Gun-carrying in Tennessee isn’t as difficult as compared to other counties. This province is exceptionally flexible and allows both residents and non-residents to carry licenses with ease. The ‘Shall-Issue’ policy is in force in the state. Moreover, Tennessee is lenient with gun-carrying laws. In the subsequent sections, we shall talk about the gun-carrying laws and regulations followed by the concealed carry laws concerning Tennessee.
The gun-carrying laws in Tennessee are flexible, and both residents and non-residents can obtain the necessary permits. Residents can apply for the same at the department of safety, whereas Non- residents who expect a license should regularly work in this county. Upon registering a 6-month record of employment, non-residents can apply for the same.
For new applicants who do not come with any military background, it is necessary to obtain a firearm handling certificate, courtesy of an 8-hour course. Military personnel, however, need not obtain firearm certification.
If gun law reciprocity is the prime focus, Tennessee is a pretty lenient nation and honors 53 state permits. However, there are almost 38 states which return the favor by accepting the gun laws of this gun-friendly county. The most heartening thing here is that nearly 12 percent of the Tennessee population has legalized gun-carrying licenses.
Tennessee CCW Process
Here are the basic eligibility criteria to obtain a handgun permit:
- The applicant must be a minimum of 21 years of age to apply for a permit.
- Must have completed the firearms training recently within 12 months of time.
- Must be a legal resident of the state of Tennessee
- Must be the legal US resident or citizen
- Must not be getting benefits due to mental disability
- Shall not be convicted of any charges against any felonies related to drug addiction in the past 5 years.
- Shall not be hospitalized in an asylum or mental treatment-related institutions in the past 5 years.
Applications, to obtain Tennessee CCW permit can be processed online, if you possess a Tennessee State ID card or a valid driver's license. The Tennessee State Highway Patrol is authorized to issue permits on a "Shall Issue" basis. The applicant may also use a physical copy of the application form to get the permit. For non-residents, they must legally work in the state of Tennessee, while residing in any other state. They must be employed in the state for a minimum period of 6 months to obtain a firearm permit.
Handgun Permit Types
Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit
Concealed Handgun Carry Permit
Retired Law Enforcement Lifetime
- Based on the type of permit chosen, you may have to undergo a Tennessee handgun safety course.
- After the course completion, you may have to visit the nearest Driver Services Center, pay the application fee, provide the required documents and present a photo ID.
- If the application is successful permit is mailed to the applicant.
List of documents required:
- Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency
- Proof of full SSN
- Tennessee driver license
Handgun Permit Unit
P.O. Box 23710
Nashville, TN 37202
- Fill out the application present in the Tennessee online services web page.
- Pay the non-refundable fee to get the renewal application processed.
- After successful verification, the permit is renewed.
You may visit your nearest Driver Services Center to process the renewal of the permit by following the same procedure as mentioned above.
|Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit||USD 100/ USD 65 for active military personnel|
|Concealed Handgun Carry Permit||USD 65 for an eight-year permit|
|Lifetime||USD 300 for an eight-year permit|
Renewal: USD 50
Tennessee Concealed Carry Laws
Must Notify Officer
As per Tennessee Gun laws, there are no indications that direct an individual to inform the officials when approached for an inquiry regarding the possession of a firearm. But it is a must to carry the firearm permit along with you all times if you are carrying the firearm with you. It is a right to possess a firearm with an appropriate permit. If an officer approaches you and requests you to display the weapon and permit, you may do so.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
When a “No Firearm” sign is displayed, it is a must to oblige by the law. You may not enter a private or public area with no weapon sign enforced. If you do so, you will be legally penalized.
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT
Tennessee gun laws permit any individual with a valid permit to carry the firearm in the vehicle. If it is a long gun, it is a must to unload the gun and keep them visible in the vehicle, while in case of short guns; they must be unloaded and enclosed inside a case.
You may carry a firearm, in your vehicle without the need to carry a permit at all times.
NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT
As per Tennessee gun laws, any individual possessing a permit can legally carry weapons and firearms openly in hand, vehicle or to the place of work.
But without a permit you are forbidden to open carry a firearm.
Tennessee Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
- State CCW Site
- Enhanced Application
- Concealed Application
- Apply/Renew Online
- Enhanced/Renewal/Life Time Application
- Types of TN Permits
- How To Apply for Permit
- State FAQ Site
- State Statutes
- State Admin Rules
- State Reciprocity Info
- State Attorney General
- TN CCW Laws
- Secretary of State
- Age to Carry a Firearm In Other States
Purchase and Possession
The state of Tennessee does not require any permit or license to purchase a firearm. Citizens wishing to buy a handgun must present some form of valid photo identification and a detailed description of the firearm (including make, model, manufacturer’s number and caliber) to the dealer at the time of intended purchase. The dealer shall then conduct a criminal background check via the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation. If the Bureau finds nothing that would disqualify the potential buyer then it shall issue a unique approval number to the dealer allowing the transaction to be completed. Any disqualifying events or conditions noted by the Bureau shall also be communicated to the dealer before the final transaction. All dealers must obtain both the signature of the buyer on a firearms transaction record and his or her thumbprint.
The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation charges a fee of $10.00 for all criminal background checks which the buyer must incur. This check is waived for transactions involving the transfer of a used firearm from one lawful and eligible gun owner to another lawful and eligible citizen, firearms sold by a licensed dealer, manufacturer or importer to another licensed party, and firearms sold by a licensed dealer, manufacturer, or importer to any law enforcement body or its agents.
The sale of any firearm to a person who is clearly intoxicated with alcohol or a controlled substance is strictly prohibited and unlawful.
It is illegal in Tennessee to give, loan or sell a firearm to a person under 18 years of age. This regulation does not include instances of loaning or providing firearms to minors who shall be engaging in lawful, recreational practices necessitating a firearm.
The state of Tennessee does not require any permit or license to possess shotguns, handguns or rifles.
It is, however, illegal to possess a firearm if you are under 18 years of age, a felonious convict of any crime of violent or attempted violent action with or without a deadly weapon, or a felonious convict of a crime involving drugs.
Minors are exempted from this regulation if they are:
- Accompanied and supervised by a parent or guardian.
- On property or in a residence in which the owner and the minor’s parents have both consented to the minor’s possessing of a firearm.
- Defending themselves in extraordinary circumstances.
- Practicing at an established and valid range.
- Engaging in lawful and supervised hunting.
- Engaging in organized competitive shooting.
- Transporting an unloaded firearm to or from any of the above mentioned activities.
No person may possess or carry a handgun if he or she is intoxicated to the extent of impaired motor skills or judgment. Permit holders are not exempt from this law.
Carrying a Firearm
It is illegal in the state of Tennessee to carry a firearm or other weapon with the “intent to go armed.” This must be proven by the state.
This regulation does not apply to instances of a person carrying:
- A handgun, rifle, or shotgun that is unloaded and blatantly carried without being concealed and the ammunition of which is not readily accessible to the carrier.
- A firearm within the boundaries of their own property, place of residence or place of business.
- A handgun, rifle or shotgun in defense of livestock from predators and dangerous wild animals.
- A firearm for use in lawful recreational activities that necessitate or generally require the use of firearms. These include the lawful hunting of game and target or sport shooting.
- A firearm when that person is a federal, county or municipal judge.
- A handgun when that person holds a permit to legally carry a handgun.
- A firearm when that person is a law enforcement officer of a different state who is carrying photo identification, a commission card and hails from a state maintaining a reciprocity agreement with Tennessee.
- A firearm when that parson is an officer of the Tennessee Valley authority who is commissioned by the Commissioner of Safety and whose duties necessitate the carrying of a firearm.
- A firearm utilized in scenarios of self-defense in which the user or the person protected by the user was in clear danger that necessitated the firearm’s use.
Any resident of Tennessee, 21 years of age or older, wishing to obtain a permit to carry a handgun may apply at any location operated by the Department of Safety. All applicants must be fingerprinted and photographed by the local sheriff at a cost of $5.00. They are then required to present a certificate of completion or signed affidavit from a certified instructor evidencing the completion of a handgun safety course. The local sheriff shall then conduct a thorough background investigation. If all requirements and standards are met by the applicant then the Department of Safety shall issue a license within a period of no more than 90 days following the date of application receipt.
To be considered complete, an application must include the applicant’s legal name and any aliases, a detailed description of the applicant’s appearance, addresses for the five years prior to this application, Social Security Number, date of birth. In order to qualify, applicants must not be:
- A convict of a non-business related felony with a resulting penalty of one year or more;
- Currently fleeing the exaction of justice;
- Explicitly forbidden by any state or federal law or court order from possessing a gun;
- An addict of any controlled or alcoholic substance, a recent (within the past 10 years) participant in a program for addictive rehabilitation or a recent patient of any hospital for serious, alcohol-related ailments;
- A convict of a “DUI” offense two or more times in the past 10 years, or one DUI in the past 5 years;
- A person coercively committed to any institution of mental health or adjudicated as mentally unstable or insane;
- A person classified by judicial process as mentally disabled or dangerous due to a developmental disability, serious mental illness or mental deficiency;
- A non-legal resident of the United States or;
- A convict of any form of domestic violence.
No citizen shall be denied for any of the following conditions:
- A conviction disregarded by the state.
- Having an expunged record.
- A conviction that occurred in defense of civil rights which have since been restored, unless this offense was related to felony violence, firearms, or drugs of the Schedule I-V classification or Schedule VI occurring within the past 10 years.
License holders who change their address during the course of holding a license must notify in writing the Department of Safety within a period of no more than 60 days. Holders wishing to renew their license may do so at a cost of $50. No additional firearms safety course is required for the renewal of a license. Lawful citizens of another state in these United States may carry a firearm in the state of Tennessee given that they are lawful permit or licenses holders in their state of residence and have their permit or license with them at all times.
The Tennessee commissioner of safety is responsible for establishing reciprocity agreements with other states and making relevant reciprocity information available. Any license or permit holder from another state wishing to move to Tennessee must acquire a Tennessee license to carry a handgun within 6 months of taking up residence.
Citizens carrying lawful handgun licenses may not enter the premises of:
- Restaurants purveying alcohol if the carrier is consuming alcohol.
- Any court during judicial processes.
- Any school or educational institution.
- Any public park in a municipality or county that has passed an ordinance prohibiting firearms in public parks.
- Wildlife refuges, state parks and hunting areas.
- An area occupied by big game.
- Secured areas of airports, buildings or areas explicitly prohibited federal law and any military institution.
Additional information on areas of handgun prohibition can be found at the Tennessee Department of Safety website: http://www.tn.gov/safety/ handgunmain.shtml.
Antiques & Replicas
Antique firearms (as defined by federal law) are not included in the same regulations as firearms.
The state of Tennessee defines a machine gun as any firearm that can fire 2 or more rounds with a single trigger action and without the need of manual reloading.
It is illegal and strictly prohibited to possess, sell, repair, transport, manufacture or use any machine gun in the state of Tennessee. These regulations do not include machine guns used for law enforcement, public display in a museum or at an exhibition, produced by a company licensed by the State of Tennessee to manufacture machine guns, possessed by citizens registered in the National Firearms Registration and Transfer Records, used in a dramatic performance, or employed in scientific research.
Established firing ranges and their owners and patrons are protected from any litigation relating to noise pollution or noise ordinance violation. TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-17-316 (2011)
§ 39-17-316. Sport shooting ranges; definitions; noise pollution or nuisance actions
(a) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires:
(1) “Local unit of government” means a county, municipality, metropolitan government, or other entity of local government;
(2) “Person” means an individual, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club, or other legal entity; and
(3) “Sport shooting range” or “range” means an area designed and operated for the use of rifles, shotguns, pistols, silhouettes, skeet, trap, black powder, archery, or any other shooting activity.
(b)(1) A person who operates or uses a sport shooting range is not subject to civil or criminal liability for noise or noise pollution, nuisance or any other claim not involving physical injury to another human, resulting from the operation or use of the sport shooting range as a sport shooting range if the sport shooting range is in compliance with any applicable noise control laws, resolutions, ordinances or regulations issued by a unit of local government, that applied to the range at the time that the range began operation.
(2) A person or entity that operates or uses a sport shooting range is not subject to an action for nuisance, abatement, or any other type of action or proceeding which would have the effect of limiting, reducing, eliminating or enjoining the use or operation of the sport shooting range as a sport shooting range if the sport shooting range is in compliance with any applicable noise control laws, resolutions, ordinances or regulations issued by a unit of local government, that applied to the range and its operation at the time that the range began operation
(3) A person who subsequently acquires title to or who owns real property adversely affected by the use of property with a sport shooting range shall not maintain any action against the owner of the range to restrain, enjoin, or impede the use of the range except to the extent allowed by this section.
(4) Rules or regulations adopted by any state department or agency for limiting levels of noise in terms of decibel level that may occur in the outdoor atmosphere shall not apply to a sport shooting range exempted from liability under this section.
(5) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, nothing in this section shall be construed to limit civil liability for compensatory damage arising from physical injury to another human, physical injury to tangible personal property, or physical injury to fixtures or structures placed on real property.
(c) To the extent that any sport shooting range has been issued permission, whether by special exception, variance, or otherwise, by any entity having zoning or zoning appeal authority to operate as a range, the right to operate as a range shall not be amended, restricted, or terminated due to a change of circumstances regarding the use of adjacent or surrounding properties. Further, with respect to any sport shooting range that is open to the public and was in continuous operation for at least thirty (30) years immediately preceding December 16, 2008, the right to operate as a shooting range shall not be amended, restricted or terminated due to any land use planning or zoning applicable to the shooting range's location if:
(1) The shooting positions operate no closer than:
(A) One hundred fifty feet (150') from any adjoining boundary line or county road that extends from the southeast corner to the southwest corner;
(B) One hundred eighty feet (180') from any adjoining boundary line that extends from the southwest corner to the northwest corner;
(C) One hundred eighty feet (180') from any adjoining boundary line that extends from the northwest corner to the northeast corner;
(D) One hundred eighty feet (180') from any adjoining boundary line or county road that extends from the northeast corner to the southeast corner; and
(E) One hundred eighty feet (180') from any adjoining residential property boundary line, notwithstanding subdivisions (c)(1)(A)-(D); and
(2) Any vegetation between the appropriate distance requirement described in subdivision (c)(1) and the adjoining boundary line or county road remains undisturbed.
(d) With respect to any range that is open to the public and that begins operation after July 1, 2004, and for which there are no local zoning resolutions, ordinances or regulations affecting its establishment as a sport shooting range as of the date it began operation, the range shall not be protected by the exemptions from nuisance actions contained herein until one (1) year after the date the sport shooting range begins operation.
Tennessee Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Tennessee's Reciprocity States
States honoring a Tennessee Permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
States not honoring a Tennessee Permit
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington
Places that are Off-Limits
- Any playground, civic center or other building facilities, area or property owned, used or operated by any municipal, county or state government for recreational purposes
- Municipalities can ban carry in parks if there is a school event taking place in the park.
- Any room in which judicial proceedings are in progress
- Any public or private school building or bus
- Any public or private school campus, grounds, recreation area or athletic field
- Individual, business, or government meetings. Notice of such prohibition must be posted
- While under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Places that are prohibited by Federal Law
Places where gun carrying is allowed
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Roadside rest areas
- Places not mentioned above
In the state of Tennessee it is illegal to:
- Manufacture, sell, attempt to sell or otherwise use explosive-tipped firearm ammunition.
- Carry a firearm on the grounds or buses of any school or college with the exception of firearms carried for school-approved purposes or carried by law enforcement, military, correctional facility, campus police or other security personnel in the line of duty. Also exempt are unloaded firearms transported through school grounds on the way to lawful hunting with permission from the school, firearms carried to approved events or exhibitions and firearms carried by lawful concealed firearm license holders when picking up students or passengers. These exemptions also apply to persons carrying firearms in playgrounds, parks or other recreational areas.
- Carry a firearm into any court room or court proceeding.
- Carry a firearm while committing a crime (which results in extended and severe penalties) that uses plastic or any metal alloy covering.
- Carry a weapon into any residence or building with clearly displayed signs prohibiting firearms posted by the owner.
- Allow or know about and not report any possession of a firearm by a minor on the grounds of any public or private school or any function sponsored by the school.
- Carry a firearm during lawful hunting of game during any hunting season that exclusively permits archery hunting.
All Tennessee state legislation preempts any municipal or local ordinances enacted after April 8, 1986 pertinent to firearms or their regulation.
The state of Tennessee reserves the right to take the lead in any lawsuit against a firearm manufacturer, trade association or dealer. No other party shall bring a lawsuit against firearm manufacturers, dealers or trade associations regarding their manufacturing, trading or dealing of firearms.
Tennessee Off Limits Statues
39-17-1311. - Carrying Weapons on Public Parks, Playgrounds, Civic Centers and Other Public Recreational Buildings and Grounds.
(a) It is an offense for any person to possess or carry, whether openly or concealed, with the intent to go armed, any weapon prohibited by § 39-17-1302(a), not used solely for instructional, display or sanctioned ceremonial purposes, in or on the grounds of any public park, playground, civic center or other building facility, area or property owned, used or operated by any municipal, county or state government, or instrumentality thereof, for recreational purposes. (b) (1) Subsection (a) shall not apply to the following persons:
(A) Persons employed in the army, air force, navy, coast guard or marine service of the United States or any member of the Tennessee national guard when in discharge of their official duties and acting under orders requiring them to carry arms or weapons;
(E) Any pupils who are members of the reserve officers training corps or pupils enrolled in a course of instruction or members of a club or team, and who are required to carry arms or weapons in the discharge of their official class or team duties;
(G) A registered security guard/officer, who meets the requirements of title 62, chapter 35, while in the performance of the officer's duties;
(H) (i) Persons possessing a handgun, who are authorized to carry the handgun pursuant to § 39-17-1351, while within or on a public park, natural area, historic park, nature trail, campground, forest, greenway, waterway, or other similar public place that is owned or operated by the state, a county, a municipality, or instrumentality of the state, a county, or municipality; (ii) Subdivision (b)(1)(H)(i) shall not apply if the permit holder:
(a) Possessed a handgun in the immediate vicinity of property that was, at the time of possession, in use by any board of education, school, college or university board of trustees, regents, or directors for the administration of any public or private educational institution for the purpose of conducting an athletic event or other school-related activity on an athletic field, permanent or temporary, including but not limited to, a football or soccer field, tennis court, basketball court, track, running trail, Frisbee field, or similar multi-use field; and
(b) Knew or should have known the athletic activity or school-related activity described in subdivision (b)(1)(H)(ii)(a) was taking place on the property; or
(c) Failed to take reasonable steps to leave the area of the athletic event or school-related activity after being informed of or becoming aware of its use; (iii) For purposes of subdivision (b)(1)(H)(ii)(a) and (c), property described in subdivision (b)(1)(H)(i) is "in use" only when one (1) or more students are physically present on the property for an activity a reasonable person knows or should know is an athletic event, or other school event or school-related activity. Property listed in subdivision (b)(1)(H)(i) is not in use solely because equipment, materials, supplies, or other property owned or used by a school is stored, maintained, or permitted to remain on the property;
(I) Persons possessing a handgun, who are authorized to carry the handgun pursuant to § 39-17-1351, while within or on property designated by the federal government as a national park, forest, preserve, historic park, military park, trail or recreation area, to the extent permitted by federal law; (c) A violation of subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor. (d) For the purposes of this section, a "greenway" means an open-space area following a natural or manmade linear feature designed to be used for recreation, transportation, conservation, and to link services and facilities. A greenway is a paved, gravel-covered, woodchip covered, or wood-covered path that connectsone greenway entrance with another greenway entrance. In the event a greenway traverses a park that is owned or operated by a county, municipality or instrumentality thereof, the greenway shall be considered a portion of that park unless designated otherwise by the local legislative body. Except as provided in this part,the definition of a greenway in this section shall not be applicable to any other provision of law.
History: Acts 2017, ch. 341, § 1.
39-17-1307, - Unlawful Carrying or Possession of a Weapon.
(a) (1) A person commits an offense who carries with the intent to go armed a firearm or a club.
(2) (A) The first violation of subdivision (a)(1) is a Class C misdemeanor, and, in addition to possible imprisonment as provided by law, may be punished by a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).
(B) A second or subsequent violation of subdivision (a)(1) is a Class B misdemeanor.
(e) (1) It is an exception to the application of subsection (a) that a person is carrying or possessing a firearm, loaded firearm, or firearm ammunition in a motor vehicle or motorized boat if the person:
(A) Is not prohibited from possessing or receiving a firearm by 18 U.S.C. § 922(g) or purchasing a firearm by § 39-17-1316; and
(B) Is in lawful possession of the motor vehicle or motorized boat.
(2) (A) As used in this subsection (e):(i) "Boat" means any watercraft, other than a seaplane on the water, designed and used primarily for navigation or transportation on the water; and (ii) "Motor vehicle" has the same meaning as defined in § 55-1-103.
(B) This subsection (e) shall not apply to a motor vehicle or boat that is: (i) Owned or leased by a governmental or private entity that has adopted a written policy prohibiting firearms or ammunition not required for employment within the motor vehicle, recreational vehicle, or motorized boat; and (ii) Provided by such entity to an employee for use during the course of employment.
2018, ch. 903, §§ 2, 4.
39-16-201. - Introduction or Possession of Weapons, Ammunition, Explosives, Intoxicants, Legend Drugs, or Controlled Substances or Controlled Substance Analogues Into Penal Institution
(b) It is unlawful for any person to:
(1) Knowingly and with unlawful intent take, send, or otherwise cause to be taken into any penal institution where prisoners are quartered or under custodial supervision:
(A) Any weapon, ammunition, or explosive;
(B) Any intoxicant, legend drug, controlled substance, or controlled substance analogue found in chapter 17, part 4 of this title; or
(C) Any telecommunication device
(1) A violation of subdivision (b)(1)(A) or (b)(2)(A) is a Class C felony.
(2) A violation of subdivision (b)(1)(B), (b)(1)(C), or (b)(2)(B) is a Class D felony.
History: § 15; 2019, ch. 486, § 7.
39-17-1314. - Preemption of Local Regulation of Firearms, Ammunition, and Knives -- Actions Against Firearms or Ammunition Manufacturer, Trade Association, or Dealer -- Party Adversely Affected by Local Regulation
(a) Except as otherwise provided by state law or as specifically provided in subsection (b), the general assembly preempts the whole field of the regulation of firearms, ammunition, or components of firearms or ammunition, or combinations thereof including, but not limited to, the use, purchase, transfer, taxation, manufacture, ownership, possession, carrying, sale, acquisition, gift, devise, licensing, registration, storage, and transportation thereof, to the exclusion of all county, city, town, municipality, or metropolitan government law, ordinances, resolutions, enactments or regulation. No county, city, town, municipality, or metropolitan government nor any local agency, department, or official shall occupy any part of the field regulation of firearms, ammunition or components of firearms or ammunition, or combinations thereof.
History: § 1; 2019, ch. 223, § 1.
39-17-1309, - Carrying weapons on school property
With permission from Private K – Universities a full time employee can carry on that property. The School must have a policy before carry is legal for that person. For more information read 39-17-1309 and check with the private school where you are employed.
Firearms and Weapons
TVA campgrounds may receive use by hunters during hunting season. While firearms and weapons are generally prohibited, possession of firearms and other weapons associated with inseason hunting excursions are permissible if they are unloaded and properly cased. Possession of firearms at TVA public ramps, associated roads, and parking areas are allowed if the possession complies with the law of the state where the boat ramp is located and is not otherwise prohibited by law.
49-50-803 & 49-7-161 - Carry On the Property
States that Private K-12 and Private Colleges/Universities will have a written firearms policy. That it must be disseminated so that everyone knows the rules. They can ban firearms totally from their campus buildings and property and or only let certain people carry or let anyone carry. You would have to look at the schools policy to know each schools rules/regs.