Kansas is a shall-issue, constitutional carry state, with the State Patrol actively issuing permits at the state level. Anyone who is at least 18-years-old is allowed to carry a firearm openly without a license, and at least 21-years-old to conceal carry. The State issues Concealed Carry Handgun License (CCHL) to anyone who's at the minimum age requirement and have completed the state-approved 8-hours firearms training course. However, residents and members of the military stationed in Kansas are restricted from acquiring a CCHL. Regarding reciprocity, since Kansas is a permitless carry, it allows any person at least 21-years-old who can legally possess a firearm to carry a concealed firearm on his or her person without the need of a license or permit.
Processing Your Kansas CCW License
In Kansas, a person is allowed to carry a concealed weapon without the use of a permit. The person, however, must meet the following requirements to ensure they comply with Kansas's gun laws and regulations.
- The person must be 21 years of age
- Must be a current United States Citizen
- Must complete an 8-hour firearms training course
- A resident of the State of Kansas and a resident of the county where apply with a valid driver’s license or state-issued I.D.
- Have read and understood the Kansas Personal and Family Protection act
To apply for a concealed carry handgun license in Kansas, all individuals must complete this form. https://ag.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/concealed-carry-application.pdf?sfvrsn=20
Attach the following to the application:
- Photocopy of your certificate showing a copy of the completion of a training course on firearms.
- Payment for the permit
- Copy of your Kansas ID or driver's license
- 2x2 passport-style color portrait photo of you taken within the last 30 days
For renewals, an application form -- including the instructions -- will be mailed to the permittee's address at least 90 days before the expiration date. Failure to submit the renewal application before the allotted time frame will incur an additional fee of $15. NOTE: All licenses unrenewed for six months will permanently expire. Permittees MUST process a new application, if so.
To renew, please follow these steps:
- Holders MUST complete the application form and have it notarized.
- You can either revert the application with the complete set of documents via certified mail to the Attorney General;
- or hand-deliver the package to the Attorney General's Office (Topeka).
- Passport-sized color photograph taken within the preceding 30 days; and
- A check of $25 payable to the Kansas Attorney General.
- You will be notified by mail if your application is approved.
Here is the summary of all the fees you'll need to pay:
- New permits - $132.50
- Renewals - $25.
The accepted forms of payments are personal checks, cashiers check, and money order.
When purchasing a new permit, you need to write two checks to the following offices:
- $100 - Payable to “Office of the Attorney General.”
- $32.50 - Payable to “sheriff of _____ County (name of the county a person resides in).
Kansas CCW Laws: Facts To Know
Must Notify Officer
No - Must Inform Officer
Kansas Gun Laws state that you don't have to inform a law enforcement officer if you are carrying a firearm. However, it is best to bring your permit and ID at all times.
No Weapons Allowed
No - "No Weapons Allowed" Sign Not Enforced
Currently, there are no legal penalties regarding entering a private property or business with the "No Weapons Allowed" posting. They have no force of law unless posted on areas that are off-limits.
Kansas Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
A state permit is not required to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun. It is illegal to knowingly sell, give, or transfer any firearm that has a barrel less than 12 inches long to an individual under the age of 18. It is illegal to knowingly give, transfer, or sell a firearm to:
• any individual who is a user of a controlled substance and is addicted to that substance.
• any individual who, is a convicted felon and, within the past 10 years has committed specific crimes, but has not found to have been in possession of a firearm during the commission of these crimes, or as been released from prison for such crimes and has not had the conviction either, expunged or pardoned.
• any individual who, is a convicted felon who, within the past five years has committed crimes other than the specified crimes within the preceding 10-year disqualification.
• any individual who is a convicted felon, who was in possession of a firearm during the commission of the felony crime It is illegal to knowingly give, transfer, or sell a firearm to a habitual narcotics addict or alcohol abuser.The state of Kansas allows for the purchase of rifles and shotguns from states that are contiguous and non-contiguous with the state, as long as the purchase is in compliance with the state of purchase, Kansas law, and federal laws.
A state permit is not required for the purchase of a rifle, shotgun, or handgun. It is illegal for the following individuals to possess firearms:
- An individual who is a user of a controlled substance and addicted to that substance;
- An individual who is convicted of a felony under the Kansas Controlled Substances Act or a crime under the laws of another jurisdiction that equates to such a felony or violation;
- an individual who committed a crime as a juvenile that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult, or was in violation of the Controlled Substances Act and was in possession of a firearm while in commission of the crime;
- An individual who, has been convicted of specific felonies or a crime under the laws of another jurisdiction that equates to such a felony or violation within the past 10 years, has been released from prison for the violation, or committed a crime as a juvenile that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult, and was not in possession of a firearm during the commission of the crime and has not had the conviction expunged or pardoned; or under the laws of the state of Kansas, any “nonperson” felony, or a felony committed in another jurisdiction that would equate to a “nonperson” felony, has been release from prison for such felony or committed a crime as a juvenile that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult, and was in possession of a firearm during the commission of the crime;
- An individual who is a convicted felon for crimes other than specified for the 10-year disqualification under Kansas law or a law in another jurisdiction that equates to the law, has been released from prison for a felony, or committed a crime as a juvenile that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult, within the past five years, and was not in possession of a firearm during the commission of the crime;
- An individual who is not employed by law enforcement, who is in or on any property or grounds within the boundaries of a school, with the exception of the following: possession of a firearm while in attendance of a firearm safety course or in a school approved educational program; or possession of a firearm with written authorization from the superintendent of a unified school district or the chief administrator of an accredited private school; possession of a gun that is secured in a motor vehicle driven by a parent, legal guardian, or adult responsible for a student, while dropping off or picking up that student; or secured in the motor vehicle of a registered voter who is on school property for the purposes of voting at a school designated polling place, during hours of operation on voting day;
- An individual, other than a law enforcement official who possesses a firearm on school premises or at a school sponsored event and refuses to surrender or remove the firearm form the premises, upon request from law enforcement or an authorized school official;
Possession of a firearm is prohibited on the grounds of the state capitol building, or on the premises of or in any state-owned building where the secretary of administration has placed signs clearly stating prohibition of such in conspicuous locations. Firearms are prohibited in any county courthouse unless the board of county commissioners, by county resolution has authorized the possession of such.
It is illegal for any habitual alcohol abuser or narcotics addict to possess any firearm.
It is illegal for a minor under the age of 18 to possess a firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches long. It is a legal defense if the minor under the age of 18 was: in attendance of a hunter safety course, firearms safety course, or engaged in target or practice shooting at an established shooting range, or while participating in an organized shooting completion, sanctioned by the governing body in the jurisdiction where the range is located, hunting or trapping with a valid license; traveling to or from any of the activities outlined above with an unloaded firearm, if the firearm is secured and is not immediately accessible; on property owned or controlled by the minor’s parent, legal guardian, or grandparent, or person who has permission from the parent, legal guardian, or grandparent to possess a firearm; or at a person’s residence, who possesses the firearm for purposes of exercising his/her rights of defense, with permission form his/her parent, legal guardian, or grandparent.
Carrying a Firearm
The state of Kansas does not prohibit the open carrying of a handgun in general. A concealed carry license shall be issued by the attorney general to any qualified person and shall be valid for a period of four years from the date it was issued.
Law enforcement officials may verify a valid license to carry a concealed weapon by checking an individual’s vehicle registration and driver’s license information.
A non-resident concealed weapons license to carry is recognized in Kansas if the standards of another state are equal to or greater than standards in Kansas. A list of reciprocal concealed carry states will be maintained and published by the attorney general.
A license to carry a concealed weapon shall be issued by the attorney general if the applicant:
Is a resident of the county for which they have made application, and has lived in the state of Kansas for a period of six months prior to filing the application;
- Is a non-resident active duty U.S. military member;
- Is 21 years or more of age;
- Does not have a physical disability that prevents him/her form handling a weapon safely;
- Has never been convicted of a felony, or been tried for a felony and placed on diversion for such, or committed a crime as a minor that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult;
- Has not, in the past five years prior to the date of application been:
- mentally ill, or committed involuntarily to a mental health facility;
- committed to a treatment center for abusing a controlled substance;
- in violation of the “uniform substance control act” by either misdemeanor or felony conviction, or placed on diversion for such an act, or a juvenile offender of a misdemeanor that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult;
- misdemeanor or felony conviction, or placed on diversion for such an act, or a juvenile offender of a misdemeanor that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult;
- convicted for operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol two or more times, or placed on diversion for such offences;
- convicted of a domestic violence crime that is a misdemeanor, or placed on diversion for such an offense, or a juvenile offender of a crime that would be considered a misdemeanor if committed by an adult;
- convicted of criminal use of a weapon or has committed a crime as a juvenile involving criminal use of a weapon;
- convicted of an offense for carrying a weapon while intoxicated from alcohol or under the influence of any drug or has committed these acts while a juvenile;
- Wishes to carry a concealed weapon for lawful purposes;
- Provides evidence that a safety and training course has been satisfactorily completed and presents that evidence to the attorney general;
- Has not been determined to be a disabled person under under the act f or obtaining either a guardian or conservator or both, or an act that is similar from another state, unless the applicant, three years prior, has been restored to capacity;
- Has not received a dishonorable discharge from the United States armed forces;
- Is a U.S. citizen;
- Is not under a restraining order as it pertains to the “protection from abuse act”, “protection from stalking act”, or an equivalent act from another state.
An eight-hour safety and training course that includes procedures and standards adopted by the attorney general shall be completed by the applicant. The applicant shall pay the fee for the course and provide proof of satisfactory completion of the course in accordance with the attorney general’s guidelines or in an affidavit from the instructor, organization, school or club that sponsored the course.
An applicant must provide proof of completion of a safety and training course to the attorney general, prior to renewing his/her license. An applicant must submit a completed application to the sheriff of the county of his/her residence, during normal hours of business and a non-refundable fee that does not exceed $150.00 The applicant must provide proof that he/she completed a weapons training and safety course with a copy of the proper verification form as well as a photograph of a full frontal taken within the last 30 days if the applicant’s previous license has expired or if no statewide license has been issued in the past.
A criminal history records check will be done, and include a full set of fingerprints provided to the sheriff and forwarded to the attorney general. A payment of $110.00 of the original fee and the application must be forwarded from the sheriff to the attorney general for a new license and $50.00 of the original fee must be forwarded for renewal of a license. The portion of the fee retained by the sheriff shall be kept to cover the cost of the fingerprints.
Information submitted by the sheriff, corroborated by public records that demonstrate the significantly higher risk an applicant may pose to law enforcement, may be sent to the attorney general.
A state and national criminal history records check is conducted for the purposes of verifying the identity of the applicant and his/her criminal history to determine if the applicant has been convicted of any crime that would disqualify him/her from holding a license. The attorney general may access criminal records that have been expunged for the purposes of determining eligibility.
A license will be either issued or denied within a 180-day period. Any denial must be based solely on the information provided by the sheriff according to the criteria set forth for eligibility of a concealed handgun license. The attorney general shall notify the applicant of the reason for the denial in writing and the applicant has the right to a hearing under the “administrative procedures act.”
The licensee must notify the attorney general of any loss, change of address, or destruction of a license within 30 days of occurrence. The license may be revoked or a licensee may be fined for failure to report these changes to the attorney general. If a license is lost or destroyed, it shall be invalid. In the event of a lost or destroyed license, a duplicate may be obtained for a cost of $15.00 and a notarized statement attesting to the loss or destruction.
A license may be suspended or revoked by the attorney general if the licensee fails to provide evidence of completion of a safety and training course or would be ineligible to receive a license at the time. The district court shall review the suspension or revocation of a license.
The attorney general shall be notified by the sheriff of a resident’s county if a restraining order has been issued that would prohibit him/her from the issuance of a license. The license to carry a concealed weapon shall be revoked by the attorney general if it has already been issued.
The attorney general shall notify a licensee in writing within 90 days of expiration and provide for him/her a form for renewal. The licensee must renew the license on or before the expiration date and deliver the renewal form, a notarized affidavit that states he/she remains qualified for a license, a full frontal photograph taken within the past 30 days, and a renewal fee (not to exceed $100.00) to the sheriff of the county in which he/she resides. A late fee of $15.00 shall be paid if the license is not renewed within the prescribed period of time. The license will be renewed immediately by the attorney general if the applicant is qualified. A license cannot be renewed if six months have passed beyond the expiration date and the application for renewal shall be considered permanently expired. A new application must be submitted with fees, and a background check shall be made for an applicant with a permanently expired license.
A license shall not authorize the holder to carry a concealed weapon into: A place where any activity determined to be a common nuisance is declared;
- A law enforcement facility including any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station;
- A prison, detention facility or a jail;
- A courthouse;
- A courtroom, with the exception of a judge carrying a concealed weapon and any other person he/she authorizes to carry.
- A polling place on election day;
- A meeting of a government body including any county, city, or other subdivision of the state, or any committee or subcommittee thereof;
- On fairgrounds operated by the state;
- A sporting event;
- An office building of the state;
- A sporting event that is sponsored by a public or private elementary school, or secondary school, or public institution of postsecondary education that is not related to or does not involve firearms;
- A professional sporting event that does not involve firearms;
- A portion of any established business licensed for alcohol distribution with the exception of a restaurant;
- A school building or facility, whether elementary or secondary, community college or university, used for student education or attendance;
- Any place where federal or state law prohibits the carrying of firearms;
- Any location designated for child exchange and visitation under, K.S.A.75-720, and amendments thereto;
- A community mental health center, psychiatric hospital; or state psychiatric hospital as follows: Larned State Hospital, Osawatomie State Hospital or Rainbow Mental Health Facility;
- Any city hall;
- A state operated public library, or library operated by a subdivision of the state;
- A day care center, group day care home, preschool, or childcare center;
- Any temple, church or church or temple.
Nothing in the above provisions shall prevent:
- An employer, whether public or private from prohibiting or restricting persons licensed to carry a concealed weapon under this act from carrying while on the business property or while engaged in the course of employment; or
- Any entity that owns or operates a business open to the general public from prohibiting or restricting persons licensed to carry a concealed weapon under this act from carrying while on the premises, as long as the restriction is clearly posted at the entrances of the business; or
- Any person who owns property from prohibiting or restricting persons licensed to carry a concealed weapon under this act from entering the property while carrying as long as the restriction is clearly posted on the property.
t is illegal to possess: a silencing device used to muffle the sound of any firearm; a shotgun that has a barrel less than 18 inches long; or any firearm designed to discharge more than one round of ammunition with one single function of the trigger Exceptions to this prohibition are for:
- Law enforcement officials authorized for use of such firearms within the course of their duties;
- firearms rendered inoperable; or,
- firearms possessed that are properly registered under the National Firearms Act.
No person owning, operating, managing, or using a sport shooting range shall be subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution in any matter involving noise or noise pollution.
KAN. STAT. ANN. § 58-3221. Sport shooting ranges; definitions
As used in this act:
(a) “Generally accepted operation practice” means those safety practices adopted, pursuant to rules and regulations, by the Kansas department of wildlife and parks and established by a nationally recognized nonprofit membership organization that provides voluntary firearms safety programs which include training individuals in the safe handling and use of firearms and which practices are developed with consideration of all information reasonably available regarding the operation of shooting ranges.
(b) “Local unit of government” means a county, city, township or any other political subdivision of the state, or any agency, authority, institution or instrumentality thereof.
(c) “Person” means an individual, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club, governmental entity or other legal entity.
(d) “Sport shooting range” or “range” means an area designed and operated for the use of archery, rifles, shotguns, pistols, semiautomatic firearms, skeet, trap, black powder or any other similar sport shooting.
KAN. STAT. ANN. § 58-3222. Same; conformance to generally accepted operation practices; application of law relating to noise control and nuisance. (a) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, and in addition to other protections provided in this act, a person who owns, operates, manages or uses a sport shooting range that conforms to generally accepted operation practices in the state is not subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution in any matter relating to noise or noise pollution resulting from the operation or use of the range if the range is in compliance with any noise control laws or ordinances or resolutions that applied to the range and its operation at the time of construction and initial operation of the range.
(b) In addition to any civil protection provided by the act, a person who owns, operates, manages or uses a sport shooting range that conforms to generally accepted operation practices is not subject to an action for nuisance, and a court of the state shall not enjoin or restrain the use or operation of a range on the basis of noise or noise pollution, if the range is in compliance with any noise control laws or ordinances or resolutions that applied to the range and its operation at the time of construction or initial operation of the range.
(c) Rules or regulations adopted by any state department or agency for limiting levels of noise in terms of decibel level which may occur in the outdoor atmosphere do not apply to a sport shooting range immune from liability under this act. However, this subsection does not constrict the application of any provision of generally accepted operation practices.
(d) A person who acquires title to real property adversely affected by the use of property with a permanently located and improved sport shooting range constructed and initially operated prior to the time the person acquires title shall not maintain a nuisance action on the basis of noise or noise pollution or based upon known or inherent dangers against the person who owns, operates or uses the range to restrain, enjoin, or impede the use of the range. This section does not prohibit actions for negligence or recklessness in the operation of the range.
History: L. 2001, Ch. 185, § 5; July 1.
KAN. STAT. ANN. § 58-3223.
Same; application of local law. (a) A sport shooting range that is operated and is not in violation of state law at the time of the enactment of an ordinance or resolution shall be permitted to continue in operation even if the operation of the sport shooting range at a later date does not conform to the new ordinance or resolution or amendment to an existing ordinance or resolution.
(b) A sport shooting range that is in existence as of the effective date of this act and operates in compliance with generally accepted operation practices, even if not in compliance with an ordinance or resolution of a local unit of government, shall be permitted to do all of the following within its preexisting geographic boundaries if in compliance with generally accepted operation practices:
(1) repair, remodel or reinforce any improvement or facilities or building or structure as may be necessary in the interest of public safety or to secure the continued use of the building or improvement;
(2) reconstruct, repair, rebuild or resume the use of a facility or building damaged by fire, collapse, explosion, act of God or act of war occurring after the effective date of this act. The reconstruction, repair or restoration shall be completed within one year following the date of the damage or settlement of any property damage claim. If reconstruction, repair or restoration is not completed within one year as provided in this subsection, such reconstruction, repair or restoration may be terminated in the discretion of the local unit of government; or
(3) do anything authorized under generally accepted operation practices, including, but not limited to:
(A) Expand or enhance its membership or opportunities for public participation; and
(B) reasonably expand or increase facilities or activities.
KAN. STAT. ANN. § 58-3224. Same; regulation by local governments; taking of range for certain uses prohibited. (a) Except as otherwise provided, the provisions of this act shall not prohibit a local unit of government from regulating the location and construction of a sport shooting range. (b) No person or governmental entity may take title to property which has a permanently located and improved sport shooting range, by condemnation, eminent domain or similar process when the proposed use of said property would be for shooting related activities or recreational activities or for private or commercial development. However, this provision does not limit governmental exercise of eminent domain or easement necessary for infrastructure additions or improvements, such as highways, waterways or utilities.
Kansas Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Kansas' Reciprocity States
States that honor a kansas permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Kansas honors permits from these states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
It is illegal to remove, change, alter, or obliterate identifying marks on a firearm including the maker’s name, model, or manufacturer’s number. Possession of a firearm in this condition is considered evidence of guilt.
No party other than the state of Kansas may hold any firearms manufacturer or maker of ammunition liable or bring suit for damages relating to the lawful design or sale of firearms or ammunition.
A city, or county may not adopt an ordinance, regulation, or resolution that governs the transfer, ownership, purchase, storage, or transport of firearms, ammunition, or a component thereof, and shall not take administrative action, other than those outlined and authorized by statute. Any ordinance enacted prior to the date this ordinance took effect will be considered null and void. A statute not in reference to firearms or ammunition, or any component thereof, may not be interpreted to provide authorization. Exceptions to this statute do exist and shall prevail.
Kansas Off Limits Statue
Places “Off Limits” and Exemptions
- K.S.A. 75-7c10 as amended states that a Permit/License Holder who goes by an AG approved sign, stating no firearms, is not a crime but can be asked to leave and if the person does not leave when asked, they can be charged with trespassing. (This seems to apply to all signage in all public buildings, except those with adequate security measures).
- K-12 Schools both Public and Private Buildings. That means they must be posted but they do not have to have an exemption or obtain metal detectors to keep their posting. School grounds can’t be and they do not have to use the new “AG exempt building signage” , but can post using the ‘normal’ AG approved signage if they want to prevent CC carry inside the building. If it is NOT posted, then CC is allowed..
- The State School for the Deaf and Blind does not fall under this Act.
- A state or municipal-owned medical care facility, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and amendments thereto;
- A community mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A.19-4001 et seq., and amendments thereto;
- An indigent health care clinic, as defined by K.S.A. 2016 Supp. 65-7402, and amendments thereto; or Any building owned or leased by the authority created under the university of Kansas hospital authority act, any building located within the health care district, as defined in the unified government of Wyandotte county and Kansas City, Kansas City-wide master plan, Rosedale master plan and traffic study or similar master plan or comprehensive planning or zoning document approved by the unified government of Wyandotte County and Kansas City, Kansas in effect on January 12, 2017. They do not have to use the new “AG exempt building signage” , but can post using the ‘normal’ AG approved signage if they want to prevent CC carry inside the building. If it is NOT posted, then CC is allowed.
- All places “Off Limits” must be posted with approved signage as defined by the Attorney General.
- ‘‘Building’’ shall not include any structure, or any area of any structure, designated for the parking of motor vehicles.
- No employer may prohibit possession of a handgun in a private means of conveyance, even if parked on the employer’s premises.
- Only Public Buildings can be posted. Public Grounds and Parking Lots/Garages are not considered buildings.
- Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or a law enforcement agency are off limits.
- Chief Judges of judicial districts are given specific authority to limit the presence of weapons in their courtrooms and ancillary courtrooms, provided the court room has adequate security.
- State and Municipal workers can carry on the job unless their building has adequate security and is posted with proper signage. or an exemption with the AG’s office and the “approved exempt AG signage” (until 2018) .
- Possession of a firearm under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a class A nonperson misdemeanor.
- State and Municipal workers if working in a properly posted state building with adequate security may be able to carry if they get approval from those in charge.
- State and Local Authorities can get a six month exemption and ask for a 4 year extension in place of the 6 month extension, or following expiration of the 6 month exemption and can post their property with the “approved AG exemption signage” but they must have a plan and file it with the state government. After 5 years (1/1/18) all public buildings must have approved signage and security to ban the carrying of firearms. This includes state supported Colleges/Universities and State/Local Government buildings.
- Any private entity which provides adequate security measures in a private building and which conspicuously posts signage in accordance with this section prohibiting the carrying of a concealed handgun in such building as authorized by the personal and family protection act shall not be liable for any wrongful act or omission relating to actions of persons licensed to carry a concealed handgun concerning acts or omissions regarding such handguns.
- Any private entity which does not provide adequate security measures in a private building and which allows the carrying of a concealed handgun as authorized by the personal and family protection act shall not be liable for any wrongful act or omission relating to actions of persons licensed to carry a concealed handgun concerning acts or omissions regarding such handguns.
- This act in no way overrules any Federal Restrictions on carrying on any Federal property. (m) For Purposes of This Section:
(1) ‘‘Adequate security measures’’ means the use of electronic equipment and armed personnel at public entrances to detect and restrict the carrying of any weapons into the state or municipal building, or any public area thereof, including, but not limited to, metal detectors, metal detector wands or any other equipment used for similar purposes to ensure that weapons are not permitted to be carried into such building or public ara by members of the public. Adequate security measures for storing and securing lawfully carried weapons, including, but not limited to, the use of gun lockers or other similar storage options may be provided at public entrances.
(3) public employer’’ means the state and any municipality as those terms are defined in K.S.A. 75-6102, and amendments thereto, except the term ‘‘public employer’’ shall not include school districts.
75-7c21. - Concealed Handguns in State Capitol
(a) An individual may carry a concealed handgun in the state capitol, provided such individual is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under either federal or state law.
(b) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the personal and family protection act.
L. 2015, ch. 16, § 14; July 1
75-7c20 - Carrying Concealed Hand Gun
(a) The carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be prohibited in any public area of any state or municipal building unless such public area has adequate security measures to ensure that no weapons are permitted to be carried into such public area and the building public area is conspicuously posted with either permanent or temporary signage approved by the governing body, or the chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, in accordance with K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 75-7c10, and amendments thereto.
(b) The carrying of a concealed handgun shall not be prohibited throughout any state or municipal building in its entirety unless such building has adequate security measures at all public access entrances to ensure that no weapons are permitted to be carried into such building and the building is conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 75-7c10, and amendments thereto.
(c) No state agency or municipality shall prohibit an employee from carrying a concealed handgun at the employee’s work place unless the building has adequate security measures at all public access entrances to ensure that no weapons are permitted to be carried into such building and the building is conspicuously posted in accordance with K.S.A. 2015 Supp. 75-7c10, and amendments thereto.
L. 2017, ch. 93, § 2; July 1.
75-7c10 - Employee Carry
(d) The governing body or the chief administrative officer, if no governing body exists, of any of the following institutions may permit any employee, who is legally qualified, to carry a concealed handgun in any building of such institution, if the employee meets such institution’s own policy requirements regardless of whether such building is conspicuously posted in accordance with the provisions of this section:
(1) A unified school district;
(2) a postsecondary educational institution, as defined in K.S.A. 74-3201b, and amendments thereto;
(3) a state or municipal-owned medical care facility, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and amendments thereto;
(4) a state or municipal-owned adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto;
(5) a community mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4001 et seq., and amendments thereto; or
(6) an indigent health care clinic, as defined by K.S.A. 2014 Supp. 65-7402, and amendments thereto.
(e) No public employer shall restrict or otherwise prohibit by personnel policies any employee, who is legally qualified, from carrying any concealed handgun while engaged in the duties of such employee’s employment outside of such employer’s place of business, including while in a means of conveyance.
(f) (1) It shall be a violation of this section to carry a concealed hand- gun in violation of any restriction or prohibition allowed by subsection (a) or (b) if the building is posted in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general pursuant to subsection (i). Any person who violates this section shall not be subject to a criminal penalty but may be subject to denial to such
premises or removal from such premises.
L. 2017, ch. 93, § 1; July 1.
75-7c10 - Restrictions On Carrying Concealed and Gun
(j) The attorney general shall adopt rules and regulations prescribing the location, content, size and other characteristics of signs to be posted on a building where carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited pursuant to subsections (a) and (b). Such regulations shall prescribe, at a minimum, that:
(1) The signs be posted at all exterior entrances to the prohibited buildings;
(2) the signs be posted at eye level of adults using the entrance and not more than 12 inches to the right or left of such entrance;
(3) the signs not be obstructed or altered in any way; and
(4) signs which become illegible for any reason be immediately replaced.
L. 2017, ch. 93, § 1; July 1.