Bureau of Firearms for the state of California is responsible for educating people regarding the state firearms laws and regulations. The state falls under the "MAY ISSUE" category, and the discretion of providing a permit to any individual is based on the sheriff's decision. All the guns must be registered immediately after purchase. The state does not honor other state carry permits. However, 24 other states accept the carry permit issued by California state.
The state follows stringent handgun laws and does not allow any illegal possession of firearms within the state limit. Even the purchase of firearms necessitates the individual to produce proof of identity, proof of residence and fingerprint verification. Any firearm purchased must eventually be in the rooster maintained by the county. Any non-resident of the state may not be able to purchase a firearm within the state limits. The manufacturers are required to enroll the new model into the state/ county roster No individual is allowed to carry a loaded firearm within the state limit. The state laws also limit the purchase of firearms as one per individual to ensure public safety.
California CCW Processing
- The applicant must be at least 18 years of age.
- Must have shown good conduct record
- Must have a supporting and justifiable cause to get a permit.
- Must be a local resident or must have the workplace in the county.
- Must have completed the firearms training course before applying.
- Must not be a convict of any felony or mischarges in recent years.
- Must not be mentally ill or unstable during the time of application.
- Must abide by the Federal law requirements.
- Must bot be addicted to drugs or any intoxications or must not be charged for the same in the recent past.
New Application Process
It takes approximately at least 90 days to process a new Handgun application and below are the steps to submit a new application form.
- Ensure to use the recently published application form to fill in all the basic and valid information.
- All the sections in the application form need to be completed with correct information along with signatures.
- Upon completion, fingerprint requirements need to be completed by the applicant and pay the licensing fee.
- Handgun training certificate needs to be produced along with the application form.
Additional Documents to be submitted along with application form:
A copy of the California driver license of the applicant or a valid Identification Card.
The permit is valid for 2 years and the permit is honoured by 24 states across the nation. You may have to complete the handgun training course in order to get a permit.
Renewal of the permit
The applicant must ensure to complete all the sections of the application form with valid details along with signatures as required.
Submit the renewal application timely. The applicants will have to submit the renewal application at least 60 days prior to the date of expiration.
Firearms Permit is not eligible to be renewed after the date of expiration. The applicant may have to go through the new application process, in case of failure to submit the renewal application form and fee within the time limit.
Renewal process from county to county.
USD 100 payment has to be made towards new application processing for the Firearms permit while the renewal process fee is USD 45.00
The processing fee may vary between the counties and may range between USD 70 and USD 100.
California CCW Basics
Must Notify Officer
YES/NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER
As per California Gun laws, there is no rule that indicates an individual to inform the officials when approached for an enquiry regarding the possession of a firearm. But it is a must to carry the firearm permit along with you all times if you are carrying the firearm with you. It is a right to possess a firearm with an appropriate permit.
The law may differ between various counties.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
When a “No Firearm” sign is displayed, it does not have the force of law, but when it is over any property which purposefully indicates that it is a state law and it is an offence to carry firearms.
YES- WITHOUT A PERMIT
California gun laws permit any individual with a valid permit to carry the firearm in the vehicle. If it is a long gun, it is a must to unload the gun and keep them visible in the vehicle, while in case of short guns; they must be unloaded and enclosed inside a case. You may carry a firearm, in your vehicle without the need to carry a permit at all times. But it is recommended to carry the license whenever you carry a firearm.
It is illegal to carry firearm openly with or without a permit in the state of California
California Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
- State CCW Site
- State CCW Pamphlet
- CCW Application
- CA Firearm Forms
- CA Firearm Info Bulletins From CA AG
- State FAQ Site
- CA Gun Rights Foundation FAQs
- State Statutes
- State Admin Rules
- CA Gun Rights Foundation App Guide
- Transporting a Firearm In California
- State Attorney General
- 2nd CCW Info Site
- Age to Carry a Firearm In Other States
Purchase & Possession
All sales of firearms, which include private transactions and gun show sales or transfers must be conducted through a California licensed firearms dealer. Before any firearms can be transferred or sold an application must be made with a licensed California gun dealer. A description of the buyer or transferee and the firearm must be included in the application. This application contains a description of the buyer or transferee and of the firearm. The dealer must be presented with a valid California Driver’s License or a California Identification Card and purchaser’s right thumbprint. Additional proof of California residence, other than a document from the Department of Motor Vehicles must be provided by the purchaser of a handgun. The local police chief or sheriff and the California Department of Justice must receive a copy of the application from the dealer.
A background check on every buyer must be conducted by the CA DOJ, at a cost of $25.00. Before delivery of any firearm, there is a 10-day waiting period. A register of all firearms transfers must be maintained by every firearms dealer. A 10-day waiting period and a background check must be conducted in addition to a determination of eligibility and ownership through the Personal Firearms Eligibility Check.
The entire purchase process including the payment of fees must be repeated if a person fails take possession of the firearm from the dealer within a period of 30 days.
The dealer application fee and waiting period are not applicable to transfers of firearms to police officers, other gun dealers, importers or manufacturers, antique firearms, and rifles and shotguns classified as curios or relics by the federal government, transfers to a person’s “immediate family,” including, parent, grandparent, child, or grandchild; and the firearms recipient must possess a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC), any infrequent temporary loan not to exceed 30 days to a person who may legally possess a firearm, and a transfer of a rifle or shotgun at auctions by nonprofit or public benefit corporations.
An application to purchase more than one pistol, revolver, or other firearm that can be concealed upon the person can be made by any person within a period of 30 days. No delivery of a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of concealment may be made to a person who has made application for such, within any 30-day period.
It is illegal to purchase or transfer a handgun to any person who does not possess a HSC. In order to obtain a Handgun Safety Certificate, a person must pass a test in writing that includes but is not limited to laws that apply to the ownership, use, handling, and carrying of firearms, especially handguns. A CA DOJ certified instructor must administer The Handgun Safety Certificate test. The HSC is valid for 5 years.
A person must possess an approved safety device in order to receive a handgun from any dealer. To determine whether a safety device is certified and approved for use, a list of devices can be found on the California Department of Justice, Firearms Division website at www.ag.ca.gov/firearms
A person must demonstrate the ability to operate all safety features of a firearm and be able to handle a handgun safely in order to receive one from a dealer.
Every gun dealer must post a notification that specifically states, “If you leave a loaded firearm where a child obtains and improperly uses it, you may be fined or sent to prison.”
It is illegal for any person to transfer any firearm to another person who may not possess or own a firearm. A dealer may not transfer a handgun to any person under the age of 21 or a long gun to any person under the age of 18. It is illegal to sell or furnish a BB gun to any minor without first obtaining the permission of their parent or guardian. It is illegal for any person to sell ammunition or reloaded ammunition to another person under the age of 18.
A firearm dealer may only offer handgun models for sale to the general public if they have passed safety, firing, and drop tests and are listed on the “Roster of Handguns Certified For Sale.” Semiautomatic pistols that do not pass the safety testing requirements that do not have a chamber load indicator or a magazine disconnect mechanism will not be included in the roster. Every semiautomatic firearm included in the roster must have both a chamber load indicator and a magazine disconnect mechanism. Exempt from this requirement are: Private party transfers, curio/relic handguns, certain single action revolvers and pawn/consignment returns. The Department of Justice roster can be found at the Department of Justice website.
It is illegal for any person who is convicted of a felony, or who is a drug addict, a mental patient either past or present, any person committed for mental observation, or acquitted of an offense by reason of insanity to own or possess any firearm. Any person convicted of a misdemeanor that involves force or violence may not possess or own a firearm within 10 years of the conviction. A person who has been determined to be a juvenile offender or delinquent of any offense that would be classified as a felony or misdemeanor involving force or violence, if committed by an adult, may not lawfully own or possess any firearm until 30 years of age. Without written permission or under the supervision of a parent or guardian, a minor may not possess a handgun.
Any person entering the state of California, possessing a pistol, revolver, or any firearm that can be concealed on their person, must complete and return a Department of justice registration form or sell or transfer the firearm to a registered dealer or a sheriff or police department within 60 days of entry. Currently, registration of rifles and shotguns is not required, however this law could change in the near future.
A Personal Firearms Eligibility Check from the California department of Justice can be conducted on any person wishing to know whether they are eligible to possess or own a firearm in the state of California.
Unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian or having written permission, while participating in a legal recreational activity involving the use of firearms, no minor under the age of 16 may possess a handgun. Unless travelling to or from a lawful recreational or competitive shooting activity or a hunting activity, or under the supervision of a parent or guardian or with written permission, no minor under the age of 16 may possess live ammunition.
Carrying a Firearm
It is illegal to carry a loaded handgun, shotgun, or rifle into any public place or on any public street where a firearm is prohibited or in an incorporated area. Carrying any handgun either loaded or unloaded into any incorporated area has now been banned in the state of California. In the state of California, a firearm is considered loaded if ammunition that has not been expended and is capable of being used in the firearm is in a position to be fired. Exceptions to this rule include:
- Persons shooting at target ranges, or who are engaged in hunting on the property of a shooting club.
- Any person who believes with a degree of reason that he or his property is in immediate danger and that a weapon must be carried for “preservation.”
- A person who is “engaged in the act of making or attempting lawful arrest.”
- A person who legally carries a firearm while at home or at his place of business. This includes temporary residences and campsites.
Carrying a handgun concealed is prohibited without a license. The law has now changed to ban the open carry of handguns in incorporated areas, loaded or unloaded.
It is illegal to carry a handgun that is concealed within a vehicle without a license. A handgun is considered to be concealed if it is carried in a glove compartment or under the seat of a vehicle. Any handgun is deemed not to be concealed if it is placed in a locked container in a vehicle, in an area other than a utility or glove compartment or while in a container that is locked and carried directly to or from a vehicle. A locked container is considered a fully enclosed secure container locked by a key lock or similar locking system.
Exceptions to this rule include: members of clubs that are organized for practice shooting while on a target range that is established; licensed hunters and fishermen that are engaged in hunting or fishing and any member of an antique or historical collector’s club that are at a show.
Antiques & Replicas
Antique firearm shall include any firearm that is not designed or redesigned to use rimfire or centerfire ammunition and that is manufactured in or before the year1898. This includes any matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar type of ignition system or replica as such, whether it is actually manufactured before 1898 and also any firearm manufactured in or before 1898 that uses fixed ammunition that is no longer manufactured in the U.S. and is not readily available in the ordinary channels of commercial trade.
The definition of a machine gun is any firearm that can shoot more than one shot automatically, by one single function of the trigger, without requiring a manual reload. The term also includes any part, frame or receiver of a machine gun, that has been converted, or any firearm deemed as a machine gun by the federal government. A permit for possession or transportation may be obtained from the Department of Justice upon a showing of good cause. It has, however been reported that the Department of Justice refuses to grant such a permit.
It is illegal to possess other firearms and related items and is punishable by either a misdemeanor or a felony. This includes, but is not limited to:
- A gun that is not recognizable immediately, as a firearm.
- A firearm container that is camouflaged.
- Any ammunition containing a flechette dart.
- Any bullet, which carries or contains an explosive agent.
- Any trigger activator that operates as a multiburst.
- Any shotgun or rifle that is short-barreled.
- Any firearm known as a “zip gun”; and
- Any pistol that is unconventional.
- Short-barreled rifles and shotguns that are permitted for possession by the Department of Justice and not in violation of federal law;
- Any relic or antique firearms, defined as:
- Any firearm manufactured in or before 1898 that is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire or centerfire ammunition (including a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap or similar type of ignition system or replica, whether manufactured before 1898 or not); and
- Any firearm that is manufactured in or before 1898 using fixed ammunition that is no longer manufactured in the U.S. and is no longer readily available through the ordinary channels of commercial trade;
- Tracer ammunition to be used in shotguns; and,
- Any “curio or relic” or “any other weapon” defined by federal law, that is possessed by a person who is permitted to possess it under federal law and may lawfully possess firearms and ammunition under California State law.
It is illegal to possess a destructive device, or any firearm that is larger than .60 caliber that can fire fixed ammunition, or any fixed ammunition for such firearm including tracer or incendiary ammunition. Shotguns and shotgun ammunition are excluded.
f a shooting range is operating within compliance of all ordinances pertaining to noise that were in effect at the time the range was constructed, they shall be protected from civil or criminal prosecution for matters concerning noise disturbance.
§ 3482. 1 Use or operation of a sport shooting range concerning civil liability or criminal prosecution of noise or noise pollution nuisance (a) in reference to:
(1) The term, “Person” refers to an individual, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club, or legal entity.
(2) “Sport shooting range” or “range” is in reference to an area that is designed and operated for the use of pistols, silhouettes, shotguns, rifles, trap, skeet, black powder, or any sport or training purpose for law enforcement agencies.
(3) “Indoor shooting range” refers to any facility that is designed to create a controlled shooting environment including impenetrable walls that offer adequate ventilation and lighting systems for floors and ceilings, and treatment of acoustics for sound muffling that is suitable for the shooting range’s approved use.
(4) “Nighttime” refers to the hours between means between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m.
(b) Any person who uses a sport shooting range in the state of California (1) except as provided in subdivision (f), will not be subject to any civil liability or criminal prosecution in matters related to noise or noise pollution that results from the use or operation of the shooting range if the range complies with noise control laws or ordinances applicable to the range and its operation at the time of construction that was approved by a local public interest having jurisdiction in the matter, or if no such laws or ordinances regarding noise originally existed.
(2) Any person who operates or uses a sport shooting range except as provided in subdivision (f), or training range for law enforcement shall not be subject to any nuisance action, and a court shall not enjoin any operation or use of a shooting range based on noise or noise pollution if the range complies with noise control laws or ordinances applicable to the range and its operation at the time of construction that was approved by a local public interest having jurisdiction in the matter, or if no such laws or ordinances regarding noise originally existed.
(3) Rules or regulations mandated by any state department or agency that limit levels of noise in terms of decibel level occurring in the outdoor atmosphere will not apply to a shooting range for sport that is exempt from liability under this section.
(c) Any person who owns real property or acquires a title to property that is adversely affected by the use of property that is a permanently located sport shooting range may not bring any nuisance action with respect to noise or noise pollution against a person who owns the shooting range to restrain, enjoin, or impede the use of the range where there has been no significant change in the use or nature of the range. Any action taken for negligence or recklessness in the operation of the shooting range, or by a person using the shooting range is not to be prohibited in this section.
(d) Any operational sport shooting range not in violation of existing law at the time of enactment of an ordinance outlined in subdivision (b) will be permitted to continue operation if there has been no substantial change in the nature or use of the range, even if the operation of the sport shooting range (at a later date) does not conform to any new ordinance or an amendment to an existing ordinance. Contents of this section shall not be interpreted as to limit any authority of a local agency to enforce any term of a conditional use permit.
(e) Unless provided for in this section, these contents do not prohibit any local public authority having jurisdiction in the matter, from regulation of the location and construction of any sport shooting range, after the effective date of this section.
(f) A local public entity, having jurisdiction in the matter, is not prohibited by this section, from requiring that noise levels not exceed more than 60 decibels or the level of normal city street noise in the condition for nighttime shooting.
The subdivision does not annul local standards presently in existence for nighttime shooting. The operator of a shooting range for sport may not refuse unreasonably, to use trees, shrubs, or barriers that are appropriate, to reduce the noise generated by nighttime shooting. For purposes of this section, a reasonable effort to reduce noise includes any act that can be accomplished at a cost that does not place an unreasonable financial burden upon the range operator.
(g) Indoor shooting ranges are not to be included in this section.
(h) This section is not applicable to any range that is in existence prior to January 1, 1998, operated for training purposes of law enforcement by a county of the sixth class, if the range is located outside the boundaries of that county and within the boundaries of any other county. This subdivision will be in operation on July 1, 1999.
California Concealed Carry Reciprocity
California's Reciprocity States
States that honor a California ccw permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
States that will not accept a California permit
Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming
Places that are off-limits
- School grounds, colleges, and universities
- Child care facility
- Courthouse or Courtroom
- Public buildings or meetings
- Social rehabilitation facility
- Gun show or event if you have ammunition that fits the firearm
- State Capitol, any legislative office, any office of the Governor or other constitutional officer, or any hearing room in which any committee of the Senate or Assembly is conducting a hearing, or upon the grounds of the State Capitol, which is bounded by 10th, L, 15th, and N Streets in the City of Sacramento.
- State wildlife management areas
- Polling station – this includes any person, uniformed peace officer, private guard, or security personnel or any person who is wearing a uniform of a peace officer, guard, or security personnel, who is stationed in the immediate vicinity of, or posted at, a polling place without written authorization.
- Demonstrations related to refusal to work
- While masked to conceal your identity
- Any place that serves alcohol for consumption
- Cal Expo center in Sacramento
- You may not carry a firearm if you are consuming alcohol
- You may not display a concealed firearm
- You cannot carry a concealed weapon not listed on the permit
- You cannot carry a concealed weapon at times or circumstances other than those specified in the permit
- Places prohibited by Federal Law
Places that are allowed
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Roadside rest areas
- Other areas not listed above
A license or permit is not required in order to possess keep, or carry a handgun in a home or place of business that is either concealed or in the open. The state legislature shall regulate the sales and licensing of firearms, which precludes cities and other local municipalities from enacting laws in those categories.
It is illegal to set any “trap” gun or spring gun. It is illegal to destroy, change, remove or alter the serial number, maker’s name or any other identifying mark from a firearm, without the written permission of the Department of Justice. There is a legal presumption that any person in possession of such a firearm committed the offense.
It is illegal to possess a firearm in any school building, or on any school grounds unless permission is secured from school authorities. A firearm may not be carried within 1000 feet of any school zone unless it is being legally transported. It is illegal to carry a firearm into a courthouse, State Capitol grounds or building, any office of the legislature, the office or residence of the Governor or any office or residence of any constitutional officer or person who is a member of the Legislature.
It is illegal to possess, transport, or sell any ammunition that is designed to penetrate metal or armor, for principle use in a handgun.
It is illegal to store a loaded firearm where there is reason to believe that a juvenile under the age of 18 could gain access to the weapon, without the permission of his/her parent or legal guardian, and the juvenile obtains access to the firearm and causes death or bodily injury to himself/herself or bodily injury to another person.
This prohibition does not apply if:
- There is a locking device on the firearm
- The person is a member of the U. S. Armed Forces or is a peace officer, and the firearm is obtained by the juvenile during, or incidental to, performing the person’s duties;
- The juvenile, gains access to the firearm or gains access to the firearm in legal act of defending himself/herself or the life of another person, and
the owner of the firearm and the owner/occupant of the premises has no reason to believe that a juvenile is likely to be present on the premises.
• The juvenile enters the premises of another illegally and gains access to a firearm that is contained in a locked container believed to be secure by any reasonable person. The firearm is carried on the person or within such a close proximity so that the individual can readily retrieve and use the firearm as if carried on the person.
California Off-Limit Statues
Places Off-Limits Even With a Permit/License
Penal Code 27330.
No person at a gun show or event, other than security personnel or sworn peace officers, shall possess at the same time both a firearm and ammunition that is designed to be fired in the firearm. Vendors having those items at the show for sale or exhibition are exempt from this prohibition
Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)
Penal Code 171c
(a)(1) Any person who brings a loaded firearm into, or possesses a loaded firearm within, the State Capitol, any legislative office, any office of the Governor or other constitutional officer, or any hearing room in which any committee of the Senate or Assembly is conducting a hearing, or upon the grounds of the State Capitol, which is bounded by 10th, L, 15th, and N Streets in the City of Sacramento shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not more than one year, a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both such imprisonment and fine, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of
2013, Ch. 76, Sec. 145.5. (AB 383) Effective January 1, 2014.)
Penal Code 171d. Any person, except a duly appointed peace officer
(b) Brings a loaded firearm upon, or possesses a loaded firearm upon, the grounds of the Governor’s Mansion or any other residence of the Governor, the residence of any other constitutional officer, or the residence of any Member of the Legislature. Operative January 1,
2012, pursuant to Stats. 2010, Ch. 178, Sec. 107.)
Elections Code 18544
(a) Any person in possession of a firearm or any uniformed peace officer, private guard, or security personnel or any person who is wearing a uniform of a peace officer, guard, or security personnel, who is stationed in the immediate vicinity of, or posted at, a polling place without written authorization of the appropriate city or county elections official is punishable by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000), by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal Code for 16 months or
two or three years, or in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
as amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 39, Sec. 68.
Penal Code 17510
(a) Any person who does any of the following acts while engaged in picketing, or other informational activities in a public place relating to a concerted refusal to work, is guilty of a misdemeanor:
(1) Carries concealed upon his person or within any vehicle which is under his or her control or direction any pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person.
(2) Carries a loaded firearm upon his or her person or within any vehicle which is under his or her control or direction.
Penal Code 171b
(b)(2)(B) Notwithstanding subparagraph (A), subdivision (a) shall apply to any person who brings or
possesses any weapon specified therein within any courtroom if he or she is a party to an action pending
before the court.
Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 107 of Ch. 178.)
Penal Code 25300
(a) A person commits criminal possession of a firearm when he or she carries a firearm in a public place or on any public street while masked so as to hide his or her identity.
Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 10.
From the California Dept of Justice Standard Application for License to Carry a Concealed Weapon
While exercising the privileges granted to the licensee under the terms of this license, the licensee shall
not, when carrying a concealed weapon:
- Consume any alcoholic beverage.
- Be in a place having a primary purpose of dispensing alcoholic beverages for on-site consumption.
- Be under the influence of any medication or drug, whether prescribed or not.
- Refuse to show the license or surrender the concealed weapon to any peace officer upon demand.
- Impede any peace officer in the performance of his/her duties.
- Present himself/herself as a peace officer to any person unless he/she is, in fact, a peace officer as defined by California law.
- Unjustifiably display a concealed weapon.
- Carry a concealed weapon not listed on the permit
- Carry a concealed weapon at times or circumstances other than those specified in the permit.
Pursuant to U.S. Government Code - Title 49, Chapter 26, Section 1472 (1) and Federal Aviation Regulation 121.583, a license to carry a concealed weapon does not authorize a person to carry a firearm, tear gas, or any dangerous weapon aboard commercial airlines. Further, a person must declare that he/she is carrying such firearm, tear gas, or dangerous weapon BEFORE entering the boarding area of an air terminal where the security checks are made. Such violation can result in arrest by law enforcement.
Carrying Firearms: From the CA Attorney General
Any person over the age of 18 who is not prohibited from possessing firearms, and if otherwise lawful, may keep and carry a firearm or have a firearm loaded at his or her place of residence, temporary residence, campsite, or on private property owned or lawfully possessed by the person. (Penal Code §§ 12026, 12031(h) and (l).) Any person engaged in any lawful business (including nonprofit organizations) or any officer, employee, or agent authorized for lawful purposes connected with the business may possess a loaded firearm within the place of business if that person is over 18 years of age and not otherwise prohibited from possessing firearms.
(Penal Code §§ 12026, 12031(h).)
Penal Code 26200.
(a) A license issued pursuant to this article may include any reasonable restrictions or conditions that the issuing authority deems warranted, including restrictions as to the time, place, manner, and circumstances under which the licensee may carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person.
(b) Any restrictions imposed pursuant to subdivision (a) shall be indicated on any license issued.
Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)
Public and Private K thru 12 Schools and College/University Campus are Off Limits
Penal Code 626 thru 626.11 (Edited for Space Considerations)
Penal Code 626.9.
(a) This section shall be known, and may be cited, as the Gun-Free School Zone Act of 1995.
(b) Any person who possesses a firearm in a place that the person knows, or reasonably should know, is a school zone, as defined in paragraph (4) of subdivision (e), shall be punished as specified in subdivision (f).
(c) Subdivision (b) does not apply to the possession of a firearm under any of the following circumstances:
(1) Within a place of residence or place of business or on private property, if the place of residence, place of business, or private property is not part of the school grounds and the possession of the firearm is otherwise lawful.
(2) When the firearm is an unloaded pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed on the person and is in a locked container or within the locked trunk of a motor vehicle. This section does not prohibit or limit the otherwise lawful transportation of any other firearm, other than a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed on the person, in accordance with state law.
(5) When the person holds a valid license to carry the firearm pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 26150) of Division 5 of Title 4 of Part 6, who is carrying that firearm in an area that is not in, or on the grounds of, a public or private school providing instruction in kindergarten or grades 1 to 12, inclusive, but within a distance of 1,000 feet from the grounds of the public or private school.
2017, Ch. 779, Sec. 1. (AB 424) Effective January 1, 2018.)
Penal Code 30310.
(a) Unless it is with the written permission of the school district superintendent, the superintendent's designee, or equivalent school authority, no person shall carry ammunition or reloaded ammunition onto school grounds, except sworn law enforcement officers acting within the scope of their duties.
(b) This section shall not apply to any of the following:
(10) (A) A person carrying ammunition or reloaded ammunition onto school grounds that is in a motor vehicle at all times and is within a locked container or within the locked trunk of the vehicle.
2015, Ch. 766, Sec. 2. (SB 707) Effective January 1, 2016.)