It is important to note that gun laws in Utah are highly liberal. Moreover, getting a gun-carrying license isn’t very difficult considering the ‘Shall-Issue’ policy in existence. In the subsequent sections, we shall take a look at the gun laws and regulations in this South Western county while also understanding a bit more about concealed gun carrying in the state.
The first thing about gun licensing in Utah is that the Bureau of Criminal Identification issues the licenses. Moreover, this state willingly issues gun-carrying permits to both residents and non- residents. There is a 21-year-old lower age limit for a person willing to get a permanent gun-carrying license in Utah. However, anyone between 18 and 21 can avail of a provisional license. Moreover, for a permanent license, it is necessary to undergo firearms training. Another critical factor is that open carry of an unloaded firearm is possible in Utah, courtesy of the lax and flexible gun laws. Moreover, the person who applies for a gun-carrying license must showcase a good character. He or she shouldn’t have any form of criminal history, and the person must show a gun familiarity license.
Based on the recent facts and figures, 36 states honor the CCW permit issued in Utah. However, only 6 out of the 36 respects the Utah Residential permit. Most importantly, Utah honors 53 states and their existing gun laws under the reciprocity law. At present, almost 11 percent of the Utah population has a valid permit, which is quite an optimistic figure.
Utah CCW Process
Following are the Handgun Requirements
- The applicant must be at least 18 years of age during the time of applying.
- Must be a resident of the state for a minimum period of 30 days.
- Must be a citizen or legal resident of the US.
- Must not be convicted of any type of charges in the recent 5 years
- Must not be habituated to any form of drugs
- Must be mentally competent at the time of applying.
- Has no history of violence
- Must not have violated any Federal Law requirements.
- Must not be a convict of any felony or mischarges in recent years.
- Must not be mentally ill or unstable during the time of application.
Handgun Application Process
Any individual who is eligible based on the requirements listed above can follow the application process.
Documents to be accompanied with the application form:
- A copy of your state-issued Driver's License
- One recent passport size colour photograph.
- If you are a non-resident, you may have to produce a proof of address.
- Fingerprint Card.
- If you were born outside of the U.S. you must include your Alien Registration Number or INS Registration Number on your application and fingerprint card, or include a copy of your U.S. issued born abroad birth certificate.
- WEAPON FAMILIARITY CERTIFICATION
If applying via mail, kindly send the application along with all required documentation in a 9 x 12 envelope. Upon the submission of the complete application package, applications will be reviewed and the process may take up to 60 days.
Address to send mail:
Bureau of Criminal Identification
3888 West 5400 South
Salt Lake City, Utah 84129
Renewal of Permit
The permit can renewed online by uploading a passport size photograph. For any assistance required, please call 877-988-3468.
You may obtain a provisional permit until the renewal process is complete. To renew the permit, you may legally have to view a short video on firearm suicide prevention.
- Download the print the renewal application.
- Fill-in all the required information as per indication and ensure to furnish valid details.
- Attach one recent passport size photo with white background along with the application.
- Along with the application submit Utah state permit or resident's permit.
- Make the payment and attach the receipt.
After verification, the permit will be renewed and issued.
The licensing fees to apply for a concealed handgun permit is USD 53.25 for Utah residents and for non-residents, the fee is USD 63.25.
USD 20.00 fee for Utah residents or USD 25.00 fee for out of state residents and USD 7.50 late fee if the permit is more than 30 days expired
The Bureau accepts cash, check money order, VISA, MASTERCARD, AMERICAN EXPRESS and DISCOVER. Credit card payment must include the 3 or 4 digit control number on
the back of the card.
Utah CCW Basics
Must Notify Officer
NO – MUST INFORM OFFICER
As per Utah Gun laws you need not inform the law enforcement officials when approached for an enquiry regarding the possession of a firearm. But it is a must to carry the firearm permit along with you all times if you are carrying the firearm with you. It is a right to possess a firearm with an appropriate permit.
It is always recommended to inform the officials regarding the firearm possession.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
Individuals can carry weapons for personal defence purposes. However, when a “No Firearm” sign is displayed, it does not have the force of law, but when it is over any property which purposefully indicates that it is a state law and it is an offence to carry firearms
As per Utah gun laws, any individual possessing a "Utah WEAPON LICENSE" can legally carry weapons and firearms openly in hand, vehicle or to the place of work.
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT
Utah gun laws permit any individual with a valid permit to carry the firearm in the vehicle. If it is a long gun, it is a must to unload the gun and keep them visible in the vehicle, while in case of short guns, they must be unloaded and enclosed inside a case.
YES/NO – WITHOUT A PERMIT
Open carry is legal in the state of Utah. You may carry a weapon, with or without carrying a permit anywhere. But it must be in an unloaded state. Any individual above the age of 18 years of age can open carry a weapon.
Utah Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
The state of Utah does not require any permit or license to purchase a handgun, rifle or shotgun. Firearms dealers must subject all potential buyers to a criminal history background check that shall be facilitated and judged by the Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification. The buyer shall incur a fee of $7.50 (USD) which shall be paid to the dealer at the time of purchase inquiry to cover the background check cost. This regulation does not apply to holders of a concealed firearms permit given that they present their active permit at the time of purchase.
The state of Utah does not require any permit to possess a handgun, rifle or shotgun; however, it is illegal for certain persons to possess, carry, transport or use any firearm if any that person:
- Is a user or addict of any illegal controlled substance.
- Is currently being charged with, has an outstanding warrant for his or her arrest for or has been convicted of any felony.
- Is currently free by way of parole from a felony or under the restrictions of probation for a felony.
- Willfully possess a deadly weapon and a controlled substance.
- Has been coercively committed to any mental institution or adjudicated as mentally insane or unstable.
- Has been adjudicated delinquent in any of the previous seven years for a crime that would qualify as a felony if the offender had been an adult.
- Has escaped criminal litigation through a plea of insanity or mental incompetence.
- Is a non-legal resident of the United states.
- Has renounced citizenship to the United States.
- Has received a dishonorable discharge from the United States Military.
In the state of Utah it is legal to operate or carry a firearm while under the intoxicating influence of any form of alcohol or other controlled substances regardless of a person’s involvement in hunting practices with or without a permit to carry a concealed firearm. It is also illegal to carry any firearms on the grounds of a school or other institution of learning unless the carrier is a holder of a valid permit to carry a concealed firearm. Possession of a firearm, loaded or otherwise, is permitted on one’s permanent or temporary residence.
Carrying a Firearm
It is illegal in Utah to:
- Carry any dangerous weapon in covert or concealed manner without first obtaining a permit.
- Carry a loaded firearm in any manner on a public street or highway without first obtaining a permit.
Unloaded, securely sealed, and relatively inaccessible firearms are permissible in motor vehicles without a permit. Firearms that may be easily hidden or concealed in one’s residence or place of business are also permissible without a permit.
The Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification will issue a permit to carry a concealed firearm to any eligible citizen within 60 days of receiving a properly completed application. The applicant must be of good character (as defined by the state below) and at least 21 years of age. Good character is evidenced by the following:
- A lack of convictions for alcohol, narcotic or other controlled substance related offenses.
- A lack of convictions for any violent felonies.
- A lack of convictions for any felonies involving domestic violence.
- A lack of convictions for any crime involving moral turpitude.
- No adjudication of mental incompetence or insanity.
- Satisfaction of all requirements relating to firearm purchase and possession according to state and federal law.
Citizens considered to be a danger to themselves or others by way of previous violent acts or tendencies may be denied a permit.All applicants must submit all of the following items:
- a copy of a their valid driver’s license or Utah state ID,
- a passport quality recent color photograph,
- a Weapons Familiarity Certification,
- a set of valid fingerprints, and
- an application and FBI fingerprint combined fee of $60.00 USD for residents and $65.00 for non-residents.
All permits shall be valid throughout the state of Utah for a period of no more and no less than 5 years following the date of permit issuance. Permits may be renewed for another 5 year period given that the permit holder continues to satisfy all original standards of good character and incurs a $15.00 renewal fee.
Any person denied a permit has a right to view, in writing, the general reasons leading to the permit denial. Within 60 days of this denial, an applicant may file a petition for review with the Board of Review.
Regular permit applicants may also apply for a temporary permit from the Department of Public Safety Bureau of Criminal Identification in the event of extraordinary circumstances. All temporary applicants must be able to prove his or her good character to a license authority along with a written statement that adequately explains the urgent necessity of a temporary permit. This temporary permit can be issued only after the proper criminal history check has been completed and shall remain valid for a maximum period of 90 days or until a standard permit is issued. If the circumstances that originally justified the temporary permit are remedied or no longer apply then the permit is no longer valid. Any decision passed by the license authority in regards to temporary permits cannot be appealed.
The state of Utah recognizes permits to carry concealed firearms issued by other states so long as the carrier complies with all Utah firearm laws, as well as the laws of his or her state of residence. Permit holders and other gun owners shall not carry any firearms, concealed or blatant, in any secure area that prohibits carrying of guns or ammunition. These include correctional facilities, parts of airports, mental health institutions, court houses, and institutions of higher learning. These facilities shall provide areas for storage of weapons while visiting the facility. It is illegal to willfully carry a firearm into any private residence or place of worship that has explicitly prohibited the carrying of firearms. Persons traveling through Utah, resident or otherwise, may transport firearms so long as they are unloaded and properly sealed in an opaque case.
Antiques & Replicas
The state of Utah excludes antique firearms from numerous regulations pertaining the purchase, possession and aesthetic altering of normal firearms. Antique firearms are, however, under the same legal scrutiny as standard firearms in matters of possession and concealed carrying.
Established shooting ranges are exempt from local or municipal ordinances regarding noise violations so long as they remain in business with proper facilities.
UTAH CODE ANN. § 47-3-3 (2011)
§ 47-3-3. When nuisance action permitted
(1) Each state agency or political subdivision shall ensure that any of its rules or ordinances that define or prohibit a public nuisance exclude from the definition or prohibition any shooting range that was established, constructed, or operated prior to the implementation of the rule or ordinance regarding public nuisance unless that activity or operation substantially and adversely affects public health or safety.
(2) A person who operates or uses a shooting range in this state is not subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution for noise or noise pollution resulting from the operation or use of the range if:
(a) the range:
(i) was established, constructed, or operated prior to the implementation of any noise ordinances, rules, or regulations; and
(ii) does not substantially and adversely affect public health or safety; or
(b) the range:
(i) is in compliance with any noise control laws, ordinances, rules, or regulations that applied to the range and its operation at the time of establishment, construction, or initial operation of the range; and
(ii) does not substantially and adversely affect public health or safety.
(3) For the purposes of this section, noise generated by a shooting range that is operated in accordance with nationally recognized standards and operating practices is not a public health nuisance.
(4) For any new subdivision development located in whole or in part within 1,000 feet of the boundary of any shooting range that was established, constructed, or operated prior to the development of the subdivision, the owner of the development shall provide on any plat filed with the county recorder the following notice:
“Shooting Range Area
This property is located in the vicinity of an established shooting range. It can be anticipated that customary uses and activities at this shooting range will be conducted now and in the future. The use and enjoyment of this property is expressly conditioned on acceptance of any annoyance or inconvenience which may result from these uses and activities.”
Utah Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Utah's Reciprocity States
States that honor an Utah ccw license
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Utah honors these state ccw licenses
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
States that will not accept a Utah ccw permit
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina
In the state of Utah it is illegal to:
- Discharge a firearm in a Utah State Park, camp site, beach, golf course or other designated recreation area.
- Discharge a firearm across or on a highway or from a vehicle.
- Discharge a firearm within 600 feet of a private residence, agricultural building, or other building without the express written permission of the property or building’s owner.
- Discharge any type of tracer or incendiary ammunition. Military establishments are exempt from this regulation.
- Present or display a firearm in a threatening or aggressive manner that implies violent action against two or more persons. Those acting in clear self-defense are exempt.
- Handle or possess a firearm if you under 18 years of age without the expressed permission or supervision of a parent or guardian. Exempt from this regulation are minors who are using a firearm at a hunting safety course, lawful shooting range, organized and established competition, on private property with the expressed permission of the owner and a parent or guardian, and in the practice of lawful hunting. Transportation to and from any of these events is also exempt.
Any hunter below the age of 14 must be supervised at all times by a responsible adult or parent. Likewise, any person below the age of 14 shall not possess a firearm or other weapon without the vigilant supervision of an adult or parent.
The state of Utah reserves the right and power to regulate all firearm legislation and use. No other entity of in Utah shall perform any regulatory duties unless otherwise specified in approved legislation. Lawful manufacturers, dealers, designers or transporters of firearms may not be sued by the state or any department thereof for a claim pertaining to the actions of a buyer or user of their ammunition or product.
Utah Off Limit Statues
76-10-530 - Trespass with a Firearm in a House of Worship or Private Residence -- Notice -- Penalty
(1) A person, including a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 5, Part 7, Concealed Weapon Act, after notice has been given as provided in Subsection (2) that firearms are prohibited, may not knowingly and intentionally:
(a) transport a firearm into:
(i) a house of worship; or
(ii) a private residence; or
(b) while in possession of a firearm, enter or remain in:
(i) a house of worship; or
(ii) a private residence.
(2) Notice that firearms are prohibited may be given by:
(a) personal communication to the actor by:
(i) the church or organization operating the house of worship;
(ii) the owner, lessee, or person with lawful right of possession of the private residence; or
(iii) a person with authority to act for the person or entity in Subsections (2)(a)(i) and (ii);
(b) posting of signs reasonably likely to come to the attention of persons entering the house of worship or private residence;
(c) announcement, by a person with authority to act for the church or organization operating the house of worship, in a regular congregational meeting in the house of worship;
(d) publication in a bulletin, newsletter, worship program, or similar document generally circulated or available to the members of the congregation regularly meeting in the house of worship; or
(i) in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the house of worship is located or the church or organization operating the house of worship has its principal office in this state; and
(ii) as required in Section 45-1-101.
(3) A church or organization operating a house of worship and giving notice that firearms are prohibited may:
(a) revoke the notice, with or without supersedure, by giving further notice in any manner provided in Subsection (2); and
(b) provide or allow exceptions to the prohibition as the church or organization considers advisable.
(4) (a) (i) Within 30 days of giving or revoking any notice pursuant to Subsection (2)(c), (d), or (e), a church or organization operating a house of worship shall notify the division on a form and in a manner as the division shall prescribe.
(ii) The division shall post on its website a list of the churches and organizations operating houses of worship who have given notice under Subsection (4)(a)(i).
(b) Any notice given pursuant to Subsection (2)(c), (d), or (e) shall remain in effect until revoked or for a period of one year from the date the notice was originally given, whichever occurs first.
(5) Nothing in this section permits an owner who has granted the lawful right of possession to a renter or lessee to restrict the renter or lessee from lawfully possessing a firearm. Amended by Chapter 388, 2009 General Session.
76-8-311.1. Secure areas -- Items prohibited -- Penalty
(1) In addition to the definitions in Section 76-10-501, as used in this section:
(a) "Correctional facility" has the same meaning as defined in Section 76-8-311.3.
(b) "Explosive" has the same meaning as defined for "explosive, chemical, or incendiary device" defined in Section 76-10-306.
(c) "Law enforcement facility" means a facility which is owned, leased, or operated by a law enforcement agency.
(d) "Mental health facility" has the same meaning as defined in Section 62A-15-602.
(e) (i) "Secure area" means any area into which certain persons are restricted from transporting any firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive. (ii) A "secure area" may not include any area normally accessible to the public.
(2) (a) A person in charge of a correctional, law enforcement, or mental health facility may establish secure areas within the facility and may prohibit or control by rule any firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive.
(b) Subsections (2)(a), (3), (4), (5), and (6) apply to higher education secure area hearing rooms referred to in Subsections 53B-3-103(2)(a)(ii) and (b).
(3) At least one notice shall be prominently displayed at each entrance to an area in which a firearm, ammunition, dangerous weapon, or explosive is restricted.
(4) (a) Provisions shall be made to provide a secure weapons storage area so that persons entering the secure area may store their weapons prior to entering the secure area.
(b) The entity operating the facility shall be responsible for weapons while they are stored in the storage area.
(5) It is a defense to any prosecution under this section that the accused, in committing the act made criminal by this section, acted in conformity with the facility's rule or policy established pursuant to this section.
(6) (a) Any person who knowingly or intentionally transports into a secure area of a facility any firearm, ammunition, or dangerous weapon is guilty of a third degree felony.
(b) Any person violates Section 76-10-306 who knowingly or intentionally transports, possesses, distributes, or sells any explosive in a secure area of a facility.
Amend. by Chapter 8, 2002 Special Session 5
76-9-102. - Disorderly conduct
(3) The mere carrying or possession of a holstered or encased firearm, whether visible or concealed, without additional behavior or circumstances that would cause a reasonable person to believe the holstered or encased firearm was carried or possessed with criminal intent, does not constitute a violation of this section.
Nothing in this Subsection (3) may limit or prohibit a law enforcement officer from approaching or engaging any person in a voluntary conversation. Amended by Chapter 245, 2016 General Session