Idaho is a shall-issue state, with licenses issues at the local level by county sheriffs. The State does not require any necessary permit, background checks, registration, and waiting period in purchasing firearms. If purchased through an FFL dealer, a background check might be needed. However, an Idaho Concealed Weapon License (CWL) may exempt the holder from purchasing additional firearms.
Any person who's at least 18-years-old and can legally possess a gun is legal to carry -- either openly or concealed. However, some areas are off-limits, such as elementary schools and courthouses.
Idaho issues permit for both residents and non-residents. It has two types of licenses: the CWL, which includes any dirk, dirk knife, Bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver, or any other deadly weapons. Meanwhile, the E-CWL is a permit granted to a person who wishes to travel out of state. Both licenses require sufficient knowledge on gun handling and additional training, if necessary. Regarding reciprocity, some states accept E-CWL only.
Idaho CWL and E-CWL Process
- At least 21-years-old
- A U.S. Citizen
- Completed the state-approved firearm training course
- A resident of Idaho for at least six months
- Not the subject of a withheld judgment for a crime prohibiting a carry license; or released pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime prohibiting a carry license.
- Has not been adjudicated guilty of or received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, unless three years have elapsed since disposition.
- Pass Federal Law requirements
- Complete this 8-hours training courses in-person:
- Idaho law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force, provided by a state-approved trainer;
- The basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns;
- Self-defense principles; and
- Live-fire training, including the firing of at least 98 rounds by the student.
To acquire a CCW permit, follow these steps:
- Complete the training course, if needed
- Download the application or request from your local Sheriff's office.
- Prepare the following documents:
- Completed Application
- Training Certificate
- Photo ID
- After providing the necessary documents, you will be fingerprinted.
- You will be notified by mail if your permit is approved or declined.
All permittees can renew their licenses 90 days before the expiration day. The State provides a 90 days grace period to have your license renewed. If in the case, the permittee failed to renew his/her license after the 90 days, he/she must apply for a new permit.
To renew, follow these steps:
- Download the application form or pick it up from your local Sheriff's office.
- Provide the following documents:
- Completed Application
- Photo ID
- You will be notified via mail if your application is approved or declined.
Here is the summary of the license fees you'll need to pay:
- New Permit Application - $20
- Renewal - $15
- Additional Charges:
- Fingerprinting - $64 for new licenses
Take Note: The local Sheriff's office is permitted to apply additional charges (i.e., fingerprinting).
- Fingerprinting - $64 for new licenses
Facts To Know
Must Notify Officer
No - Notifying Officer if Carrying Concealed Weapon is not Enforced
Idaho does not require all permittee to inform any law enforcement officer if carrying a concealed firearm. However, it is highly suggested to bring your permit at all times.
No Weapons Allowed
No - "No Weapons Allowed" Sign not Enforced
The Idaho Gun Laws did not mention anything that requires all permittees to adhere to the "No Weapons Allowed" posting.
Idaho Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
A permit from the state is not required to purchase any rifle, shotgun, or handgun.
A resident of the state of Idaho may purchase a rifle or shotgun in a state that is contiguous to Idaho. Residents of those states may purchase a rifle or shotgun in Idaho as well.
It is illegal to sell a firearm, whether directly or indirectly to a minor under the age of 18 without the written consent from his/her parent or guardian.
It is illegal to sell or give to a minor under the age of 16, gunpowder, shells, or any fixed ammunition of any kind, unless shells used in shotguns, or rifles, 22 caliber and smaller, or any firearm, without the consent of his/her parent or guardian in writing.
POSSESSION A permit to possess, a rifle, shotgun, or handgun is not required by the state. It is illegal to carry a concealed firearm while intoxicated, even with a permit.
It is illegal for any person with a felony conviction to possess or control a firearm. If a conviction has been nullified, expunged, or pardoned, and civil rights to bear arms have been restored, this does not apply.
It is illegal for a minor under the age of 18 to possess a firearm without the written permission of his/her parent or legal guardian or the accompaniment of a parent or legal guardian while in possession of the firearm. An adult must accompany a minor under the age of 12, if the minor is in possession of a firearm. It is illegal to possess a handgun if under the age of 18. Unless provided by law, no minor under 18 years of age may possess a sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun, or full automatic weapon. This does not apply to the following persons:
- Patrons of amusement parks, firing at concession stand targets where the firearm is attached to the concession counter by chain;
- Any person attending a firearms safety course, or a hunting safety course;
- Any person engaging in target or shooting practice at an established shooting range, or any other legal use of a firearm where it is not prohibited by state or local law;
- Any person participating in an organized competition that involves the use of firearms, or practicing for such competition;
- Any person under 18 years of age who is on real property with the permission of the property owner, licensee, or lessee and the permission of his/her parent or legal guardian, or the owner, licensee, or lessee to possess a firearm that does not otherwise violate the law;
- Any person who is a resident or non-resident of Idaho, hunting with a valid hunting license or other individual legally engaged in hunting; and
- Any person carrying an unloaded firearm, in his/her possession while traveling to or from any of these activities;
It is illegal for any person to possess a firearm while on school property, in any school building, stadium, school bus or school structure for a school-sponsored event. This applies to students attending school sponsored activities, programs, or events regardless of location.
It is illegal for a minor under the age of 12 to possess a shotgun, rifle, or other firearm while in fields or forests, in a tent, camp, auto, or other vehicle, unless he/she possesses a youth small game license, or a youth hunter education small graduate license, and is accompanied by an adult who possess a license to hunt in the state of Idaho.
Carrying a Firearm
No person shall carry a concealed firearm without a license unless in his/her place of residence, place of business, or on property where he/she has ownership or leasehold interest. A concealed weapon shall refer to any dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver, or other deadly or dangerous weapon. This does not apply to a legally possessed shotgun or rifle.
No person shall carry a concealed weapon on or about the person, while in a motor vehicle, inside city limits, without a license to carry a concealed weapon. This does not apply to a pistol, or revolver whether loaded or unloaded placed in plain view. As long as a firearm is disassembled or unloaded, it may be legally concealed in motor vehicle. The statement, “Upon or about ones person” refers to the carrying of a firearm in clothing, handbags, or in close proximity and readily accessible for immediate use. The firearm must not be discernable by ordinary observation in order to be considered concealed.
A county sheriff will issue all concealed carry permits, within 90 days of application, to any person over the age of 21, who may legally possess or receive a firearm under state or federal law. A disqualified person is anyone who is:
- Charged with a crime that is punishable by imprisonment for a term that exceeds one year; found guilty of a crime that is punishable for a term that exceeds one year;
- A fugitive from justice;
- An addict of any controlled substance, marijuana, an anti-depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or is currently suffering or has been determined to be mentally ill, severely disabled or otherwise incapacitated or lacking mental capacity;
- Dishonorably discharged from U.S. military service;
- An illegal alien or has renounced their citizenship from the U.S.
- The subject of a withheld judgment for a crime that prohibits a license to carry; or is presently released pending trial, appeal or sentencing for a crime that prohibits a license to carry;
- Under an order of protection that restrains them from harassing, stalking, threatening an intimate partner, or the child of an intimate partner;
- Guilty of one or more violent crimes constituting a misdemeanor, or has received a suspended sentence for one or more violent crimes, unless a period of three years has elapsed since the date the application was made.
The application for a license must appear in triplicate on a form dedicated by the director of the Idaho State Police and include the applicant’s name, address, personal description, signature, date of birth, military status, and driver’s license number or state identification card (social security number is optional). The permit allows a person to carry a concealed weapon for protection purposes, while doing business, while travelling, or for sport. The permit fee is $20.00, but may also require an additional fee for fingerprinting for the initial license. Any license issued after July 1, 2006 will be valid for a period of five years. A firearm safety course or hunter safety course may also be required to demonstrate proficiency with a firearm.
Pending review, the sheriff of the applicable county is authorized to issue a temporary emergency license if he/she determines just cause for such.
Any individual between the ages of 18 and 21 may be issued a license to carry a concealed weapon if the sheriff determines that it is warranted. The issuance of a concealed carry license will be subject to limitations by the sheriff and will be distinguished from a regular carry license by a person over the age of 21.
No concealed weapon may be carried while intoxicated, even with a permit, and cannot be carried into any school, whether public or private, school activity, onto any school sponsored transportation, courthouse, juvenile detention center, or jail.
A non-resident of the state of Idaho may carry a concealed weapon with a valid license to carry concealed from another state as long as the license remains in the physical possession of the licensee while carrying the weapon.
Antiques & Replicas
Antique firearms, or any replica of a firearm is considered under the same laws, regulations, statutes, or provisions as an ordinary firearm for carrying and possession purposes.
A machine gun may be legally purchased, sold, or possessed in the state as long as it is lawfully registered and in compliance with all federal laws and regulations.
A shooting range may not be subject to any nuisance claim by an adjoining property owner if the operation of the shooting range commenced before the purchase of the adjoining property by the owner.
§ 55-2602. Sport shooting range--Nuisance action--Limitations
(1) Except as provided in this section, a person may not maintain a nuisance action for noise against a shooting range located in the vicinity of that person's property if the shooting range was established as of the date the person acquired the property. If there is a substantial change in use of the range after the person acquires the property, the person may maintain a nuisance action if the action is brought within three (3) years from the beginning of the substantial change.
(2) A person who owns property in the vicinity of a shooting range that was established after the person acquired the property may maintain a nuisance action for noise against that shooting range only if the action is brought within five (5) years after establishment of the range or three (3) years after a substantial change in use of the range.
(3) If there has been no shooting activity at a range for a period of three (3) years, resumption of shooting is considered establishment of a new shooting range for purposes of this section.
Idaho Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Idaho's Reciprocity States
States that honor an idaho permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Idaho honors permits from these states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, Guam, New York City, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands,
It is illegal to operate a firearm in a manner that results in injury to another individual that would be considered careless, reckless, or negligent.
No loaded firearm may be shipped on a common carrier.
It is illegal to discharge a firearm over or across any public highway.
Under these circumstances, a license for hunting may be revoked:
- Injury or accident to any person, property or livestock due to reckless handling of a firearm.
- Injury to a human being by gunfire, due to reckless handling of a firearm.
- Accidental Injury or death by gunfire in cases where the individual flees or fails to render assistance to the victim.
The legal possession, ownership, or transportation of a firearm that is not prohibited by state law, may not be regulated by any city or county.
No governor, government entity or agency may restrict the possession, transfer, sale, transport, storage display, or use of firearms and ammunition during a declared disaster emergency.
Idaho Off Limits Statues
18-3302C. - Prohibited Conduct.
Any person obtaining a license under the provisions of section 18-3302, Idaho Code, or carrying a concealed deadly weapon pursuant to the provisions of section 18-3302(4)(f), Idaho Code, shall not: (1) Carry a concealed weapon in a courthouse, juvenile detention facility or jail, public or private school, except as provided in subsection (4)(f) of section 18-3302D, Idaho Code; provided that, this subsection shall
not apply to:
(a) Peace officers while acting within the scope of their employment;
(b) Security personnel while actually engaged in their employment; or
(c) Any person who is authorized to carry a weapon by a person, board or other entity having authority over the building or facility; or
(2) Provide information on the application for a permit to carry a concealed weapon knowing the same to beuntrue. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
2016, ch. 208, sec. 2, p. 591; am. 2018, ch. 195, sec. 2, p. 438
18-3302D. - Possessing Weapons or Firearms on School Property
(4)(e) Any adult over eighteen (18) years of age and not enrolled in a public or private elementary or secondary school who has lawful possession of a firearm or other deadly or dangerous weapon, secured and locked in his vehicle in an unobtrusive, nonthreatening manner;
(f) A person who lawfully possesses a firearm or other deadly or dangerous weapon in a private vehicle while delivering minor children, students or school employees to and from school or a school activity;
(g) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-3302C, Idaho Code, a person or an employee of the school or school district who is authorized to carry a firearm with the permission of the board of trustees of the school district or the governing board.
2018, ch. 195, sec. 3, p. 438.
18-3309. - Authority of Governing Boards of Public Colleges and Universities Regarding Firearms
(1) The board of regents of the university of Idaho, the boards of trustees of the state colleges and universities, the board of professional-technical education and the boards of trustees of each of the community colleges established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, hereby have the authority to prescribe rules and regulations relating to firearms.
(2) Notwithstanding any other provision of state law, this authority shall not extend to regulating or prohibiting the otherwise lawful possession, carrying or transporting of firearms or ammunition by persons licensed under section 18-3302K, Idaho Code.
(a) However, a person issued a license under the provisions of section 18-3302H or 18- 3302K, Idaho Code, shall not carry a concealed weapon:
(i) Within a student dormitory or residence hall; or
(ii) Within any building of a public entertainment facility, provided that proper signage is conspicuously posted at each point of public ingress to the facility notifying attendees of any restriction on the possession of firearms in the facility during the game or event.
(b) As used in this section:
(i) "Public entertainment facility" means an arena, stadium, amphitheater, auditorium, theater or similar facility with a seating capacity of at least one thousand (1,000) persons that is owned or operated by the board of regents of the university of Idaho, a board of trustees of a state college or university, the state board of professional-technical education or a board of trustees of a community
college established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, that is primarily designed and used for artistic, theatrical, cultural, charitable, musical, sporting or entertainment events, but does not include publicly accessible outdoor grounds or rights-of-way appurtenant to the facility, including parking lots within the facility used for the parking of motor vehicles.
(ii) "Student dormitory or residence hall" means a building owned or operated by the board of regents of the university of Idaho, a board of trustees of a state college or university, the state board of professional-technical education or a board of trustees of a community college established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, located on or within the campus area owned by the university or college to house persons residing on campus as students, but does not include off-campus housing or publicly accessible outdoor grounds or rights-of-way appurtenant to the building, including parking lots within the building used for the parking of motor vehicles.
(c) The provisions of subsection (2)(a) shall not apply to the following persons:
(i) A person or persons complying with the provisions of section 19-202A, Idaho Code.
(ii) A person or an employee who is authorized to carry a firearm by the university or college board of trustees, board of regents, governing board or a person or entity with authority over the building or facility.
(iii) A person who possesses a firearm for authorized use in an approved program, event, activity or other circumstance approved by a person or entity with authority over the building or facility.
(iv) A person who possesses a firearm in a private vehicle while delivering students, employees or other persons to and from a university, college or public entertainment facility.
(v) An on-duty or off-duty certified peace officer.
(vi) A qualified retired law enforcement officer licensed under section 18-3302H, Idaho Code.
(3) Any rule, regulation or policy that is contrary to this section is null and void. 2018, ch. 195, sec. 1, p. 437.
5-343. - Immunity of Colleges and Universities Allowing Firearms.
No action shall lie or be maintained for civil damages in any court of this state against the board of regents of the university of Idaho, the boards of trustees of the state colleges and universities, a dormitory housing commission, the board of professional-technical education or the boards of trustees of each of the community colleges established under chapter 21, title 33, Idaho Code, where the claim arises out of the policy of the board or commission to either specifically allow or not prohibit the lawful possession and storage of firearms on its property. [5-343, added 2014, ch. 73, sec. 5, p. 191; am. 2016, ch. 25, sec. 1, p. 35.]
26.01.20-600. - Personal Safety, Firearms. State Parks
No person may purposefully or negligently endanger the life of any person or creature within any land administered by the Department. No person may discharge firearms or other projectile firing devices within any lands administered by the Department, except in the lawful defense of person, persons, or property or in the course of lawful hunting, or for exhibition or at designated ranges as authorized by the Director. (7-1-09)T.