Gun laws in the United States vary depending on the states. For the state of Minnesota, for example, a shall-issue policy is being observed. This means that all individuals who apply for a license to carry and own a firearm and qualify in all the criteria set by the law. These permits and licenses are issued at the local level by the Sheriff's office within your county of residence.
Unlike other states, however, the state of Minnesota does not require the purchase of firearm permit, registration, or even background checks before you are allowed to purchase a handgun from a private seller. A permit is also not required for transporting a firearm, keeping it at home, or keeping it in a place of business.
Nonetheless, a permit is still necessary to carry it in areas where it is allowed. Minnesota issues a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP) to applicants who are at least 21 years old and have completed the prescribed firearms training course. Residents and non-residents alike can purchase a PCP as long as they qualify for all requisites stipulated by both Federal and state laws.
The state of Minnesota requires a Permit to Carry a Pistol before you can carry a handgun within the jurisdiction of the state and in states where the Minnesota PCP is accepted as per the state reciprocity policy. The concealed carry permit or license is issued only by the local chief of Police or the County Sheriff. A non-resident can also apply for a permit at any county Sheriff.
Applying for a Minnesota PCP can take up to 30 days following the date that the application is received. Hence, you must consider this time frame whenever you have plans to carry your firearm within the state's jurisdiction.
Unlike some other states, Minnesota does not require firearm carriers to inform a law enforcement officer that you have a firearm with you whenever they approach you or your vehicle on official business. Minnesota laws also do not require license and permit holders to carry their license in person nor a photo ID at all times that a firearm is being carried.
If you still don't know how to apply for a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol, we have come up with a quick guide to help you with everything that you need to know.
Here are the basics:
Minnesota CCW Handgun License
The following are the basic requirements in applying for a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol (PCP). The applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age;
- Complete an application form;
- Not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota law;
- Not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system;
- Be a resident of the county from which he or she is requesting a permit, if he or she resides in Minnesota (Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.);
- Provide a certificate of completed authorized firearms training; and
- Meet federal law requirements.
The following are prohibited from applying for a firearm license according to federal laws:
- Fugitives from justice
- Persons who are unlawful users of or are addicted to narcotics or any other controlled substances
- Persons adjudicated as a mental defective or who have been committed to a mental institution
- Persons who have been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year
- Persons who are under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one (1) year
- Military veterans discharged under dishonorable conditions
- Persons who have renounced U.S. citizenship
- Aliens illegally in the U.S.
- Persons subject to a court order that restrains them from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or child of such intimate partner
- And persons convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
To obtain a valid Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol, you need to follow the complete process as indicated in the table below:
Complete a firearms training course; must have been within 1 year of your application.
Submit the following documents to the sheriff's office for the county in which you reside (non-residents must apply in-person to any Minnesota county sheriff):
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
Please note that pursuant to Minnesota law, all individuals who wish to carry a handgun in public must have a valid permit. However, the Minnesota law is unclear whether or not the pistol must be concealed when being carried in public. The license issued by the state has a validity of five years and has to be renewed before the expiration date to continue taking a handgun in public.
A person holding a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol can renew his/her license within the following timeline:
- 90 days before the expiration date of the current permit
- 30 days after the expiration date of the existing permit
Whenever you renew your license after its expiration date but within the 30 days of the said date, you will be charged an additional late fee of $10.
Furthermore, an expired license will not be valid until a new card is issued, so it is important to renew before its expiration date. If you fail to renew your license within the timeframe above, you will not be allowed to renew. Instead, you need to apply for a new gun permit.
Here’s the step-by-step process of renewing a handgun license in the state of Minnesota:
Complete your firearm training course within one year of renewal.
Go to the county clerk's office of the county in which you reside, or for out of state permit holders, to any Sheriff’s Department in the State of Minnesota and sign the application under oath. Include the following documents:
Pay the fee. The county clerk will provide a receipt for payment of fees.
The county clerk shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification within 45 days after the date the applicant has classifiable fingerprints taken.
The following are the fees for applying for a license in Minnesota:
Application (five yrs. validity)
Not to exceed $100.00
Renewal (five yrs. validity)
Not to exceed $75.00
Minnesota Concealed Carry Laws
Must Notify Officer
NO - MUST NOTIFY OFFICER
Minnesota does not require firearm carriers to inform a law enforcement officer that you have a firearm with you whenever they approach you or your vehicle on official business.
"No Firearms Allowed" signs enforced?
There is no mention of “No Weapon” signs in the Minnesota gun laws. Because of this, there are no legal consequences when bringing in a gun to private property. However, it is essential to know that once the owner of the property request you to leave the property because you are carrying a firearm and you refuse to go, you can be at risk of trespassing violations.
Yes. However, it is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle without a license or permit.
You can carry your firearms openly in the state of Minnesota, provided that you have a valid Minnesota PCP.
Minnesota Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
A handgun transferee permit is required to purchase any handgun or semiautomatic (military-style assault weapon) from a dealer, or a transfer report must be filed, and a seven-day waiting period fulfilled before possession.
A transferee permit is free of charge and may be procured from the county sheriff’s office or the chief of police of a municipality. A statement verifying that the applicant is not disqualified under rules set forth in the POSSESSION section, and the following information must be included in the transferee permit request: applicant’s name, telephone number, address, driver’s license number, or non-qualification certificate number, sex, date of birth, height, weight, and eye color.
The application for a transferee permit shall be approved or denied within seven days by the police chief or investigating sheriff. Any reason for denial shall be based solely on the disqualifying criteria under POSSESSION. The transferee permit shall be valid for a period of one year and allows for the purchase of one or more handguns throughout this period.
A transfer report or a transferee permit may be utilized for persons who do not possess a permit to carry, in order to purchase a handgun or semiautomatic assault weapon. The transfer report must be signed by the proposed recipient and the transferor of the firearm, and include all identification information, as well as a statement that verifies that the applicant is not disqualified under the criteria in the POSSESSION section. The report must be delivered to the police chief or sheriff by the transferor within three days of the agreement to transfer the firearm, (excluding weekends and legal holidays).
The sheriff or police chief shall investigate the applicant and may choose to waive any or all of the seven-day waiting period. No handgun or assault weapon may be delivered to a recipient before a five-day period has elapsed since the agreement to transfer was received by law enforcement officials. After this period, if nothing unfavorable has been reported to the transferor, the firearm may be delivered to the recipient.
Once it has been established by law enforcement that an individual is not disqualified from possessing a handgun or assault weapon, he/she may apply for a transferee permit within 30 days from law enforcement authorities. A permit shall then be issued free of charge.
It is not necessary for a transferor of a handgun or assault weapon to file an assault weapon or handgun transfer report if the recipient currently possesses a transferee permit or carry permit.
The recipient of a handgun or assault weapon may request that no legal record be kept of his/her transaction, after it is determined that he/she may legally possess such a firearm. In this case, the law enforcement officer shall sign and return the transfer report to the recipient. Upon this action, no employee of government, or agency shall maintain any record identifying the recipient of these firearms.
Federally licensed firearms dealers transferring firearms between other dealers, or transfers of antique firearms (for historical significance or curiosity) must not adhere to the requirements for a transferee permit, permit to carry, or report of transfer, and a seven-day waiting period.
Unless the recipient of a handgun or assault weapon produces proof of identity, a transferor of such a firearm must personally know him/her.
Every dealer of firearms must display a warning in block letters that states, “IT IS UNLAWFUL TO STORE OR LEAVE A LOADED FIREARM WHERE A CHILD CAN OBTAIN ACCESS.”
A permit from the state of Minnesota is not required to possess a rifle, shotgun, or handgun.
No handgun, semiautomatic military style assault weapon, or other firearm may be possessed by:
- An individual under 18 years of age, unless under the direction of his parent or guardian; for military training purposes; while engaged in competition or target practice at an approved firing range for law enforcement; or if he/she has completed a marksmanship and safety course for handgun or semiautomatic military-style assault weapons approved by the Commissioner of Natural resources.
- Any individual who has committed a violent crime in Michigan, or another state and has been convicted as an adult, or a juvenile (of extended jurisdiction).
- Any individual who has been confined to a treatment facility for mental illness, or is considered mentally ill and a danger to the public, or who has been found incompetent for trial, or declared not guilty by reason of insanity, or who is mentally challenged, unless he is declared to be no longer suffering from such a disability by a doctor and possesses a certificate or other proof to such effect.
- Any individual who has ever been hospitalized or committed for treatment of an addiction to a controlled substance, or who has been convicted of a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor violation involving drugs, unless he/she can present proof that a controlled substance has not been abused in the past two years.
- Any individual who has been committed to a facility for chemical dependence, unless he/she has successfully completed the treatment program.
- Any individual who is a peace officer and has been admitted to a facility for chemical dependence, unless he/she can provide proof of discharge from the program by the head of the treatment facility.
- Any individual engaged in a pretrial diversion program by the courts, charged with the commission of a violent crime before the disposition of the case, until the completion of the diversion program and the dismissal of the charges.
- Any individual prohibited by federal law
- Any individual convicted of fifth degree assault against a household member, if within three years of a prior conviction. No handgun may be possessed until three years have passed without further violations.
- Any individual convicted in the state of Minnesota or another state, who has been convicted of assault on a family or household member where a firearm was used in the commission of the assault.
- Any individual convicted in Minnesota or another state of a gross misdemeanor crime that involves gang activity, false imprisonment, bias, neglect, child endangerment, burglary, riot, setting a spring gun, or stalking and harassment in the prior three years.
- Any individual who:
- Has been convicted of a crime that is punishable by a prison term of more than one year;
- Is a fugitive from justice;
- Is an abuser of a controlled substance;
- Has been committed to a mental health treatment facility by the courts in the state of Minnesota or another state and is mentally ill, or a danger to others, or is mentally disabled.
- Is an illegal alien, living in the United States.
- Has been dishonorably discharged from the United States armed forces; or
- Has been a United States citizen and renounced his/her citizenship.
It is illegal to give or furnish any firearm, airgun, ammunition, or explosive to a minor under the age of 14, without permission from the parent or guardian. It is further illegal for a minor under 14 to handle or use such firearms, ammunition or explosives without the parent’s or guardian’s permission, and in their presence. This applies to all municipalities within the state, unless prior written consent from the parent or guardian, the magistrate or police department of the municipality is first obtained.
Any individual who is a nonresident alien may not lawfully possess a firearm, unless for the purpose of taking game, under game laws, as a nonresident.
It is illegal to store, keep, or possess a replica of a firearm, BB gun, or other deadly weapon on any school bus or on school property.
Carrying a Firearm
An individual shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor for carrying any loaded rifle, shotgun, or BB gun on or about the person for purposes other than hunting, target shooting, or transporting the firearm to or from a place of purchase, trade, display, or any other lawful activity. It shall further be charged as a misdemeanor to carry any handgun while under the influence of any controlled substance or alcohol, on or about the person.
It is illegal for persons possessing a permit to carry, to knowingly bring a firearm onto school property. An individual may however, keep or store a firearm in his/her motor vehicle while following state law, or participating in gun shows, safety and marksmanship courses, color guard exercises, or other activities, with written permission from the school’s principal, on school property.
A permit to carry is generally not required for the following reasons:
For storage or carry on property owned by an individual, including his/her residence, place of business, or any land.
For carry to or from an individual’s residence, place of business, place of purchase, or handgun repair shop.
- For carry in fields, woods, or upon waters for purposes of hunting or target shooting in areas that are safe for such activities.
- For transport in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat if the firearm is secured in a fastened case, gun box, or tied in a package, unloaded. For purposes of guard duty at any correctional facility for adults.
An application for a permit to carry concealed shall be made on a standardized form to the local sheriff (for residents), or to any sheriff (for nonresidents). An application must include a 10-year residential history and personal information including, name address, telephone number, driver’s license number, or (state identification number), physical characteristics, and date of birth. The applicant must also authorize the release of information pertaining to commitment history from the Commissioner of Human Services.
The application shall be submitted in person, along with a fee of not more than $100. A permit will be issued or denied within a 30-day period. To qualify for the permit, the applicant must be 21 years of age or older, a citizen of the United States, or (permanent resident), demonstrate evidence of firearms safety training, and not be disqualified by any of the criteria under the POSESSION section.
A certified instructor must teach a basic firearms training course that includes:
- Instruction in the fundamentals of handgun use.
- Completion of a hands-on shooting qualification exercise.
- Instruction involving the legal aspects of handgun possession, carry, and use, as well as information on self-defense and use of deadly force.
Instructors certified to teach a basic firearms training course must be certified by an organization or government agency approved by the Department of Public Safety within the past five years, and meet with department standards.
It is illegal to carry concealed in the following locations:
Any school property, grounds, or facility under the exclusive control of the school, whether public or private, elementary, middle, or high school.
Any childcare facility that is licensed, when children are in attendance.
Any property owned by an individual who has posted a sign that reads, “(the owners name) BANS GUNS IN THESE PREMISES.”
Any property or location where firearms are prohibited by state or federal law.
A permit holder carrying a firearm must disclose this to a peace officer upon request.
Antique firearms, kept specifically as curiosities or for their historical significance do not fall under the regulations and restrictions for carrying firearms. With the exception of handguns carried with a permit, any rifle or shotgun carried in a motor vehicle, aircraft or on a snowmobile, must be encased, unloaded in both barrel and magazine and placed in the car trunk, or the furthest rear location of the vehicle.
It is illegal to be in possession of a rifle or shotgun outdoors, unless it is for purposes of hunting or target shooting at a range operating under a Department of Natural Resources permit. Otherwise, the firearm must be unloaded, encased, or broken down.
Antiques & Replicas
Antique firearms refer to any firearm manufactured before 1899, including any handgun that has a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar ignition system, and any replica not made or remade to fire conventional rimfire or centerfire ammunition, or that uses such ammunition that is no longer readily available through ordinary trade channels commercially.
A machine gun refers to a firearm that is made to automatically discharge more than one round of ammunition by a single function of the trigger.
These persons may lawfully possess a machine gun, or conversion kit, or trigger activating device for use with a barrel under 18 inches in length, or an overall length of less than 26 inches that increases the rate of fire to that of a machine gun:
- Any law enforcement officer, or military personnel in the course of their duties.
- Any warden of a correctional institute, or person authorized to use such a weapon while in the course of their duties.
- Any individual possessing a firearm designed for rapid fire with a single trigger function, which has been determined by the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or a delegate of the bureau to be considered a collector’s item, relic, museum piece, ornament, or keepsake by virtue of its value, design, date of manufacture, or other characteristics and not likely to be used as a weapon.
- Any ammunition manufacturer who uses a machine gun for testing purposes, and who provides such to correctional facilities and law enforcement agencies.
- Any federally licensed dealer or manufacturer that sells machine guns to law enforcement agencies, or uses such weapons to train peace officers.
Any individual who owns or possesses a machine gun, or a short-barreled shotgun must file a report with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension within 10 days of acquiring such a weapon that includes name, address, official title, position, full description of the firearm, the purpose for ownership, and any additional information requested by the Bureau.
ll ranges currently operating within the state that meet established performance standards set forth by the Commissioner of Natural Resources, may not be prohibited from conducting ordinary business.
87A.001. Renumbered 15.001 in St.2008
Subdivision 1. Applicability. The definitions in this section apply to sections 87A.01 to 87A.08.
Subd. 2. Person. “Person” means an individual, association, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club, political subdivision, or other legal entity.
Subd. 3. Shooting range or range. “Shooting range” or “range” means an area or facility designated or operated primarily for the use of firearms, as defined in section 97A.015, subdivision 19, or archery, and includes shooting preserves as described in section 97A.115 or any other Minnesota law.
Subd. 4. Shooting range performance standards. “Shooting range performance standards” means those rules adopted by the commissioner of natural resources under section 87A.02 for the safe operation of shooting ranges.
Subd. 5. Local unit of government. “Local unit of government” means a home rule charter or statutory city, county, town, or other political subdivision.
87A.02. Shooting range performance standards
Subdivision 1. Adoption of standards; review. (a) The commissioner of natural resources must develop and adopt shooting range performance standards, according to the expedited rulemaking process under section 14.389. The shooting range performance standards must provide for compliance with applicable noise standards under section 87A.05 and for the safe use of shooting ranges within their boundaries, including the containment of projectiles.
(b) The shooting range performance standards must provide for the operation of shooting preserves within the boundaries of the preserve, including an exemption from any discharge distance limitations generally applicable to hunting on other land, when the shooting preserve is in compliance with all other applicable laws and is in operation on or before the effective date of the performance standards adopted under this section or prior to the development of any structure that would cause the preserve to be out of compliance with the discharge distance.
(c) The commissioner must review the shooting range performance standards at least once every five years and revise them if necessary for the safe operation of shooting ranges.
(d) In the adoption of any amendments to the shooting range performance standards adopted under paragraph (a), the commissioner shall follow all notice and public hearing requirements for the regular rule adoption process under sections 14.001 to 14.28.
Subd. 2. Interim standards. Until the commissioner of natural resources adopts the shooting range performance standards under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), the November 1999 revised edition of the National Rifle Association's Range Source Book: A Guide to Planning and Construction shall serve as the interim shooting range performance standards, having the full effect of the shooting range performance standards for purposes of this chapter. The interim shooting range performance standards sunset and have no further effect under this chapter upon the effective date of the shooting range performance standards adopted under subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
87A.03. Compliant ranges; authorized activities
Subdivision 1. Authorized activities. A shooting range that operates in compliance with the shooting range performance standards must be permitted to do all of the following within its geographic boundaries, under the same or different ownership or occupancy, if done in accordance with shooting range performance standards:
(1) operate the range and conduct activities involving the discharge of firearms;
(2) expand or increase its membership or opportunities for public participation related to the primary activity as a shooting range;
(3) make those repairs or improvements desirable to meet or exceed requirements of shooting range performance standards;
(4) increase events and activities related to the primary activity as a shooting range;
(5) conduct shooting activities and discharge firearms daily between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. A local unit of government with zoning jurisdiction over a shooting range may extend the hours of operation by the issuance of a special or conditional use permit; and
(6) acquire additional lands to be used for buffer zones or noise mitigation efforts or to otherwise comply with this chapter.
Subd. 2. Nonconforming use. A shooting range that is a nonconforming use shall be allowed to conduct additional shooting activities within the range's lawful property boundaries as of the date the range became a nonconforming use, provided the shooting range remains in compliance with noise and shooting range performance standards under this chapter.
Subd. 3. Compliance with other law. Nothing in this section exempts any newly constructed or remodeled building on a shooting range from compliance with fire safety, disability accessibility, elevator safety, bleacher safety, or other provisions of the State Building Code that have mandatory statewide application.
87A.04. Mitigation area
(a) Except for those uses, developments, and structures in existence or for which approval has been granted by October 1, 2005, or as provided in paragraph (b), no change in use, new development, or construction of a structure shall be approved for any portion of property within 750 feet of the perimeter property line of an outdoor shooting range if the change in use, development, or construction would cause an outdoor shooting range in compliance with this chapter to become out of compliance.
(b) A change in use, new development, or construction of a structure subject to this section may be approved if the person seeking the approval or, at the discretion of the governing body, the approving authority agrees to provide any mitigation required to keep the range in compliance with this chapter. The person requesting an approval subject to this section is responsible for providing documentation if no mitigation is required under this section. Failure to provide the documentation or any mitigation required under this section exempts the range from being found out of compliance with the shooting range performance and noise standards of this chapter with regard to the property responsible for the mitigation if the failure to provide the documentation or required mitigation is the sole basis for the range being out of compliance with the shooting range performance standards. Any action brought by the owner of the property against the range is subject to section 87A.06. With the permission of the range operator, any mitigation required under this section may be provided on the range property.
87A.05. Noise standards
Allowable noise levels for the operation of a shooting range are the levels determined by replacing the steady state noise L10 and L50 state standards for each period of time within each noise area's classification with a single Leq(h) standard for impulsive noise that is two dBA lower than that of the L10 level for steady state noise. The noise level shall be measured outside of the range property at the location of the receiver's activity according to Minnesota Rules, parts 7030.0010 to 7030.0080, as in effect on May 28, 2005. For purposes of this section, “Leq(h)” means the energy level that is equivalent to a steady state level that contains the same amount of sound energy as the time varying sound level for a 60-minute time period.
87A.06. Nuisance actions; compliance with shooting range performance standards
A person who owns, operates, or uses a shooting range in this state that is in compliance with shooting range performance standards is not subject to any nuisance action for damages or equitable relief based on noise or other matters regulated by the shooting range performance standards. This section does not prohibit other actions.
87A.07. Closure of shooting ranges
Subdivision 1. Closure. Except as otherwise provided in sections 87A.01 to 87A.08, a shooting range that is in compliance with shooting range performance standards and the requirements of sections 87A.01 to 87A.08 shall not be forced to permanently close or permanently cease any activity related to the primary use of the shooting range unless the range or activity is found to be a clear and immediate safety hazard by a court of competent jurisdiction. In any action brought to compel the permanent closure of any range in compliance with shooting range performance standards and this chapter, or to permanently cease any activity related to the primary use of the shooting range, there is a rebuttable presumption that the range or activity is not a clear and immediate safety hazard. If the shooting range provides evidence that the cause of a proven safety hazard can be mitigated so as to eliminate the safety hazard, the court shall not order the permanent closure of the range, or permanent ceasing of the activity found to be a clear and immediate safety hazard, unless the range operator fails to implement the necessary mitigation to remove the safety hazard by the date that is determined reasonable by the court. Subd. 2.
Preliminary injunctions. Nothing in this section prohibits a court from granting a preliminary injunction against any activity determined to be a probable clear and immediate safety hazard, or against any individual determined to be the probable cause of an alleged clear and immediate safety hazard, pending the final determination of the existence of the safety hazard. Subd. 3.
Permanent injunctions. A court may grant a permanent injunction only against a particular activity or person instead of permanently closing the range unless the court finds that the remaining operations also pose a safety hazard under this section.
87A.08. Applicability of other laws
Subdivision 1. Public safety laws; zoning. (a) Nothing in this chapter prohibits enforcement of any federal law. To the extent consistent with this chapter, other state laws regarding the health, safety, and welfare of the public may be enforced. To the extent consistent with this chapter, a local unit of government with zoning authority jurisdiction over a shooting range may enforce its applicable ordinances and permits. Nothing in this chapter shall supersede more restrictive regulation of days and hours of operation imposed by the terms and conditions of ordinances and permits that are in effect on May 28, 2005.
(b) If the operator of the shooting range shows evidence that the range can be brought into compliance with the applicable state law, local ordinance, or permit, the range may not be permanently closed unless the range operator fails to bring the range into compliance with the applicable law, ordinance, or permit under this section by the date that the court determines reasonable. Nothing in this section prohibits a court from granting a preliminary injunction against any activity determined to be a violation of a law, ordinance, or permit under this section or against any individual determined to be causing an alleged violation, pending the final determination of the existence of the violation.
Subd. 2. Permanent injunctions. A court may grant a permanent injunction only against a particular activity or person instead of permanently closing the range unless the court finds that the remaining operations also create a violation under this section.
Minnesota Concealed Carry Reciprocity
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) published a list of states which have handgun carry permit laws that are not similar to Minnesota’s permit-to-carry law. All permits and licenses issued by the states in lists are honored within the state of Minnesota, and vice versa, depending on some exceptions.
Minnesota Gun Reciprocity
States honoring a Minnesota permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Permits that Minnesota honors
Alaska, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, West Virginia
Please note that Minnesota only honors ID Enhanced permit from the state of Idaho.
- Public or private elementary, middle, or secondary schools or school property
- Public/private day care center or any establishment meant for child care
- School Bus
- School-owned properties where signs are posted
- Dormitory or classrooms of a community college, college, or university
- Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises
- Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by is employees
- State prisons and other correctional facilities
- Courthouses and properties owned by the court
- Any state and government buildings
- Religious buildings and properties including parking areas
- Other places prohibited by the Federal Law
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Unless an individual takes measures to properly store a firearm where any reasonable adult would consider it secure, he/she shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor for leaving a loaded firearm where a minor is likely to gain access to it.
It is illegal to hunt any wild animal from a motor vehicle. An individual with a permanent physical disability may obtain a permit free of charge to bow hunt or discharge a firearm from a non-moving motor vehicle. A game warden may lawfully seize any firearm that is used to hunt illegally.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who issues a permit?
You can apply for a Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol at the local level. Residents can send in their application to either the County Sheriff or to a local Chief of Police. Non-residents, on the other hand, can apply at any Minnesota county Sheriff.
How long is the processing time?
Applying for a permit can take up to 30 days. Renewal may take up to 45 days.
Minnesota Off Limits Statues
609.66 Subd. 1g. Felony; Possession in Courthouse or Certain State Buildings
(a) A person who commits either of the following acts is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both:
(1) possesses a dangerous weapon, ammunition, or explosives within any courthouse complex; or
(2) possesses a dangerous weapon, ammunition, or explosives in any state building within the Capitol Area described in chapter 15B, other than the National Guard Armory.
(b) Unless a person is otherwise prohibited or restricted by other law to possess a dangerous weapon, this subdivision does not apply to:
(1) licensed peace officers or military personnel who are performing official duties;
(2) persons who carry pistols according to the terms of a permit issued under section 624.714 and who so notify the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety, as appropriate;
(3) persons who possess dangerous weapons for the purpose of display as demonstrative evidence during testimony at a trial or hearing or exhibition in compliance with advance notice and safety guidelines set by the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety; or
(4) persons who possess dangerous weapons in a courthouse complex with the express consent of the county sheriff or who possess dangerous weapons in a state building with the express consent of the commissioner of public safety.
609.66 - Dangerous Weapons
(a) Except as provided under paragraphs (d) and (f), whoever possesses, stores, or keeps a dangerous weapon while knowingly on school property is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both.
(e)(4) "school property" means:
(i) a public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and its improved grounds, whether leased or owned by the school;
(ii) a child care center licensed under chapter 245A during the period children are present and participating in a child care program;
(iii) the area within a school bus when that bus is being used by a school to transport one or more elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related activities, including curricular, cocurricular, noncurricular, extracurricular, and supplementary activities;
(iv) that portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school, a school district, or an association of such entities where conspicuous signs are prominently posted at each entrance that give actual notice to persons of the school-related use.
(f) This subdivision does not apply to:
(1) active licensed peace officers;
(2) military personnel or students participating in military training, who are on-duty, performing official duties;
(3) persons authorized to carry a pistol under section 624.714 while in a motor vehicle or outside of a motor vehicle to directly place a firearm in, or retrieve it from, the trunk or rear area of the vehicle;
(4) persons who keep or store in a motor vehicle pistols in accordance with section 624.714 or 624.715 or other firearms in accordance with section 97B.0 45;
2015 c 65 art 3 s 19.20