Although Illinois is a shall-issue state, which means that the Illinois State Police is liable to issue a concealed carry license if the person meets particular qualifications, however, law enforcement still has the right to object issuance if they believe the applicant is a danger to the safety of the public or his/her self. In case law enforcement opposes the issuance of a permit, the Concealed Carry License Review Board is responsible for making the final decision -- whether or not issuing a license will be granted. The Board notifies each applicant via mail, with instructions on how to file an appeal process, if denied.
It is important to note that the open carry of a handgun on your person or vehicle is illegal. The State requires all residents an Owners Identification Card or FOID to possess a firearm or ammunition. To conceal carry a firearm in Illinois, the State requires a Concealed Carry License (CCL) to be deemed legal. Any person at least 21-years-old could apply for a license, as long as they've completed the 16-hours firearms training course that's state-approved.
If you are a non-resident of Illinois, the State only accepts non-resident licenses from states, such as Arkansas, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, Texas, and Virginia. Illinois reciprocity does not honor CCW Licenses from other states.
Processing Your Illinois Concealed Carry License
Here are the minimum requirements set by the State of Illinois in applying for a Concealed Carry License:
- The applicant MUST be at least 21-years-old to apply.
- He/She should have a Firearm Owner's Identification Card (FOID).
- He/She should have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years.
- He/She does not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, or intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.
- There is no pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
- There is no residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past five years.
In applying for a Concealed Carry License in Illinois, please follow these steps:
- The applicant must complete the minimum 16-hours firearm training course before applying.
- Have your fingerprint taken from any fingerprint vendor. Note: All applicants are assigned with a transaction control number (TCN), which is required in completing the application. Inform your Live Scan Vendor that your fingerprint is for the CCL application.
- Prepare the following documents:
- Electronic Copy of the firearm training course
- An Illinois State Police User ID and Password
- A Valid Driver's License or State Identification Card
- A Valid FOID card
- Head and shoulder photograph took within the last 30 days
- Provide the last ten years of residency
- Electronic Fingerprints (for a faster transaction)
- Proceed to the Illinois State Police website and get a username and password
- Complete the Electronic Application and pay the $150 fee.
- All applicants will be notified via mail if their application is approved or denied.
All licenses that are deemed to expire are eligible to process a renewal application 90 days before the expiration date. Take note, if in the case your license has expired and you failed to submit a renewal application, your license will be tagged as invalid. Hence, you must process a new application and complete a 16-hour training course.
Here is the step-by-step process:
- Complete firearms training provided by an ISP-approved instructor.
- Go to the State Police firearms website and apply for license renewal.
- You will be notified by mail if your application is approved.
License Fees Summary:
- Resident - $150
- Non-Resident - $300
- Replacement/Name Change - $75
Illinois CCW Laws: Facts To Know
Must Notify Officer
No- Must Inform Officer
There is nothing in the Illinois Gun Laws that state you have to inform the law enforcement officer if you're carrying a concealed firearm. However, it is best to bring your license and ID at all times.
No Weapons Allowed
Yes - "No Weapons Allowed" Sign Enforced
Illinois enforces the "No Weapons Allowed" sign. If asked to leave the premises of the private property or business, you MUST adhere. There are legal penalties if the permittee violates this law.
Yes/No - Prohibited Vehicle Carry
- Yes, if a person carries a loaded handgun without a permit.
- No, if a person has a valid concealed carry permit that allows carrying a loaded or unloaded firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle.
Illinois Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
- State Firearms Site
- IL Carry Law
- FAQs From ISP
- Live Scan Locations
- CHL & FOID FAQs
- Apply for FOID Card
- Instructions For Applying
- Firearms Admin Rules
- Municipal Ordinances
- State Statutes
- State Admin Rules
- State Attorney General
- IL Firearm Trainers
- IDNR Firearm FAQs
- Age to Carry a Firearm In Other States
Purchase and Possession
Upon reaching an agreement to purchase a firearm or ammunition, a buyer must show the seller his/her Firearms Owner’s Identification Card (FOID). Any seller of firearms must wait a period of 24 hours before delivering a rifle or shotgun, and a period of 72 hours before delivering a handgun to a buyer. No law enforcement officer, firearms dealer, or non-resident in attendance of an Illinois Department of State Police recognized gun show, is required to adhere to the 24 hour, or 72 hour waiting period. A record of all firearms transferred, including serial number and firearms description, buyers FOID number, and identity must be maintained by the seller for a period of 10 years. The seller must retain for 10 years, a record of the transfer, including a description of the firearm (including serial number), the identity of the buyer, and the buyer’s FOID number.
At the request of a federally licensed firearms dealer, a background check on every buyer is required through the Department of State Police. This shall apply to firearms sales at gun shows, and include transactions between dealers and private parties. There is a $2.00 fee for each background check. Any buyer purchasing a firearm at a gun show from a private party must provide the seller with a FOID card and submit to a background check.
It is not legal to give or sell a handgun to a person under the age of 18, or provide any firearm to a person who is not eligible for a FOID card.
It is not legal to possess any firearm or ammunition without first obtaining a valid FOID. It is illegal to possess a rifle with one or more barrels measuring less than 16 inches long or any shotgun with one or more barrels measuring less than 18 inches long. It is further illegal to possess a modified firearm made from a rifle or shotgun if the overall length of it is less than 26 inches. No person under the age of 18 may legally possess a handgun or any firearm that can be concealed.
It is illegal to possess a firearm or ammunition if: 1) under the age of 21 and judged to be delinquent or if convicted of a misdemeanor that is not a traffic offense; 2) is addicted to narcotics; 3) has been a patient in a mental health facility within the past five years; 4) is mentally challenged; 5) or has been convicted of a felony.
It is illegal for any individual to possess a firearm with the intention of using it against another person in a manner that is unlawful. It is illegal to possess a firearm in any establishment that is licensed to sell alcoholic beverages, or at any public gathering where an alcoholic beverage permit has been issued by a government body, or at an event or gathering that is attended by the public, where admission is charged, with the exception of a gun show. Owners, managers, or authorized employees at specified establishments are exempt from this ruling.
A minor under the guardianship and control of a parent, guardian, or other person acting as his/her parent possessing a valid FOID, may possess a firearm and ammunition without obtaining a valid FOID for himself/herself. A firearm may be loaned by a person possessing a FOID card to another individual who does not possess a FOID card for use at a shooting range, while under the supervision of the firearm owner.
It is illegal to possess any firearms or ammunition in a school building or on the premises. Students engaged in firearms training, parades, target shooting at school ranges, hunting, or other school sponsored activities sanctioned or permitted by the school are exempt from this regulation as long as firearms are transported unloaded, in an appropriate case or box.
NOTE: The city of Chicago requires registration of all firearms with the Chicago Police at Daly Center. Any firearm entering the city of Chicago must be registered. The registration certificate shall be valid for a period of one year and must be carried with the firearm and available to law enforcement authorities upon demand. No handgun can be registered after 1982. “Assault Firearms” cannot be registered.
Carrying a Firearm
It is illegal to possess or carry a firearm in a vehicle or in a concealed manner on or about the person, unless on one’s own land or in his/her residence or place of business. It is illegal to possess or carry a firearm on or about the person on a public street, alley, or other public lands if within the corporate limits of any city, village, or incorporated town, unless invited or sponsored by a government entity to display or legally sell firearms.
Exceptions include persons engaged in target shooting at established shooting ranges; fishermen, licensed hunters, or trappers engaged in licensed activity; transportation of firearms broken down into a non-operative state or not readily accessible (e.g. in an automobile trunk). Possessing, carrying, or transporting an unloaded firearm while enclosed in a firearm case, shipping box, case, or firearm carrying box, is legal with a valid FOID. It is illegal under the Wildlife Code, to possess or carry a firearm on or in a moving vehicle unless it is not loaded, and encased in an appropriate container.
Antiques & Replicas
A qualified antique firearm shall be exempt from purchase regulations. The Department of State Police determines a qualifying antique firearm by characteristics including, date of manufacture, value, design and other properties that render it a collectors item and not likely to be used as a weapon.
It is illegal to manufacture, sell, purchase, possess or carry any firearm that can discharge more than one shot by a single function of the trigger. This includes any frame or receiver of such a weapon. It is illegal to sell, purchase, possess or carry components that could be used to convert any firearm into a “machine gun type weapon” that is capable of discharging more than one shot in a single trigger function including any frame or receiver.
Military personnel and law enforcement officials authorized to use machine guns in the course of their duties are exempt from this restriction as long as firearms are broken down into a non-operative state and cannot be readily accessed.
Persons engaged in the licensed manufacture of machine guns or ammunition under federal law are exempt from this prohibition while acting within the lawful scope of their business practices involving the manufacture, transportation or testing of such weapons or ammunition.
o owner of a shooting range shall be liable for any civil or criminal claims resulting from any noise, nuisance or trespass on the basis of sound emitted from the range.
§ 5. Firearm ranges; liability.
(a) As used in this Section, “firearm range” means a rifle, pistol, silhouette, skeet, trap, black powder, or other similar range in this State used for discharging firearms in a sporting event, for practice or instruction in the use of a firearm, or for the testing of a firearm. “Firearm range” also includes licensed shooting preserves and public hunting areas operated or licensed by the Department of Natural Resources.
(b) An owner or operator of a firearm range in existence on January 1, 1994, is immune from any criminal liability arising out of or as a consequence of noise or sound emissions resulting from the normal use of the firearm range. An owner or operator of a firearm range is not subject to any action for public or private nuisance or trespass and no court in this State shall enjoin the use or operation of a firearm range on the basis of noise or sound emissions resulting from the normal use of the firearm range.
(c) An owner or operator of a firearm range placed in operation after January 1, 1994, is immune from any criminal liability and is not subject to any action for public or private nuisance or trespass arising out of or as a consequence of noise or sound emissions resulting from the normal use of the firearm range, if the firearm range conforms to any one of the following requirements:
(1) All areas from which a firearm may be properly discharged are at least 1,000 yards from any occupied permanent dwelling on adjacent property.
(2) All areas from which a firearm may be properly discharged are enclosed by a permanent building or structure that absorbs or contains sound energy escaping from the muzzle of firearms in use.
(3) If the firearm range is situated on land otherwise subject to land use zoning, the firearm range is in compliance with the requirements of the zoning authority.
(4) The firearm range is operated by a governmental entity or is licensed by the Department of Natural Resources.
(5) The firearm range met the requirements of clause (1) of this subsection (c) at the time the range began its operation and subsequently an occupied permanent dwelling on adjacent property was built within 1,000 yards from an area of the range from which a firearm may be properly discharged.
Illinois Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Illinois Reciprocity States
States that honor a Illinois CCW license
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Illinois honors these state CCW licenses
Illinois does not honor any other states permits.
States that will not accept an Illinois CCW license
California, Connecticut, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.
It is illegal to store any firearm on premises where there is reason to believe a minor under the age of 14, who does not possess a FOID, could likely gain access to it, without permission from his/her parent or guardian or responsible adult, whereby the minor causes bodily injury or death to another individual with the firearm. This does not apply if the firearm is (1) rendered temporarily inoperable by a device other than the firearm safety; (2) locked in a box or container; (3) placed in a location that would be considered secure by a reasonable person, from a minor under the age of 14. It is illegal for a firearms dealer to sell a handgun where the receiver, frame, barrel, or slide is cast of a zinc alloy or other non-homogeneous metal that is capable of melting at a temperature under 800 degrees F.
It is illegal to change, obliterate, alter or erase any serial number, maker’s name or other identifying mark on a firearm. Possessing such a firearm is cause for the legal presumption that the possessor committed the offense.
In cases of stolen weapons, the firearm shall be returned to the rightful owner after police confiscation and use for evidentiary purposes.
It is illegal to carry or possess a firearm while hooded or masked. It is illegal to manufacture, possess, or use a metal piercing shell, flechette shell, dragon’s breath shotgun shell, bolo shell, or explosive bullet.
It is illegal to possess a silencing device for a firearm.
It is illegal to store or possess a firearm on property that is supported in part or wholly by federal or state funds through state entities or in a building on such land without permission in writing from the chief security officer of the property. Any reasonable request for permission must be granted.
Illinois Off Limit statues
430 ILCS 66/65 - Prohibited Areas
(a) A licensee under this Act shall not knowingly carry a firearm on or into:
(1) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public or private elementary or secondary school.
(2) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a pre-school or child care facility, including any room or portion of a building under the control of a pre-school or child care facility. Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent the operator of a child care facility in a family home from owning or possessing a firearm in the home or license under this Act, if no child under child care at the
home is present in the home or the firearm in the home is stored in a locked container when a child under child care at the home is present in the home.
(3) Any building, parking area, or portion of a building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government, provided that nothing in this paragraph shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm onto the real property, bikeway, or trail in a park regulated by the Department of Natural Resources or any other designated public hunting area or building where firearm possession is permitted as established by the Department of Natural Resources under Section 1.8 of the Wildlife Code.
(4) Any building designated for matters before a circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court, or any building or portion of a building under the control of the Supreme Court.
(5) Any building or portion of a building under the control of a unit of local government.
(6) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail.
(7) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home.
(8) Any bus, train, or form of transportation paid for in whole or in part with public funds, and any building, real property, and parking area under the control of a public transportation facility paid for in whole or in part with public funds.
(9) Any building, real property, and parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment's gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol. The owner of an establishment who knowingly fails to prohibit concealed firearms on its premises as provided in this paragraph or who knowingly makes a false
statement or record to avoid the prohibition on concealed firearms under this paragraph is subject to the penalty under subsection (c-5) of Section 10-1 of the Liquor Control Act of 1934.
(10) Any public gathering or special event conducted on property open to the public that requires the issuance of a permit from the unit of local government, provided this prohibition shall not apply to a licensee who must walk through a public gathering in order to access his or her residence, place of business, or vehicle.
(11) Any building or real property that has been issued a Special Event Retailer's license as defined in Section 1-3.17.1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special Event Retailer's license, or a Special use permit license as defined in subsection (q) of Section 5-1 of the Liquor Control Act during the time designated for the sale of alcohol by the Special use of a permit license.
(12) Any public playground.
(13) Any public park, athletic area, or athletic facility under the control of a municipality or park district, provided nothing in this Section shall prohibit a licensee from carrying a concealed firearm while on a trail or bikeway if only a portion of the trail or bikeway includes a public park.
(14) Any real property under the control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District.
(15) Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, whether owned or leased, and any real property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, college, or university.
(16) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a gaming facility licensed under the Riverboat Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location licensee.
(17) Any stadium, arena, or the real property or parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event.
(18) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a public library.
(19) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of an airport.
(20) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of an amusement park.
(21) Any building, real property, or parking area under the control of a zoo or museum.
(22) Any street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The licensee shall not under any circumstance store a firearm or ammunition in his or her vehicle or in a compartment or container within a vehicle located anywhere in
or on the street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility described in this paragraph.
(23) Any area where firearms are prohibited under federal law.
(a-5) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit a public or private community college, college, or university
(1) prohibiting persons from carrying a firearm within a vehicle owned, leased, or controlled by the college or university;
(2) developing resolutions, regulations, or policies regarding student, employee, or visitor misconduct and discipline, including suspension and expulsion;
(3) developing resolutions, regulations, or policies regarding the storage or maintenance of firearms, which must include designated areas where persons can park vehicles that carry firearms; and
(4) permitting the carrying or use of firearms for the purpose of instruction and curriculum of officially recognized programs, including but not limited to military science and law enforcement training programs, or in any designated area used for hunting purposes or target shooting.
(a-10) The owner of private real property of any type may prohibit the carrying of concealed firearms on the property under his or her control. The owner must post a sign in accordance with subsection (d) of this Section indicating that firearms are prohibited on the property, unless the property is a private residence.
(b) Notwithstanding subsections (a), (a-5), and (a-10) of this Section except under paragraph (22) or (23) of subsection (a), any licensee prohibited from carrying a concealed firearm into the parking area nof a prohibited location specified in subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section shall be permitted to carry a concealed firearm on or about his or her person within a vehicle into the parking area and may store a firearm or ammunition concealed in a case within a locked vehicle or locked container out of plain view within the vehicle in the parking area. A licensee may carry a concealed firearm in the immediate area surrounding his or her vehicle within a prohibited parking lot area only for the limited purpose of storing or retrieving a firearm within the vehicle's trunk. For purposes of this subsection, "case" includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container. (c) A licensee shall not be in violation of this Section while he or she is traveling along a public right of way that touches or crosses any of the premises under subsection (a), (a-5), or (a-10) of this Section if the concealed firearm is carried on his or her person in accordance with the provisions of this Act or is being transported in a vehicle by the licensee in accordance with all other applicable provisions of law.
(d) Signs stating that the carrying of firearms is prohibited shall be clearly and conspicuously posted at the entrance of a building, premises, or real property specified in this Section as a prohibited area, unless the building or premises is a private residence. Signs shall be of a uniform design as established by the Department and shall be 4 inches by 6 inches in size. The Department shall adopt rules for standardized signs to be used under this subsection. (Source: P.A. 101-31, eff. 6-28-19.)
8-20-060 - Possession of a Laser Sight Accessory, Firearm Silencer or Muffler.
(a) It is unlawful for any person to carry, possess, display for sale, sell or otherwise transfer any laser sight accessory, or a firearm silencer or muffler.
(b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any members of the armed forces of the United States, or the organized militia of this or any other state, or peace officers, to the extent that any such person is otherwise authorized to acquire or possess a laser sight accessory, or firearm silencer or muffler, and is acting within the scope of his duties.
(c) Any laser sight accessory, or firearm silencer or muffler, carried, possessed, displayed or sold in violation of this section is hereby declared to be contraband and shall be seized by and forfeited to the city.