Arizona is the second State to apply "Constitutional Carry" laws, following Alaska. Arizona's gun laws operate at the state level; it allows any person at least 18-years-old to open carry and 21-years-old to conceal carry a firearm. Although the State's gun laws appear to be very lax, it maintained an excellent rating that is recognized by other states. Arizona maintains a "Shall Issue" policy -- issuing both resident and non-resident permits. There are specific requirements an applicant needs to accomplish to acquire an Arizona Gun Permit. And, in this article, we'll tackle all the things you need to know.
CCW Info and Process
To apply for an Alabama CCW Permit, here are the minimum requirements:
- Must be 21-years-old or above
- Complete the approved firearms training class
- No pending charges
- No crime or felony records
- Not been diagnosed as mentally ill
Before processing your permit application, it is highly suggested to go through these essential. First, evaluate whether you meet the qualifications set by the State of Alabama [refer to the Permit Requirements provided above] since the application is made online. Next, every applicant is required to read the Arizona Statute Title 13, Chapters 4, and 13. Afterward, follow these steps provided:
- As mentioned previously, you must complete the State-approved firearms safety training course.
- Contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit to request your application packet via email using the "Email Concealed Weapons" section at the left of your screen. Or, if you need further assistance, you can call the Arizona Department of Public Safety at 602-223-2000. Note: The application packet includes the form, two fingerprint cards, and a return envelope.
- Once the application packet is received, fill and return the form with two sets of fingerprints, proof of training, and the fee.
- You will be notified via mail once your application is approved.
If the permittee's license is about to expire, the Arizona Concealed Weapon Permit Unit mails a courtesy renewal packet to the address on record 90 days before the expiration date. The packet includes the renewal application form and a pre-addressed return envelope. For better assistance, follow these steps:
- You can renew your license 90 days before the expiration date or 60 days after the expiration date.
- If the permittee failed to revert the renewal packet after 60 days grace period, he/she is required to process a new application.
- In case you've moved or changed your address, inform the CWPU 10 days before the expiration.
- You can also drop off your renewal packets at this office address between 8 AM to 5 PM.
- Address: DPS Public Service Center Building 2222W. Encanto Blvd. Phoenix
Here's the complete list of fees you need to prepare:
- New Permit: $60
- Renewal: $43
- Replacement Permit: $10
- LEOSA Certification: $20
- LEOSA Instructor Certification: No Charge
You can pay the AZ DPS/CWPU using a money order, cashier or certified checks.
Arizona CCW Laws: Facts To Know
Must Notify Officer
No - Must Notify Officer
Arizona Gun Laws do not require you to notify an officer if you're carrying a concealed firearm. There is no particular clause or section that says to adhere if asked.
[ARS 13.3102 Misconduct with Weapons]
[ARS 13.3112 Carrying Permit]
No Weapons Allowed Sign
Yes - "No Weapons Allowed" Sign Enforced
Alaska grants private properties or businesses "No Weapons Allowed" signs to force the law. Once posted, any person must adhere to this signage. If caught refusing to follow the rules, he/she is breaking the law.
[ARS 4.229 Posting Notices]
Yes - Vehicle Carry Without Permit
Any person at least 21-years-old is allowed to own and carry a firearm -- loaded and concealed -- in a vehicle.
Arizona Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase & Possesion
It is illegal to give or sell to a minor, any firearm or ammunition without written permission from the minor’s parent or legal guardian.
A state permit is not required to purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun.
It is illegal to transfer or sell a gun to any person who is considered to be a “prohibited possessor.” (See definition under Possession.) The NICS check will be exempt for any person possessing a concealed handgun permit.
A state permit is not required to possess a rifle, shotgun or handgun. It is illegal for any person considered to be a “prohibited possessor” to possess a gun.
A prohibited possessor includes any person found to be a danger to himself or others in accordance with a court order and whose court treatment mandated by the courts is still ongoing; who is a felon involving violence or possession and use of a dangerous instrument or weapon that can be deadly and whose civil rights are not yet restored; who is serving a term of imprisonment in any detention or correctional facility at the time of possession; who is serving a term of probation at the time of possession in accordance with a conviction for a violent domestic offense or a felony offense, community supervision, work furlough, parole, house arrest or release on any other basis or who is currently serving probation or parole; or who was found to be delinquent previously and who uses, possesses or carries a gun within a ten year period from the date of adjudication or release for any offense that would be charged as first or second degree burglary, murder, arson, manslaughter, kidnapping, robbery, sexual assault, aggravated assault or any other offense considered to be a felony and involves the use or threatening exhibition of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument, if committed by an adult.
Any person, unless a member of the Armed Forces of the United States or a Peace officer may not knowingly possess a gun whereby the manufacturer’s serial number has been removed, destroyed, or altered. This law will not apply to any firearm possessed by a museum as a part of its collection or any educational institution for educational uses or by an authorized employee of a museum or institution or if acquired by gift, devise or descent or in a fiduciary capacity as a recipient of the gun of any deceased person, or person who is incapacitated or is insolvent.
Any person under the age of 18, who has not been emancipated if they are not accompanied by a parent, guardian, grandparent, or a safety instructor, certified hunter or certified firearms safety instructor who has the consent of the minor’s parent, grandparent or guardian shall not carry or possess on his person, immediate control, or in or on a vehicle or other means of transportation, any firearm in a place that is open to the public or on any state highway, street, or on private property, except property that is privately owned or leased by the minor or the minor’s parent, grandparent, or guardian. This law is not applicable to any person between the ages of 14 and 17 who is engaged in hunting legally, marksmanship, transportation of a gun that is not loaded for the purpose of hunting, between the hours 5:00 am. and 10:00 pm., transporting a gun that is not loaded for the purpose of marksmanship at a range or another area where the use and discharge of a firearm is not illegal.
Carrying a Firearm
It is legal in the state of Arizona to openly carry a handgun, for any law-abiding citizen. Anyone at least 21 years old, who is not prohibited from possession, can legally carry a weapon either in the open or concealed without a license from the state of Arizona. Any person who carries a firearm without a license must follow the instruction of any law enforcement officer when asked if he/she is carrying a concealed deadly weapon, if the law enforcement officer initiates an "investigation" in the course of contact with the carrier, such as a traffic stop.
It is illegal to have in the immediate control of any person under the age of 21, a concealed gun, in or on any vehicle for transport. Guns will be transported in a case, a holster or scabbard, a, trunk, storage compartment, pack, luggage, or glove compartment of any means of transportation.
Unless authorized by law enforcement, no person can legally enter a public establishment or public event while in possession of a gun on his/her person after a request to remove the firearm and place it in the custody of the operator of the establishment has been made. This law is not applicable to shooting ranges or shooting events, hunting areas or shooting locations or activities.
It is illegal, unless authorized by specific law, to be present at any election polling place on election day, in possession of a firearm.
It is illegal to carry any deadly weapon on an elementary or high school campus. If an adult leaves a firearm in a locked vehicle, unloaded and out of sight, or is approved for a school program, this rule does not apply.
A permit to carry a concealed weapon for any resident of the state of Arizona, who is at least 21 years of age, a U.S. citizen, who has completed an approved firearms safety program, provides fingerprints and pays a permit fee of $60 for a new license and $43 for a renewal, and who is not a person prohibited to possess a firearm, including a convicted felon, judged to be mentally incompetent, or is an illegal alien may be issued by the Department of Public Safety. Any necessary qualification checks must be completed within 60 days of receiving the application, and the permit is to be issued within 15 working days after the checks are completed. The permit, which is renewable every five years, will not be valid for more than a five-year period.
For purposes of reciprocity, the Department of Public Safety will provide written agreements to states that require them in writing. Any person who possesses a concealed gun permit who resides in another state is legally present and may possess a gun in the state of Arizona and may carry a concealed gun while in the state of Arizona.
Any person who possesses a concealed weapons permit can legally carry a concealed handgun on the premises of any establishment that possesses a liquor licensee, who is an on-sale retailer unless the establishment posts a sign that prohibits the weapons on the licensed premises.
If a firearm is legally stored in a locked vehicle, out of sight, no owner, tenant, public or private employer or business entity may prohibit a person from transporting or keeping the firearm in the vehicle.
Antiques & Replicas
The state of Arizona does not post laws regarding antique or replicas of firearms. If these firearms are in inoperable condition, standard regulations for firearms do not apply. Any other type of antique or replica firearm will be treated as ordinary firearms for purposes of possession and carrying.
The definition of a machine gun applies to firearms that are capable of shooting more than one shot automatically, by a single trigger function, without the necessity for reloading.
It is illegal to possess, transport, manufacture, transfer, or sell any machine gun. Peace officers, members of the United States Armed Forces or any person who is specifically licensed, authorized or permitted in accordance with an Arizona statute or the National Firearms Act are exempt. This is also not applicable to any machine gun that is registered in the national firearms registry and records of transfer of the U.S. Treasury Department or classified as a relic or curio by the U.S. Treasury Department.
It is legal for any museum, educational institution, or its employee to possess, transport sell or transfer, any machine gun that is part of a collection.
According to Arizona law or the National Firearms Act, a machine gun may be legally manufactured, possessed, sold, or transferred from an authorized manufacturer or dealer for or to a dealer or any state or municipal police department, or police officer, detention facility, military service of Arizona, or the United States, or a museum or educational institution, or any person who is specifically licensed to possess a machine gun.
Shooting ranges are protected in general by state law, against any nuisance lawsuits that allege noise pollution.
ARIZ. REV. STAT. ANN. § 17-601. Definition of outdoor shooting range:
In this article, unless otherwise required by the context, “outdoor shooting range” or “range” refers to a permanently located and improved area created and operated for use with rifles, shotguns, pistols, silhouettes, skeet, trap, black powder or other similar shooting sport in an outdoor area. Outdoor shooting range does not refer to any area for the specific use of archery or air guns or a fully enclosed area designed for a totally controlled shooting environment including impenetrable walls, floor and ceiling, ventilation, lighting systems and sound muffling suitable for the range's approved use.
§ 17-602. State outdoor shooting range noise standards; preemption; measurement; definitions
A. According to the legislature, outdoor shooting range noise standards are a concern statewide. As applied to outdoor shooting ranges, City, town, county and any other state noise standards are preempted.
B. Every outdoor shooting range in the state of Arizona must measure the noise emission from the range according to subsection E, at least one time. In addition, the range must measure the noise emission if it expands the area for use with firearms and explosives more than twenty percent in size or if the range allows the use of a different type of firearm or explosive device that will increase noise production. The range is responsible for paying for the measurement and must retain the measurement results at the range at all times. The noise measurement results may be reviewed by any person at any time during the range’s business hours. Ranges located at least one mile from residences, schools, hotels, motels, hospitals or churches are exempt from this subsection.
C. In accordance with subsection C, any person, at their own expense, may measure the noise emissions from an outdoor shooting range pursuant to subsection E.
D. Outdoor shooting range noise may not exceed a Leq(h) of sixty-four dBA.
E. In measuring the noise emitted from an outdoor shooting range:
1. If a range performs the measurement of noise pursuant to subsection B, In the course of measuring sound pressure in accordance with subsection B. If a range performs the measurement of noise pursuant to subsection C measurements must be taken twenty feet from the nearest occupied residence, hospital or church, school hotel, motel or from the nearest proposed location of any residence, hospital or church, school, hotel, motel if the property is legally zoned for such, but is unimproved at present. Measurements must be taken twenty feet from the nearest occupied residence, hospital, or church, school, hotel, motel or from the proposed location of any residence, hospital or church school, hotel, motel if the property is legally zoned for such, but is unimproved at present.
2. If a sound pressure measurement is made, it must be executed between the range location and the nearest existing or proposed school, residence, hotel, motel, church or hospital. If any natural or artificial obstructions may prevent an accurate noise measurement, the measurement can be taken within a radius of an additional twenty feet from the original measurement location.
3. Sound pressure measurements shall be made on The A-weighted fast response mode scale. Measurements must be taken during the operation of the range at the nosiest peak hour.
All measurements must be taken in accordance with standard methods set forth by the American national standards institute, ANSI S1.2-1962 (R1976), American national standard method for sound measurement and ANSI S1.2-1971 (R1976) American national standard method for sound measurement pressure levels. A type 1 sound meter must be used for measurement that meets the requirements of ANSI S1.4L-1971.r All range safety rules must be complied with during any part of the measuring process.
F. Any outdoor shooting ranges that are operative on July 1, 2002 must be in compliance wit the rules of this section before July 1, 2003. Any range that is not operative on July 1, 2002 must be in compliance with the rules of this section upon commencement of operation.
G. Subsection B is not applicable to any outdoor shooting range built for military use, or armed nuclear security guard training, not open to the public.
H. Pertaining to this section:
1. “A-weighted” refers to a frequency-weighting network used to measure changes in sensitivity as it relates to frequency.
2. “DBA” refers to A-weighted decibels that measure sound energy in different frequency bands as humans respond to it.
3. “Decibel” refers to the unit of measurement for sound pressure that denotes the ratio between two quantities, proportional to power. Ten times the base ten logarithm of this ratio denotes the number of decibels
4. “Leq(h)” refers to the equivalent level of energy that is the steady state level that reflects the same amount of sound energy as a time varying sound level for a period of sixty minutes.
§ 17-603. Preexistent outdoor shooting ranges; noise attenuation or buffering
A. If any shooting range located outdoors was constructed before July 1, 2002 and was in compliance at that time with applicable county or municipal ordinances and requirements regarding zoning, and if any property that is located within one mile of the exterior property boundary of the shooting range is rezoned after July 1, 2002 for residential use or another use including a school, hotel, motel, hospital or church, the zoning authority must provide for a noise buffer or attenuation device that is either:
1. Located inside the new development as a condition of property development or as supplied by the zoning authority.
2. Funded or supplied by the zoning authority to be located within the range.
B. Any group of property owners, developers, zoning authorities or ranges themselves can negotiate and provide for attenuation devices or noise buffers that are located on or off the range.
C. Under this section any noise buffering or attenuation must comply with state noise standards prescribed by § 17-602.
§ 17-604. Nighttime shooting range operations outdoors
A. Outdoor shooting ranges may not operate from 10:00 p.m. through 7:00 a.m. if located within areas zoned for residential use or use which includes a school, hotel, motel, hospital or church.
B. Any outdoor shooting range providing law enforcement, military or armed nuclear security guard training is exempt from rules set forth in this section. These ranges must provide adequate public notice posted in four public locations within one mile of the outer boundaries of the range notifying the public each calendar quarter when the range will operate from 10:00 p.m. through 7:00 a.m. as well as the purpose for those nighttime operations. Any nighttime operations under this subsection must be in compliance with the standards prescribed by § 17-602 for nighttime noise.
§ 17-605. Noise pollution; nuisance; defense; costs
A. If in compliance with this article, it is considered an affirmative defense to any civil claim for equitable relief that arises from any allegation in regards to noise or noise pollution as a result of owning, operating or using any outdoor shooting range.
B. In any action in accordance with subsection A, where a defense has been raised, the court will award the party who prevails, its costs and all expenses, including costs incurred for noise measurement from the range and any reasonable attorney fees.
Arizona Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Arizona's Reciprocity States
States that honor an Arizona CCW permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Arizona honors these state CCW permits
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, , Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico
States that will not accept an Arizona CCW permit
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington
A civil liability action in any Arizona court may not be brought against any firearms manufacturer by a political subdivision.
It is illegal to remove, alter or destroy the serial number of a manufacturer on any firearm.
It is illegal to discharge any firearm within the limits of any municipality with the exception of: a properly supervised shooting range that is operated by a club that is in affiliation with any nationally recognized shooting organization, or by any government agency or a public or private school, or for use with air or carbon dioxide gas, or for use in underground ranges on private or public property. Such ranges can be operated with adult supervision in an area designated by the Arizona Game and Fish Department as a hunting area, approved by the chief of police and posted as such; for the wildlife nuisance control by permit, or as permitted by the chief of police of the municipality.
It is illegal to handle, display, or discharge a gun recklessly with intent to disturb the peace and quiet of any neighborhood, family or person.
It is illegal to discharge a firearm from a motor vehicle, aircraft, train, powerboat, and sailboat under sail or floating object towed by any powerboat or sailboat. It is legal to kill wildlife in self defense or defense of another person.
It is illegal to knowingly discharge a firearm into, upon, across, from or into any road or railway.
It is illegal to shoot a firearm while in the process of hunting if within a quarter mile of any occupied residence, cabin, lodge or building without prior permission of the resident or homeowner.
It is illegal to possess any device designed to silence, muffle or minimize the report of a firearm while hunting.
It is illegal for any person while in the process of hunting or in a hunting area to handle or discharge any gun while intoxicated or in a reckless or careless manner or with blatant disregard for the safety of property or human life.
It is illegal to possess or carry a firearm for hunting within or upon a game refuge except with written permission or under seal of the game commission. This does not prevent any landowner, lessee permittee, their employees, or person licensed to trap from carrying a firearm in the performance of their legal duties.
It is illegal to transfer, poses or manufacture a rifle with a barrel less than 16 inches in length or a shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches in length or any firearm with an overall length that is less than 26 inches. See “Machine Gun” exemptions.
Arizona Off-Limit Statues
ARS 13.2911. - Interference with or disruption of an educational institution; violation; classification; definitions
I. Not withstanding section 15-341 and subsection D of this section, the governing board of an educational institution may not adopt or enforce any policy or rule that prohibits the lawful possession or carrying of a deadly weapon on a public right-of-way by a person or on or within a person's means of transportation.
J. Interference with or disruption of an educational institution pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 1 of this section is a class 6 felony. Interference with or disruption of an educational institution pursuant to subsection A, paragraph 2 or 3 of this section is a class 1 misdemeanor.
K. For the purposes of this section:
1. "Educational institution" means, except as otherwise provided, any university, college, community college, high school or common school in this state.
2. "Governing board" means the body, whether appointed or elected, that has responsibility for the maintenance and government of an educational institution.
3. "Interference with or disruption of" includes any act that might reasonably lead to the evacuation or closure of any property of the educational institution or the postponement, cancellation or suspension of any class or other school activity. For the purposes of this paragraph, an actual evacuation, closure, postponement, cancellation or suspension is not required for the act to be considered an interference or disruption.
4. "Property of an educational institution" means all land, buildings and other facilities that are owned, operated or controlled by the governing board of an educational institution and that are devoted to educational purposes.
5. "Public right-of-way" means any highway, street, road, thoroughfare, path, alley or other right-of-way that is publicly accessible and that is established and maintained by this state or a political subdivision of this state. Public right-of-way does not include property of an educational institution.
ARS 13.3102 - N. For the purposes of this section:
4. "School" means a public or nonpublic kindergarten program, common school or high school.
5. "School grounds" means in, or on the grounds of, a school.
ARS 13.3102.01 - Storage of Deadly Weapons
A. If an operator of a public establishment or a sponsor of a public event requests that a person carrying a deadly weapon remove the weapon, the operator or sponsor shall provide temporary and secure storage. The storage shall be readily accessible on entry into the establishment or event and allow for the immediate retrieval of the weapon on exit from the establishment or event.
B. This section does not apply to the licensed premises of any public establishment or public event with a license issued pursuant to title 4.
C. The operator of the establishment or the sponsor of the event or the employee of the operator or sponsor or the agent of the sponsor, including a public entity or public employee, is not liable for acts or omissions pursuant to this section unless the operator, sponsor, employee or agent intended to cause injury or was grossly negligent.
D. For the purposes of this section, "public establishment" and "public event" have the same meanings prescribed in section 13-3102.
ARS 13.3102 (N) - Misconduct Involving Weapons; Defenses; Classification; Definition
2. "Public establishment" means a structure, vehicle or craft that is owned, leased or operated by this state or a political subdivision of this state.
3. "Public event" means a specifically named or sponsored event of limited duration that is either conducted by a public entity or conducted by a private entity with a permit or license granted by a public entity. Public event does not include an unsponsored gathering of people in a public place.
ARS 13.421 - Justification; Defensive Display of a Firearm; Definition
A. The defensive display of a firearm by a person against another is justified when and to the extent a reasonable person would believe that physical force is immediately necessary to protect himself against the use or attempted use of unlawful physical force or deadly physical force.
B. This section does not apply to a person who:
1. Intentionally provokes another person to use or attempt to use unlawful physical force.
2. Uses a firearm during the commission of a serious offense as defined in section 13-706 or violent crime as defined in section 13-901.03.
C. This section does not require the defensive display of a firearm before the use of physical force or the threat of physical force by a person who is otherwise justified in the use or threatened use of physical force.
D. For the purposes of this section, "defensive display of a firearm" includes:
1. Verbally informing another person that the person possesses or has available a firearm.
2. Exposing or displaying a firearm in a manner that a reasonable person would understand was meant to protect the person against another's use or attempted use of unlawful physical force or deadly physical force.
3. Placing the person's hand on a firearm while the firearm is contained in a pocket, purse or other means of containment or transport.