualify under the criteria found in this section. Applicants shall receive, in writing, notice of the denial of their permit application, including the justification or reasoning for denial and notifying the applicant of their right to present, within thirty (30) days, any supplementary information relevant to the grounds for or assisting in an appeal of the denial. Following the presentation of any such documentation by the applicant the division shall review their previous decision and notify the applicant of the reevaluated decision within a period of twenty (20) days. The applicant shall also be notified of the right to call upon legal review of the denial in the district court in accordance with Wyoming Administration procedure Act, W.S. 16-3-101 through 16-3-115. So long as a resident of Wyoming has been denied a permit by the state of Wyoming he or she shall not carry any concealed firearms with validation from a permit of another state or any other form of validation while he or she remains disqualified for a state permit.
An automatic record of permit holders and all relevant information shall be recorded and maintained by the division, and the information shall remain available on-line, at all times, upon request, to any law enforcement agency of Wyoming.
Any permit holder shall notify the division within an established period of thirty (30) days of changing his or her permanent address, or within thirty (30) days following the loss, serious aesthetic damage or destruction of a permit. Applicants found to be in violation of this section are subject to permit cancellation.
A permit issued by the division under this section shall be revoked:
- If the permit holder becomes disqualified to maintain a permit under the criteria constituted in this section; or
- For any conviction of or plea of no contest to any offense directly related to the use or consumption of controlled substances, alcohol abuse, or threats and/or acts of violence.
Any permit holder is within his or her rights to renew the permit on or before the date of permit expiration by filing a renewal form with the county sheriff of the permit holder’s county of residence as well as a notarized affidavit confirming the permit holders continued eligibility in all areas stated in the previous sections and the standard fee for renewal. Any person legally authorized to carry a concealed weapon relevant to the previous sections shall not carry a concealed firearm into:
- Any law enforcement administration or operation facility without the expressed, written consent of the facilities’ chief administrator;
- Any jail, prison, or detention facility.
- Any court room, though nothing in this section shall prohibit a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or discerning for himself who can and cannot carry a concealed firearm in the courtroom;
- Any gathering or meeting of a government body, agency or entity;
- Any gathering or meeting of any body of legislature or a committee of said body;
- Any professional athletic facility or event, school or college that is not directly related to firearms;
- Any proprietor or establishment with a state issued license to sell or dispense alcohol and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, or in a the portion of any establishment licensed to sell or dispense alcohol and malt beverages;
- Any assembly of people for the purpose of worship without the expressed written consent of the assemblies primary administrator;
- Any facility of primary or secondary education;
- Any facility or university of collegiate education without the expressed written permission of the educational facility’s security staff; or
- Any location that explicitly prohibits the carrying of a firearm under penalty of state or federal law.
All monies generated by this process shall be allotted to the general fund.All funds collected by any county sheriff relevant to this section shall be allotted to the general fund.
Antiques & Replicas
The state of Wyoming does not include any valid information in their statutes on the topic of antique and replica weapons. Any firearm that utilizes explosive force as its primary mechanism of launching a projectile is treated as a firearm in terms of possession and carrying.
The state of Wyoming permits the possession, purchase and use of machine guns that are properly registered and that adequately comply with all federal regulations.The state of Wyoming does, however, prohibit the carrying or use of machine guns or devices designed to silence the audible discharge of any firearm in the state’s forests or hunting and game fields.
Range operators shall not be subjected to civil or criminal litigation for any claim of noise or noise pollution.
WYO. STAT. ANN. § 16-11-102 (2011)
§ 16-11-102. Operation of shooting ranges; liability
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person who operates or uses a sport shooting range in this state shall not be subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution in any matter relating to noise or noise pollution resulting from the operation or use of the range if the range is in compliance with any noise control laws or ordinances that applied to the range and its operation at the time construction or operation of the range was approved by a local government.
(b) Any person who operates or uses a sport shooting range is not subject to an action for nuisance, and a court of this state shall not enjoin the use or operation of a range on the basis of noise or noise pollution, if the range is in compliance with any noise control laws or ordinances that applied to the range and its operation at the time construction or operation of the range was approved by a local government.
(c) Rules or regulations adopted by any state department or agency for limiting levels of noise in terms of decibel level which may occur in the outdoor atmosphere shall not apply to a sport shooting range exempted from liability under this act.
Wyoming Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Wyoming's Reciprocity States
States that honor a wyoming permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin
wyoming honors permits from these states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin
The state of Wyoming prohibits any and all use of guns within state camp grounds, recreational areas, state parks, historic sites and landmarks without the explicit permission by the Fish and Game Commission of the state. All archery hunters may possess and carry a gun for the sole purpose of self-defense during an exclusively archery season This firearm may not, under any circumstances, be used to willingly hunt and/or take game during an archery-only season.
It is illegal in Wyoming to: shoot, hunt or deliberately attempt to kill any game or wildlife from any and all highways or public roads; trespass on the private property of any person with the intention of trapping, hunting or fishing without the explicit permission of the lawful owner or party administrating the property; discharge any gun or firearm through or across public roads or highways; willingly discharge any rifle from the established property of one party onto or across the established property of another without the expressed consent of both parties; and participate in hunting activities at night on privately owned or leased property without the expressed consent of the property’s lawful owner or lease holder.
It is illegal in Wyoming to pursue, hunt, harass, shoot, attempt to kill or kill any Wyoming game or wildlife, excluding predatory animals in certain circumstances, from, with the assistance of or by any trailer, flying machine, automotive vehicle, vehicle designed for travel over snow, or motor-propelled wheeled vehicle. Handicapped hunters may seek an exemption from this law by way of the Wyoming Fish and Game Commission.
The state of Wyoming shall be the only body to regulate, authorize and prohibit the transfer, sale, delivery, taxation, storage, manufacture, purchase, ownership, transportation, use and possession of all weapons, firearms and/or ammunition. These responsibilities shall not fall on any city, town or county and as such, they shall not regulate, authorize or prohibit any of the activities listed above.
The Attorney General may initiate an intervention into any lawsuit filed in any state or federal court in Wyoming, or filed against any Wyoming resident, firm or group in any exterior jurisdiction for damages for injuries sustained as related to the operation of functioning firearms that lack any defects, if, based on his personal judgment, the lawsuit encroaches on the constitutional right of the Wyoming residents to keep and bear arms. Prior to any intervention in a lawsuit pertinent to this section, the Attorney General must seek and acquire the permission of the Governor.
A permit to carry a concealed firearm and license must be presented by a carrier to any peace officer upon his or her request.
Wyoming Off Limits Statues
6-8-104. Wearing or Carrying Concealed Weapons; Penalties; Exceptions; Permits
(t) No person authorized to carry a concealed weapon pursuant to paragraphs (a)(ii) through (iv) of this section shall carry a concealed firearm into:
- (i) Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration without the written consent of the chief administrator.
- (ii) Any detention facility, prison or jail.
- (iii) Any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the courtroom;
- (iv) Any meeting of a government entity.
- (v) Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof.
- (vi) Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms, except as provided in W.S. 21-3-132;
- (vii) Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to that purpose.
- (viii) Repealed by Laws 2018, ch. 85, § 1.
- (ix) Any Elementary or Secondary School facility, except as provided in W.S. 21-3-132
- (x) Any College or University facility without the written consent of the security service of the college or university.
- (xi) Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.
2018, ch. 85, § 1.
6-5-209. Taking Deadly Weapons Into Jails, Penal Institutions or Mental Hospitals; Penalties
(a) Except as authorized by a person in charge, a person commits a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than ten (10) years, a fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00), or both, if that person takes or passes a deadly weapon into a jail, a state penal institution, the Wyoming boys' school, Wyoming girls' school, a correctional facility operated by a private entity pursuant to W.S. 7-22-102 or the state hospital.
2013, ch. 160, § 1.