Effective November 1, 2019, the state of Oklahoma has adopted the shall-issue and constitutional carry policies as their governing gun laws. That means that permits are issued at the local level by the county sheriff's office and that constitutional carry laws are also observed. No license is needed to purchase a firearm from a private individual, there is no waiting period, and there is no firearms registration in the state. A background check is required if purchasing a handgun from a Federal Firearms Dealer.
As a constitutional carry state, the state of Oklahoma allows anyone who is at least 21 years old and is legally entitled to possess a firearm that can openly or concealed carry a gun WITHOUT a permit. Members of the military or those that are honorably discharged veterans can carry a weapon if they are at least 18 years old. Residents and military personnel and their spouses stationed in Oklahoma can apply for the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation's Self-Defense Act Licenses (SDAL) for reciprocity purposes. Applications are available to 21 years old (and older) Oklahoma residents who have completed a firearms training course and meet other criteria. Please note that there are restrictions on the caliber of the firearm; a permit holder can carry with .45 calibers being the highest.
For those who are still confused about the different gun laws followed in the state of Oklahoma, this quick and simple guide will surely help you. Read on.
Oklahoma CCW License
In order to apply for an Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation's Self-Defense Act Licenses (SDAL), you must:
- Be at least 21 years of age or at least 18 years old and is a member of the military, reserves or honorably discharged veteran;
- Be a citizen of the United States;
- Be a resident of Oklahoma;
- Have a valid Oklahoma driver's license or state photo identification card;
- Be knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self Defense Act;
- Have completed an approved firearms training class or obtained an exemption;
- Not have any false or misleading statements on the application for a handgun license;
- Not have a felony conviction or be subject to an outstanding felony warrant;
- Not have been adjudicated incompetent;
- Not have attempted suicide or had any other condition relating to or indicating mental instability or an unsound mind within the last ten years;
- Not be currently undergoing treatment for a mental illness, disease or disorder;
- Not have any convictions for the following offenses:
- assault and battery,
- a violation relating to the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act, or any breach of a victim protection order of another state,
- any conviction relating to illegal drug use or possession, or
- an act of domestic abuse or domestic assault and battery;
- Not have two or more convictions for public intoxication in the last three years;
- Not have two or more convictions for driving under the influence and/or intoxication in the previous three years;
- Have no significant character defects evidenced by a misdemeanor criminal record indicating habitual illegal activity; and
- Meet federal law requirements.
The following steps are required to be followed when applying for a gun permit in Oklahoma:
STEP 1: Read the Oklahoma Self Defense Act.
STEP 2: Complete the firearm safety class if necessary. The date on the certificate must be within the last three years.
STEP 3: Download the application, apply online, or complete a form. (Applications are also available at Sheriffs' offices or by emailing the OSBI.)
STEP 4: Take the completed application or online summary sheet to the sheriff's office of the county in which you reside. Bring the following when applying:
- Two color passport-style photos,
- Driver's license or state ID card; and
- Training certificate.
STEP 5: You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
You can start renewing your Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation's Self-Defense Act Licenses (SDAL) 90 days before the expiration date indicated in the license. Licenses that expired within the next three years can still be accepted for renewal. Beyond that, you must apply for a new initial permit and start the entire process once again.
Follow these steps to renew your Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation's Self-Defense Act Licenses (SDAL):
STEP 1: Download the application, apply online, or complete a form.
STEP 2: Take the completed application or online summary sheet to the sheriff's office of the county in which you reside. You will need the following:
- Two color passport-style photos,
- Driver's license or state ID card; and
- Training certificate.
STEP 3: Applicants who have applied online, uploaded photo, and submitted payment online have completed the process. Other applicants must take or mail the online summary sheet or completed application, along with photographs and required fee to:
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
Self-Defense Act Licensing Unit
6600 North Harvey Place
Oklahoma City, OK 73116
STEP 4: You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
The following are the associated fees in applying for or renewing a gun permit in Oklahoma:
Initial Permit (5 year validity)
Initial Permit (10 year validity)
Renewals (5 year validity)
Renewals (10 year validity)
14 days for Sheriff’s office; 60 days for the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation if there are no exceptions; 90 days if there are exceptions.
Oklahoma CCW Laws
NO – Without a Permit/License
The law states it is illegal to carry a loaded pistol, shotgun or rifle in any vehicle without a firearms license. However, any person who is not a felon can carry in a vehicle if the firearm is unloaded and in plain view.
21 O.S. 1289.7
Must Notify Officer
YES – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
Oklahoma gun laws say you must immediately inform law enforcement you are carrying a weapon if stopped by them. You are also required to carry your SDA license at all times you are carrying a weapon.
21 O.S. 1290.8 - Notification to police of gun
NO – Without a Permit/License
You can only open carry if you have a firearms license or you are from one of the following permitless states - AK, AZ, ID, KS, ME, MS, MO, NH, VT, WV & WY.
No Weapons Signs Enforced
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Oklahoma gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
Oklahoma Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
The state of Oklahoma does not mandate the holding of any permits for the purchase of a shotgun, handgun or rifle. Oklahoma residents may lawfully purchase a firearm in another state given that the transaction follows the laws of Oklahoma and the state of purchase.
It is illegal to sell, transfer, giver or help a person to obtain a firearm if that person is a convicted felon, mentally unstable or insane, intoxicated with alcohol or any controlled substance.
It is also illegal to transfer, sell or give a firearm to any citizen or other person under 18. No parent or guardian may willfully allow their child to possess a firearm if the parent has reason to believe that the minor will take some sort of violent or criminal action using the firearm. Exempt from this regulation are situations in which parents are allowing their children to possess a shotgun or rifle for the purpose of hunting, education or target shooting.
The state of Oklahoma does not mandate the holding of a permit to possess any shotgun, handgun or rifle.
It is illegal in Oklahoma for:
· A minor to possess a firearm with the exception of shotguns or rifles possessed for educational, target shooting or hunting practices. Confiscated firearms illegally possessed by minors shall be forfeited to the arresting law enforcement branch.
· A convicted felon or a person adjudicated as a minor by a court of law as a delinquent for a crime that would be classified as a felony if it were to be committed by a person over the age of 18 to possess a firearm, including in a vehicle.
· Any person possessing a firearm to enter the premises of any public or private school or any of the school’s vehicles. Exempt from this regulation are firearms possessed for the school-authorized purpose of hunting, target shooting or education and firearms lawfully possessed in a vehicle picking up a student so long as the vehicle does not remain on the premises.
· Persons supervised and under the control of the Department of Corrections to possess any firearm including in a vehicle.
Carrying a Firearm
No person shall carry a concealed firearm about his or her person or in a container with the exceptions of educational, recreational, hunting or fishing purposes and persons carrying a current, lawful license to carry a concealed firearm.Any person may lawfully carry or transport a firearm:
· Openly in their personal residence, on the grounds of their private property, while target shooting, while participating in a gun safety class, while hunting, while engaging in a police, military, entertainment or historical function.
· Openly when en route to or from a personal residence, gun show, gun shop, vehicle, hunting grounds, target range or other lawful firearms sports facility given that the firearm is unloaded and not concealed.
· Anytime in a private vehicle so long as the firearm is unloaded and not concealed.No loaded firearm may be carried in any vehicle unless the carrier maintains a license to carry a concealed firearm. It is illegal in Oklahoma to:
· Possess a firearm, in any capacity, within the premises of any purveyor of alcoholic beverages or places of businesses where alcohol is consumed. Exempt from this regulation are any law enforcement or peace officers, the owner of the business and persons who maintain a valid license to carry a concealed firearm (though in the final case, alcohol must not be the primary source of income for the establishment in order for the licensee to carry)
· Aggressively carry a firearm with intent to cause harm to another person.
· Carry, discharge or otherwise use a firearm while influenced by alcohol, any controlled substance or a behavior-altering prescription drug.
The state of Oklahoma has deemed the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation as the issuing authority for licenses to carry a concealed firearm.
Prerequisites for application for a license to carry a concealed firearm include being 21 years of age, a resident of Oklahoma, a citizen of the United States, a successful participant of a firearms training and safety course and able to include all proper forms and fees with the application.
All of the following shall disqualify a person from receiving a license to carry a concealed firearm:
· Any fallacious or inaccurate information included on the application;
· Prior attempts to commit suicide or another act that evidences mental or emotional instability;
· Being in the process of treatment for any mental illness;
· Being a fugitive from justice with any outstanding warrants;
· Any conviction of a felony or delinquent adjudication;
· Frequent or habitual convictions for misdemeanors;
· Any conviction of an aggravated assault and battery, stalking, assault and battery causing physical injury, a second assault and battery conviction, illegal drug possession or use or a failure to comply with any law of protection from domestic abuse, classified as a misdemeanor;
· Coercive commitment to a mental health facility for a mental disorder, condition or illness; or
· Adjudication for mental incompetency.
Some disqualifications may be temporary. Three year disqualifications include:
· Two or more public intoxication convictions;
· Being under the restrictions of a deferred prosecution or awaiting sentencing for a felony;
· Two or more convictions for misdemeanor intoxication or DUI;
· Being in the process of treatment for any mental condition, illness or disorder requiring formal supervision or medication;
· Having undergone inpatient treatment for serious or habitual substance abuse; or
· Being under the restrictions of a deferred prosecution, awaiting sentencing or having been arrested on the allegation of committing misdemeanor aggravated assault and battery, stalking, assault and battery causing physical injury, second assault and battery conviction, illegal drug possession or use or failure to comply with any law of protection from domestic abuse.
Possible temporary disqualifications also include:
· The residence of a felon or delinquent in the home of an applicant (disqualifies the applicant for period of 30 days following the end of the felon or delinquent’s residence);
· A victim protection order (three year disqualification beginning on the date the order takes effect or 60 days following the termination of the order); or
· Any pending felony (disqualifies the applicant until the final ruling on the charges)
Persons wishing to acquire a license to carry a concealed firearm may receive an application from the county sheriff or from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation by mail.
All of the following are requirements for acquiring a license:
· Singing, under oath, the application in the presence of the county sheriff.
· Incurring a $100.00 fee for a 5-year license or a $200.00 fee for a license with a longer 10-year life-span.· Submission of valid photo identification.
· Submission of two photographs of standard passport size.
· Submission of a certificate of completion for a firearms training class or a certificate of exemption.
· Submitting to the sheriff who will take a set of fingerprints at a cost of no more than $25.00.
Within 14 days of the submission of any application, the county sheriff shall conduct a basic investigation into the applicant and shall send any relevant information and the application to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. The Bureau shall then perform a criminal background check, at the state and federal level, on all applicants. The license to carry a concealed firearm shall be issued or denied within 90 days of initially receiving the application. Those applicants wishing to appeal any denial must do so within a period of no more than 60 days following notice of the denial.
All information submitted in an application shall remain on record solely for the use and review of law enforcement personnel.
No concealed handgun over .45 caliber may be carried by a licensee.
All firearms training and safety courses must have a fee no greater than $60.00 and must be about eight hours in total length. Each separate class of handgun requires the completion of a firearms course (including demonstration of competency under a qualified instructor) that specializes in that class in order to carry that type of firearm. Applicants training in the competent use of semiautomatic handguns may also be certified for competent use of derringers or revolvers. Any person clearly posing a danger to him or herself and others or forbidden by law from handling a firearm may be refused training by a certified firearms instructor.
Licenses to carry a concealed firearm shall be recognized throughout the state of Oklahoma for a period of no more than five or ten years depending on which license the holder paid for given that the license is not revoked, surrendered by the holder or suspended for a violation of state or federal law. Following the date of expiration, any license may be renewed within 90 days by completing and submitting a renewal application, $85.00 (five years) or $170.00 (ten years) and two updated photos of standard passport size to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. License holders must report a lost, missing, severely damaged, obliterated or stolen license to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation and can be replaced at a cost of $15.00.
All license holders are mandated to carry their license to carry a concealed firearm whenever they are carrying a concealed firearm along with another form of valid state photo identification. In the event of a license holder being detained, arrested or stopped by a law enforcement officer, he or she must immediately inform the officer that they are carrying a concealed firearm.
No person may carry a concealed firearm, regardless of maintaining a license to carry, in any or on the premises of any:
· Prison or correctional facility.
· Government facility.
· Formal meeting of government official.
· Public or private elementary, secondary or vocational school, or a college or university.
· Sports venue during any professional event.
· Establishment in which pari-mutuel wagering is authorized to take place.
The parking lots of any of the above (except for school parking lots) are exempt from these regulations.
All valid license or permits to carry concealed firearms issued by other states shall be recognized in Oklahoma.
Antiques & Replicas
The state of Oklahoma does not address antique or replicas and as such they are treated as normal firearms in matters of possession and carrying.
It is illegal in the state of Oklahoma to sell, purchase or possess any sawed-off rifle or shotgun or any machine gun unless the weapon is purchased, sold or possessed in complete compliance with all relevant federal laws.
The owners, operators and patrons of all lawful gun ranges are immune from any criminal or civil litigation sought on the basis of a noise violation or noise pollution.
OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 63 § 709.2 (2010)
709.2 Noise--Exemption from liability
A. Notwithstanding any municipal ordinance or rule regulating noise to the contrary, a governmental official may not seek a civil or criminal penalty or injunction against a shooting range, or its owner or operators, on the basis of noise emanating from the range, provided the noise at the property line of the shooting range does not exceed one hundred fifty (150) decibels.
B. No person shall bring any suit in law or equity or any other claim for relief against a shooting range, or its owners or operators, based upon noise emanating from the shooting range, provided the noise at the property line of the range does not exceed one hundred fifty (150) decibels.
C. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, any ordinance or rule relating to noise adopted by any local unit of government, whether before, on, or after the effective date of this act, shall not be deemed to be enforceable against a shooting range, provided the noise at the property line of the range does not exceed one hundred fifty (150) decibels. The ordinance or rule shall not serve as the basis for any suit in law or equity, whether brought by a governmental official or person. In no event shall the provisions of this subsection affect the outcome of any suit brought prior to the effective date of this act in which a final order of judgment or relief has been entered.
Oklahoma Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Oklahoma's Reciprocity States
States that will honor a Oklahoma SDA licence
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming
Handgun licences Oklahoma will honor
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
States that will not honor a Oklahoma SDA license
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Wisconsin.
Places where you CAN’T carry in Oklahoma
- Any prison, jail or detention facility
- Any public or private elementary or public or private secondary school
- Any sports arena during a professional sporting event
- Any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized by law
- Any other place specifically prohibited by law
- Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public
- Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- State wild life management area's
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Places where you CAN carry in Oklahoma
- State park’s – but not in buildings
- State and national forests – but not in buildings
- Road side rest areas – but not in buildings
- Any property set aside for the use or parking of any vehicle
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
The Oklahoma State Legislature preempts the ability and authority to create new and alter or remove old legislation, ordinances, orders or regulations pertaining in any manner to firearms, ammunition, supplies or components. Exempt from this preemption are municipal ordinances or laws pertaining to the forfeiture of unlawfully utilized firearms, areas of firearm discharge, the issuance of traffic fines for improper transportation and other particular provisions for penalization.
The state of Oklahoma preempts all legal action brought against firearms manufacturers for any damages pertaining to the lawful and proper marketing, design, sale or manufacture of any firearm.
In the state of Oklahoma it is illegal to:
· Discharge or transport any rifle, pistol or shotgun from or on a boat in the act of sailing aside from the purpose of hunting animals.
· Aim a loaded or unloaded firearm at another person unless in reasonable self-defense.
· Willfully cause a disturbance of the peace by discharging or aggressively displaying a firearm.
· Discharge a firearm into the exterior or premises of any residence, commercial or public building (Such an action is a felony).
· Willfully allow a delinquent or felon to possess or handle, in any way a handgun, if the person allowing the handgun possession or handling maintains a license to carry a concealed firearm.
· Discharge a firearm or hunt game within a zone of 440 yards around any school building, public place of assembly or church.
· Shoot a gun with the intention of hunting game from any motor propelled air, water or land vehicle. Exempt from this regulation are non-ambulatory persons with special written permission from the Director of Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation.
· Sell, possess, carry, use, attempt to use or manufacture any round of ammunition or projectile with a fluorocarbon coating and a core of 60% lead or less which is designed to penetrate body armor.
· Fire a gun at any wildlife or game across any public highway, railroad right of way or road.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who issues a permit?
A license to carry a handgun is issued by the Oklahoma Bureau of Investigation.
How long is the processing time?
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 14 days for Sheriff’s office; 60 days for the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation if there are no exceptions; 90 days if there are exceptions.
Can licenses be renewed after permit-less carry laws are started to be implemented?
Yes, Oklahoma will still issue SDA licenses and they can still be renewed.
When am I required to take firearm training?
Training must be completed before submitting your application. No training is required when renewing the license.
How long do I need to be a resident of Oklahoma before I can apply for a license?
The law says you must be a resident of Oklahoma. So you will need a residence and an Oklahoma state ID card or driver license. However, there is no set time that you need to be resident in the state.
How many firearms can I carry?
There is no limit on how many firearms you can carry in the state of Oklahoma.
Can I carry a gun after my license expires?
You can still legally carry a firearm 90 days past the expiry date. However, after the 90 days has elapsed you are not permitted to carry a handgun where if a license is required.
What to do if my application is denied?
You will need to inform the OSBI in written form (email, letter or fax) within 60 days that you intend to appeal the decision to not issue you an SDA License.
Do I need to register my handgun?
Oklahoma Off Limit Statue
21 O.S 1277. - Unlawful Carry in Certain Places
A. It shall be unlawful for any person, including a person in possession of a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act to carry any concealed or unconcealed handgun into any of the following places:
1. Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public;
2. Any courthouse, courtroom, prison, jail, detention facility or any facility used to process, hold or house arrested persons, prisoners or persons alleged delinquent or adjudicated delinquent, except as provided in Section 21 of Title 57 of the Oklahoma Statutes;
3. Any public or private elementary or public or private secondary school, except as provided in subsection C of this section;
4. Any publicly owned or operated sports arena or venue during a professional sporting event, unless allowed by the event holder;
5. Any place where gambling is authorized by law, unless allowed by the property owner; and
6. Any other place specifically prohibited by law.
B. For purposes of subsection A of this section, the prohibited place does not include and specifically excludes the following property:
1. Any property set aside for the use or parking of any motor vehicle, whether attended or unattended, by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority;
2. Any property set aside for the use or parking of any motor vehicle, whether attended or unattended, which is open to the public or by any entity engaged in gambling authorized by law;
3. Any property adjacent to a structure, building or office space in which concealed or unconcealed weapons are prohibited by the provisions of this section;
4. Any property designated by a city, town, county or state governmental authority as a park, recreational area, wildlife refuge, wildlife management area or fairgrounds; provided, nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to authorize any entry by a person in possession of a concealed or unconcealed firearm into any structure, building or office space which is specifically prohibited by the provisions of subsection A of this section.
5. Any property set aside by a public or private elementary or secondary school for the use or parking of any motor vehicle, whether attended or unattended; provided, however, the firearm shall be stored and hidden from view in a locked motor vehicle when the motor vehicle is left unattended on school property.
Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection or subsection C of this section shall be construed to authorize or allow any person in control of any place described subsection A of this section to establish any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting any person in lawful possession of a handgun license or otherwise in lawful possession of a firearm from carrying or possessing the firearm on the property described in this subsection.
C. A concealed or unconcealed weapon may be carried onto private school property or in any school bus or motor vehicle used by any private school for transportation of students or teachers by a person who is licensed pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, provided a policy has been adopted by the governing entity of the private school that authorizes the carrying and possession of a weapon on private school property or in any school bus or motor vehicle used by a private school. Except for acts of gross negligence
or willful or wanton misconduct, a governing entity of a private school that adopts a policy which authorizes the possession of a weapon on private school property, a school bus or motor vehicle used by the private school shall be immune from liability for any injuries arising from the adoption of the policy. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to claims pursuant to the Administrative Workers' Compensation Act. D. Notwithstanding paragraph 3 of subsection A of this section, a board of education of a school district may adopt a policy pursuant to Section 5-149.2 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes to authorize the carrying of a handgun onto school property by school personnel specifically designated by the board of education, provided such personnel either:
1. Possess a valid armed security guard license as provided for in Section 1750.1 et seq. of Title 59 of the Oklahoma Statutes; or
2. Hold a valid reserve peace officer certification as provided for in Section 3311 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to restrict authority granted elsewhere in law to carry firearms. E. In any municipal zoo or park of any size that is owned, leased, operated or managed by: ENR. H. B. NO. 2010 Page 4
1. A public trust created pursuant to the provisions of Section 176 of Title 60 of the Oklahoma Statutes; or
2. A nonprofit entity,
F. Any person violating the provisions of paragraphs 2 or 3 of subsection A of this section shall, upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00). A person violating any other provision of subsection A of this section may be denied entrance onto the property or removed from the property. If the person refuses to leave the property and a peace officer is summoned, the person may be issued a citation for an amount not to exceed Two Hundred Fifty
G. No person in possession of a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act or who is carrying or in possession of a firearm as otherwise permitted by law or who is carrying or in possession of a machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles shall be authorized to carry the firearm, machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles into or upon any college, university or technology center school property, except as provided in this subsection. For
purposes of this subsection, the following property shall not be construed to be college, university or technology center school property:
1. Any property set aside for the use or parking of any motor vehicle, whether attended or unattended, provided the firearm, machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles are carried or stored as required by law and the firearm, machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles are not removed from the motor vehicle without the prior consent of the college or university president or technology center school administrator while the motor vehicle is on any college, university or
technology center school property;
2. Any property authorized for possession or use of firearms, machetes, blackjacks, loaded canes, hand chains or metal knuckles by college, university or technology center school policy; and
3. Any property authorized by the written consent of the college or university president or technology center school administrator, provided the written consent is carried with the firearm, machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles and the valid handgun license while on college, university or technology center school property.The college, university or technology center school may notify the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation within ten (10) days of a violation of any provision of this subsection by a licensee. Upon receipt of a written notification of violation, the Bureau shall give a reasonable notice to the licensee and hold a hearing. At the hearing, upon a determination that the licensee has violated any provision of this subsection, the licensee may be subject to an administrative fine of Two Hundred Fifty Dollars ($250.00) and may have the handgun license suspended for three (3) months. Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection shall be construed to authorize or allow any college, university or technology center school to establish any policy or rule that has the effect of prohibiting any person in lawful possession of a handgun license or any person in lawful possession of a firearm, machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles from possession of a firearm, machete, blackjack, loaded cane, hand chain or metal knuckles in places described in paragraphs 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. Nothing contained in any provision of this subsection shall be construed to limit the authority of any college, university or technology center school in this state from taking administrative action against any student for any violation of any provision of this subsection.
H. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any peace officer or to any of the following:
1. Any peace officer or any person authorized by law to carry a pistol firearm in the course of employment;
2. District judges, associate district judges and special district judges, who are in possession of a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act and whose names appear on a list maintained by the Administrative Director of the Courts, when acting in the course and scope of employment within the courthouses of this state; ENR. H. B. NO. 2010 Page 6
3. Private investigators with a firearms authorization when acting in the course and scope of employment;
4. Elected officials of a county, who are in possession of a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, may carry a concealed handgun when acting in the performance of their duties within the courthouses of the county in which he or she was elected. The provisions of this paragraph shall not allow the elected county official to carry the handgun into a courtroom;
5. The sheriff of any county may authorize certain employees of the county, who possess a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, to carry a concealed handgun when acting in the course and scope of employment within the courthouses in the county in which the person is employed. Nothing in the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act shall prohibit the sheriff from requiring additional instruction or training before receiving authorization to carry a concealed handgun within the courthouse. The provisions of this paragraph and of paragraph 6 of this subsection shall not allow the county employee to carry the handgun into a courtroom, sheriff's office, adult or juvenile jail or any other prisoner detention area; and
6. The board of county commissioners of any county may authorize certain employees of the county, who possess a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, to carry a concealed handgun when acting in the course and scope of employment on county annex facilities or grounds surrounding the county courthouse.
I. For the purposes of this section, "motor vehicle" means any automobile, truck, minivan or, sports utility vehicle or motorcycle as such term is defined in Section 1-135 of Title 47 of the Oklahoma Statutes, equipped with a locked accessory container within or affixed to the motorcycle.
2019, HB 2010, c. 235, § 1,
21 O.S 1272.1 - Carrying Firearms Where Liquor Is Consumed.
(A) It shall be unlawful for any person to carry or possess any weapon designated in Section 1272 of this title in any establishment where low-point beer, as defined by Section 163.2 of Title 37 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or alcoholic beverages, as defined by Section 506 of Title 37 of the Oklahoma Statutes, are consumed. This provision shall not apply to a peace officer, as defined in Section 99 of this title, or to private investigators with a firearms authorization when acting in the scope and course of employment, and shall not apply to an owner or proprietor of the establishment having a pistol, rifle, or shotgun on the premises. Provided however, a person possessing a valid handgun license pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act may carry the concealed or unconcealed handgun into any restaurant or other establishment licensed to dispense low-point beer or alcoholic beverages where the sale of low-point beer or alcoholic beverages does not constitute the primary purpose of the business.
Laws 2012, SB 1733, c. 259, § 2
21 O.S 1289.13. - Transporting a Loaded Firearm
Except as otherwise provided by law, it shall be unlawful to transport a loaded rifle or shotgun in a landborne motor vehicle over a public highway or roadway unless the rifle or shotgun is transported clip- or magazineloaded, not chamber-loaded, and in an exterior locked compartment of the vehicle or trunk of the vehicle or in the interior compartment of the vehicle.
Any person convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished as provided in Section 1289.15 of this title.
Any person who is the operator of a vehicle or is a passenger in any vehicle wherein another person who is licensed pursuant to the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act to carry a handgun, concealed or unconcealed, and has a rifle or shotgun in such vehicle shall not be deemed in violation of the provisions of this section provided the licensee is in or near the vehicle.
Laws 2019, HB 2597, c. 1, § 6,
21 O.S 1290.6. - Prohibited Ammunition
Any concealed or unconcealed handgun when carried in a manner authorized by the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act and when loaded with any ammunition which is either a restricted bullet as defined by Section 1289.19 of this title or is larger than .45 caliber or is otherwise prohibited by law shall be deemed a prohibited weapon for purposes of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be punished for a criminal offense as provided by Section 1272 of this title or any other applicable provision of law. In addition to any criminal prosecution for a violation of the provisions of this section, the licensee shall be subject to an administrative fine of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), upon a hearing and determination by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation that the person is in violation of the provisions of this section.
2012, SB 1733, c. 259, § 27