Virginia gun laws are issued on a "Shall Issue" basis. The permit is issued to both residents and non-residents of the state. Applicants will have to be 21 years of age or above to get a permit. There are no specific age restrictions, to buy ammunition, while the permit is required to carry a firearm. The buyer must be a legal citizen of the country or can be a legal alien resident of the state. Multiple states are in agreement, and hence the permit issued by the state can be used in several states. Before any firearm purchase and license issuance, the criminal record history of the applicant is reviewed.
Firearms except machine guns do not require any mandatory registration in the state of Virginia. Gun laws in Virginia, strictly regulate the trade, possession, and usage of firearms lawfully. The state honors permit from all other states that are legally valid. However, they must carry a valid photo identity proof and must produce the same whenever requested for.
Virginia CCW Process
Here are the basic eligibility criteria to obtain a handgun permit:
- The applicant must be a minimum of 21 years of age to apply for a permit or at least 18 years of age to buy a shotgun or rifle
- Must have completed the firearms training recently within 12 months of time.
- Must be a legal resident of the state of Virginia or must be a legal alien resident of the state.
- Must be the legal US resident or citizen.
- Must not be getting benefits due to mental disability
- Shall not be convicted of any charges against any felonies related to drug addiction in the past 5 years.
- Shall not be hospitalized in an asylum or mental treatment-related institutions in the past 5 years.
List of documents required:
Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency
Proof of full SSN
Virginia driver license
Below are the steps to be followed to get a CCW permit:
- Fill out the application form from the website or you can get the application form the nearby county office with correct and valid details.
- Ensure to answer all the questions listed in the application form accurately, as they will be subject to verification and validation.
- You may have to pay the application processing fee payable to the Virginia State Police
- You need to attach a recent passport size photograph along with the application form.
- The applicant needs to undergo a fingerprint verification before submitting the application form.
- National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course needs to completed
- Along with the application form, you may need to attach the below documents:
- Handgun training certification
- A valid photo identification proof
- 2 x 2 inches in width and height
- Taken within the past 6 months.
- Colour or black and white.
Submit the application form either through email or submit in-person at the below address:
Firearms Transaction Center,
Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits,
Criminal Justice Information Services Division,
Department of State Police,
P.O. Box 85141
Richmond, VA 23285-5141.
The handgun renewal application can be downloaded at http://www.vsp.state.va.us/FormsPublications.shtm
Existing permit holders may follow the same steps to renew their permit. The same processing fees and timelines may apply to the renewal process as well. The permit may be renewed from 90 to 180 days prior to the expiration of the existing permit.
Fill the application form with appropriate details along with valid identity proof and submit the application form at the below address:
Firearms Transaction Center
Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permits
Criminal Justice Information Services Division
Department of State Police
P.O. Box 85141
Handgun Application Fee: USD 100 (Non-Resident permit)
Handgun Application Fee: USD 50 (Resident permit)
Virginia CCW Basics
Must Notify Officer
As per Virginia Gun laws, there are no indications that direct an individual to inform the officials when approached for an inquiry regarding the possession of a firearm. But it is a must to carry the firearm permit along with you all times if you are carrying the firearm with you. It is a right to possess a firearm with an appropriate permit. If an officer approaches you and requests you to display the weapon and permit, you may do so.
No Weapon Signs Enforced
When a “No Firearm” sign is displayed, it does not have the force of law, but when it is over any property which purposefully indicates that it is a state law and it is an offence to carry firearms.
YES – WITHOUT A PERMIT
Virginia gun laws permit any individual with a valid permit to carry the firearm in the vehicle. If it is a long gun, it is a must to unload the gun and keep them visible in the vehicle, while in case of short guns; they must be unloaded and enclosed inside a case. The firearm must be safely enclosed inside a glove or compartment to ensure complete safety.
As per Virginia gun laws, any individual possessing a "valid permit" can legally carry weapons and firearms openly in hand, vehicle or to the place of work to ensure self-defense.
Virginia Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
The state of Virginia does not mandate that citizens acquire a permit to purchase or own any rifle, shotgun or handgun. Lawful residents can purchase a firearm from any and all federally licensed firearm dealer, regardless of their location. Residents must incur the $2.00 cost of a criminal history check. This fee is increased to $5.00 for all non-residents.
Potential buyers who are denied their firearm purchase due to a mark or point within their criminal record may review their criminal record and shall be informed of the specific hindrance that prevented them from completing their purchase.
Firearms dealers must withhold any firearms purchased by non-residents for a period of no less than ten days or until the receipt of a state police document of approval.
Persons under the age of 18 may not purchase or otherwise receive firearms. It is unlawful for a seller with a reasonable suspicion that a possible buyer is under 18 to transfer, give or sell a firearm to a minor. Exemptions to this regulation include transfers facilitated by and between family members, any legal transfers pertaining to sport shooting activities, instances of minors carrying firearms on family property or in the family home, safe hunting activities supervised by a responsible adult, and transportation of unloaded firearms during travel to and from a firearms safety class or other activity as permitted above. Minors shall not handle, transport or carry a firearm.
In the state of Virginia it is illegal:
- To enable a minor under the age of 12 to use a firearm without supervision.
- To purchase, possess or carry a firearm given that the person in question has been convicted of a felony, adjudicated as a minor of 14 years or older (who is currently below the age of 29) for any crime that would result in a felony class prosecution in the case of adults, coercively placed in a mental institution, subjected to the restrictions of a protective restraining order pertinent to family abuse, stalking or violence or judged to be legally incompetent.
- To transfer, attempt to transfer or assist in the transfer of any firearm to the possession of any of the prohibited persons listed above.
- To own, carry, sell, transfer or use any semi-automatic shotgun given that the weapon utilizes a spring tension drum magazine with a round capacity of 12 or more.
- To possess, transport or use an assault firearm as an alien or non-citizen lacking a status of permanent residency.
- To transfer or sell any assault firearm to any non-citizen.
Personnel of the United States Military seeking to acquire a firearm may consider their permanent duty post as their residence. At the time of purchase a military personnel may present a written copy of their official orders that establish permanent assignment to a post in Virginia along with a Defense Department photo identification. This shall satisfy all requirements to purchase a firearm.
Carrying a Firearm
The state of Virginia permits the open and blatant carrying of any citizen on their person but strictly prohibits the carrying of concealed firearms.This regulation does not apply to:
- Persons with a concealed weapons permit carrying a loaded handgun in their motor vehicles within reach of an unpermitted citizen.
- Carrying a gun in one’s private residence.
- Enrolled members of an organization dedicated to the purpose of target shooting or practice during transportation to and from organization events, given that the firearm in transport is unloaded and properly sealed.
- Enrolled members of an organization dedicated to the collection or appreciation of rare, unusual or specialized firearms during transportation to and from organization events or exhibitions, given that the firearm in transport is unloaded and properly sealed.
- Transporting a firearm between one’s place of residence and a repair shop, given that the firearm in transport is unloaded and properly sealed.
- Avoiding firearm damage by taking shelter in a vehicle or other building in the event of inclement weather during the practice of lawful hunting.
- Retired officers of any branch of local or state law enforcement who have received consistently positive reviews in the line of duty and maintain proof of consultation may carry a concealed firearm in the same manner as active-duty law enforcement officers. These retired officers must also carry with them proof of their authorization by a chief administrative officer of the branch or agency that they hail from.
Any citizen 21 years of age or older may submit a written application for a permit to carry a concealed handgun to the clerk of the county or city circuit court of the citizens legal residence. This application must be submitted under oath and on a form authorized and distributed by the Supreme Court. A person legally capable of acknowledging oaths, such as a notary, must be present at the submission of the application. Strictly the information required on the Supreme Court’s application form shall be collected. No additional information shall be requested or demanded by the clerk or court. Please note that personnel of the United States Military may apply for a permit to carry a concealed firearm in the city closest to their current site of assignment.
All sensitive information, including the social security number of the applicant, shall be withheld by the court clerk from public distribution and knowledge. Permits shall be issued to all persons who submit a completed application, incur a $50 (USD) fee, are not disqualified based on a review of their criminal record, and receive no objections from a sheriff or police department administrator upon a clerk’s request for applicant approval. This process may be performed by the clerk, without judicial review, given that the applicant provides the necessary form and fee. Upon approval, the court shall issue a permit to carry a concealed firearm within a period of no more than 45 days following the date of proper application filing.
All court clerks are immune from any litigation or legal action pertaining to the approval and issuance or denial of a permit to carry a concealed firearm that was not subject to judicial review. This immunity does not apply to circumstances in which the clerk engaged in blatant and willful or gross negligence in issuing or denying a permit. No person shall use or attempt to use this regulation in an effort to affect or alter the results of any court case, action or hearing that preceded July 1, 2010.
The court clerk shall be immune from suit arising from any acts or omissions relating to the issuance of concealed handgun permits without judicial review unless the clerk was grossly negligent or engaged in willful misconduct. This shall not be construed to limit, withdraw, or overturn any defense or immunity already existing in statutory or common law, or to affect any cause of action accruing prior to July 1, 2010.
In the event that the court fails to issue or deny a permit to carry a concealed firearm within the designated 45 day period then the applicant shall receive a copy of the completed application with a notification of the expiration of this period and a certification form the court clerk for the application’s use as a de facto permit.
Once the court evaluates the permit application an applicant will either be issued the valid permit or, in the case of an application denial, required to forfeit the de facto permit. Any citizen will be disqualified from acquiring a permit to carry a concealed firearm if he or she is:
- Not a legal resident of the United States.
- Or was dishonorably discharged from the United States Military.
- Currently ineligible to purchase, possess or use a firearm.
- The subject of a sworn written statement from a sheriff, police chief or attorney for the Commonwealth that professes a concern, in any of their opinions, that the applicant is likely to endanger the health or lives of the public through malicious or negligent use of a firearm
- The subject of a sworn written statement from any competent and relevant person who holds personal knowledge evidencing the high likelihood of violent or negligent action by the applicant if the applicant where to carry a concealed firearm.
- A convict, in the 3 years prior to the application, of any charge relating to drunkenness or acts of misdemeanor violence.
- A habitual consumer or addict of an alcoholic substance, to the point of motor skill or cognitive judgment hindrance, or illegal controlled substance.
- Currently or was ever coercively committed to an institution of mental health.
At the discretion of the court, proof of an applicant’s competency in the safe handling and usage of firearms may be mandated. The following shall be accepted as proof of firearms competency:
- A copy of any certificate of completion issued by a firearms training or safety course. This course must be offered or certified by the state of Virginia, the NRA or an institute of education such as a university or college.
- A copy of a document, certificate or award that evidences participation in a shooting competition, law enforcement firearms training course or basic firearms training in military service.
- A previously issued permit to carry a concealed firearm or proof of having lawfully possessed a permit in the past.
All permits must include the following information of the applicant:
- Full name
- Date of birth
- Hair color
- Eye color
- Signatures of the issuing judge and permit applicant
- Date of issue
All permits shall be recognized and honored throughout the state of Virginia for a period of no less than 5 years following the date of issuance. Citizens applying for a renewal of a previously approved and issued permit are not required to re-apply in person. They may lawfully submit an application for permit renewal via mail.In the event of a citizen and permit holder changing his or her address of residency, this citizen is required to present his or her valid permit as well as a document or other form of proof establishing a new address of residency. Citizens in compliance with this process shall be issued an updated permit with the correct address of residency by the clerk of the circuit court so long as they incur a fee of no more than $10 (USD).
All permit holders are required to carry their valid permits on their persons at all times when carrying a concealed firearm. At the request of any law enforcement officer, permit holders must offer a valid form of Virginia photo identification and a lawful permit to carry a concealed firearm.
In instances of permit denial, all applicants shall receive notice from the circuit court clerk clearly describing the court justification of the denial. This notice shall include a statement informing the denied applicant of their right to an oral hearing, upon request and within 21 days of the notice. No legal counsel shall be appointed to applicants but they may appoint their own.
A citizen denied a permit may file a petition, within a period of no less than 60 days following the denial notice or, if applicable, the date of an oral court hearing on the matter, to the Court of Appeals for a review of his or her application and denial. Citizens who receive a ruling reversal based on their petition of appeal shall be reimbursed by the Commonwealth for all taxable costs incurred during the course of the appeal.
In the state of Virginia it is illegal to carry or discharge any firearm within 1000 feet of or on the grounds of any elementary, middle or high school with the exception of firearms pertinent to school-sanctioned events or curriculum. Concealed firearms permit holders may carry a firearm onto school property if, and only if they are picking up a child, remain in their cars at all times and keep the gun completely concealed from outside view at all times. Unloaded firearms may also be kept in vehicles on school grounds if they are properly sealed in a locked gun container or vehicle trunk.
It is illegal to consume alcohol on the premises of any club or restaurant that purveys alcoholic beverages while carrying a concealed firearm.
The state of Virginia prohibits the carrying of a concealed firearm in any facility dedicated to worship while any religious meeting or gathering is occurring without sufficient reason to do so.
All lawful concealed handgun licenses or permits issued by another state of these United States shall be recognized and honored by the state of Virginia given that the state that issued the permit upholds laws and regulations sufficiently comparable to those of the state of Virginia, particularly those that would disqualify a person from holding a permit in Virginia, and that the carrier is 21 years of age or older.
Non-residents of the state of Virginia may apply for a non-resident license to carry concealed firearms to an office of the Virginia State. Any non-resident, 21 or older, who meets the standard requirements for a resident permit and submits fingerprints will be approved by the state of Virginia.
A non-resident 21 years of age or older may obtain a non-resident license by applying to the Virginia State Police, successfully meeting the requirements for resident applications and by submitting fingerprints.
Replacement permits may be obtained from the clerk of the circuit court of original issuance so long as the permit holder submits a notarized statement of permit loss or destruction and a fee of no more than $5.00. The replacement permit shall be issued within 10 business days of the holder’s final completion of the permit replacement process and shall expire on the same date as the original permit.
Any person fined $25 by a law enforcement officer for carrying a concealed firearm without a permit may ask the court for a waiver if he or she can present a valid permit that he or she held at the time of the fine.
Antiques & Replicas
The sale of antique firearms by federally licensed gun dealers is exempted from most standard regulations on concealed firearms or possession of firearms given that the antique firearm is not capable of firing, designed or redesigned to fire rim-fire or center-fire ammunition or is capable but only fires ammunition that cannot be found in the ordinary avenues of commercial trade.
The state of Virginia defines a machine gun as any firearm or other weapon that is capable or designed to be capable of firing multiple shots with a single action of the trigger without the need of manual reloading.
Lawful residents of the state of Virginia may purchase, transfer, transport and otherwise possess machine guns, short barrel rifles or shotguns and suppressors if all State and Federal regulations and laws are satisfied and followed. All machine guns shall be registered with the Department of State Police within 24 hours of purchase, transfer or receipt.
It is illegal in the state of Virginia to use or possess a machine gun with the intent of aggression or offensive action. This illegal intent shall be presumed for all machine gun in cases of:
- Possession outside of one’s residence or business.
- Possession by convicts of violent crimes;
- Failure to register any and all machine guns within 24 hours of acquisition.
- Loaded or empty shells being discovered in the general vicinity of one’s property, vehicle or person.
Exempt from this regulation are all machine guns owned with intent of scientific research, study or other purposes and machine guns that do cannot operate and are used as decorations or trophies.
Municipalities and localities of Virginia shall not create legislation that interferes with the operations or existence of lawful shooting ranges provided that these ranges are currently following all relevant noise regulations.
VA. CODE ANN. §15.2-917 (2011)
§ 15.2-917. Applicability to local noise ordinances to certain sports shooting ranges.
A. No local ordinance regulating any noise shall subject a sports shooting range to noise control standards more stringent than those in effect at its effective date. The operation or use of a sports shooting range shall not be enjoined on the basis of noise, nor shall any person by subject to action for nuisance or criminal prosecution in any matter relating to noise resulting from the operation of the range, if the range is in compliance with all ordinances relating to noise in effect at the time construction or operation of the range was approved, or at the time any application was submitted for the construction of operation of the range
B. Any sport shooting range operating or approved for construction within the Commonwealth, which has been condemned through eminent domain proceeding by any condemning entity, and which relocates to another site within the same locality within two years of the final condemnation order, shall not be subjected to any noise control standard more stringent than those in effect at the effective date of such sport shooting range.
C. For the purposes of this section, "sports shooting range" means an area or structure designed for the use of rifles, shotguns, pistols, silhouettes, skeet, trap, black powder, or any other similar sport shooting.For purposes of this section "effective date" means the time of construction or operation of sports shooting range was initially approved, or at the time any application was submitted for the construction of operation of the sports shooting range, whichever is earliest.
Virginia Concealed Carry Reciprocity
Virginia's Reciprocity States
States that honor a Virginia ccw permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Virginia honors these state ccw permits
Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
States that will not accept a Virginia ccw permit
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Washington,
Places that are off-limits
- Private property when prohibited by the owner of the property, or where posted as prohibited
- Place of religious worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held
- School property or school functions (School buses are school property)
- Non-secure areas of airport terminals
- Regional Jail or Juvenile Detention Facility
- Places prohibited by Federal Law
Places that are allowed
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Roadside rest areas
- Places not listed above
In the state of Virginia it is illegal to:
- Discharge a firearm in an occupied building, if it causes the endangerment of the lives of its occupants. This act, committed in malice, is a felony. If committed without malice, this act is still unlawful but the violator is subject to a lesser charge.
- Discharge a firearm in or at a school facility. This act is unequivocally a felony.
- Discharge a firearm in such a way that the path of the bullet crosses a road or highway.
- Discharge a firearm in any public place of gathering, business, celebration or recreation or any public street unless in defense of one’s self or property or the life of another.
- Prepare or deploy a spring gun or firearms-based trap for any purpose.
- Transfer, gift or sell any toy gun capable of firing a projectile by explosive force. This does not include cap guns.
- Alter, erase or doctor, in any way, any of the identifying markings on a firearm including the serial number or manufacturer’s name.
- Engage in any hunting activities while under the heavily intoxicating influence of alcohol or any controlled substance.
In the event of a declaration of a state of emergency, the right of citizens to lawfully carry and transport firearms shall not be altered.
The use or presentation of a firearm in a violent or drug-related felony will result in an additional 3 year penalty for first offenders and 5 years for a repetitive offense that shall be counted as a separate charge from the original offense.
Any person who assists in the acquisition of a firearm for an ineligible party shall be subject to a penalty of 5 years or more in prison.
Hunters who maintain a permit to carry a concealed firearm may lawfully carry a concealed firearm while hunting, given that they also carry their valid permit on their person.
Hunters who lawfully own suppressors may use them to hunt in the state of Virginia.
The state of Virginia reserves the right to bring legal action against any person or entity dealing in any aspect of the manufacture or sale of firearms or ammunition pertaining to negligence, violation of warranty, breach of contract or any other offense in the eyes of the State and the Attorney General. Municipalities and localities are prohibited from pursuing any independent litigation.
Virginia Off Limit Statues
4VAC15-40-120. - Hog Island Wildlife Management Area; Possession of Loaded Gun Prohibited; Exception
It shall be unlawful to have in possession at any time a gun which is not unloaded and cased or dismantled on that portion of the Hog Island Wildlife Management Area bordering on the James River and lying north of the Surry Nuclear Power Plant, except while hunting deer or waterfowl in conformity with a special permit issued by the department. 1994; Volume 11, Issue 9
4VAC15-40-140. - Prohibited on Buggs Island and Certain Waters of the Gaston Reservoir
It shall be unlawful to hunt or have in one's possession a loaded gun on Buggs Island or to shoot over or have a loaded gun upon the water on Gaston Reservoir (Roanoke River) from a point beginning at High Rock and extending to the John H. Kerr Dam. 1994; Volume 11, Issue 9
§ 18.2-308.1. - Possession of firearm, stun weapon, or other weapon on school property prohibited; penalty
A. If any person knowingly possesses any
(i) stun weapon as defined in this section;
(ii) knife, except a pocket knife having a folding metal blade of less than three inches; or
(iii) weapon, including a weapon of like kind, designated in subsection A of § 18.2-308, other than a firearm; upon
(a) the property of any public, private or religious elementary, middle or high school, including buildings and grounds;
(b) that portion of any property open to the public and then exclusively used for school-sponsored functions or extracurricular activities while such functions or activities are taking place; or
(c) any school bus owned or operated by any such school, he shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
B. If any person knowingly possesses any firearm designed or intended to expel a projectile by action of an explosion of a combustible material while such person is upon
(i) any public, private or religious elementary, middle or high school, including buildings and grounds;
(ii) that portion of any property open to the public and then exclusively used for school-sponsored functions or extracurricular activities while such functions or activities are taking place; or
(iii) any school bus owned or operated by any such school, he shall be guilty of a Class 6 felony.
C. If any person knowingly possesses any firearm designed or intended to expel a projectile by action of an explosion of a combustible material within a public, private or religious elementary, middle or high school building and intends to use, or attempts to use, such firearm, or displays such weapon in a threatening manner, such person is guilty of a Class 6 felony and sentenced to a mandatory minimum term of imprisonment of five years to be served consecutively with any other sentence. The exemptions set out in § 18.2-308 shall apply, mutatis mutandis, to the provisions of this section. The provisions of this section shall not apply to
(i) persons who possess such weapon or weapons as a part of the school's curriculum or activities;
(ii) a person possessing a knife customarily used for food preparation or service and using it for such purpose;
(iii) persons who possess such weapon or weapons as a part of any program sponsored or facilitated by either the school or any organization authorized by the school to conduct its programs either on or off the school premises;
(iv) any law-enforcement officer, or retired law-enforcement officer qualified pursuant to subsection C of § 18.2-308.016;
(v) any person who possesses a knife or blade which he uses customarily in his trade;
(vi) a person who possesses an unloaded firearm that is in a closed container, or a knife having a metal blade, in or upon a motor vehicle, or an unloaded shotgun or rifle in a firearms rack in or upon a motor vehicle;
(vii) a person who has a valid concealed handgun permit and possesses a concealed handgun while in a motor vehicle in a parking lot, traffic circle, or other means of vehicular ingress or egress to the school; or
(viii) a school security officer authorized to carry a firearm pursuant to § 22.1-280.2:1; or
(ix) an armed security officer, licensed pursuant to Article 4 (§ 9.1-138 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1, hired by a private or religious school for the protection of students and employees as authorized by such school. For the purposes of this paragraph, "weapon" includes a knife having a metal blade of three inches or longer and "closed container" includes a locked vehicle trunk.
For the purposes of this paragraph, "weapon" includes a knife having a metal blade of three inches or longer and "closed container" includes a locked vehicle trunk.As used in this section:"Stun weapon" means any device that emits a momentary or pulsed output, which is electrical, audible,optical or electromagnetic in nature and which is designed to temporarily incapacitate a person. 2015, c. 289; 2016, c. 257; 2017, c. 311. Carry On College/Universities in Virginia The VA AG Opinion states: It is my opinion that the safe operation of the campus allows regulation of, or under limited circumstances, prohibition of, firearms by any persons attending events on campus, visiting dormitories or classroom buildings, attending specific events as invitees, or under any circumstance permitted by law. The universal prohibition of firearms by properly permitted persons other than students, faculty, administration, or employees, however, is not allowed under law. A board of visitors has responsibility for the protection of the students enrolled at their university. At the same time, the rights guaranteed by the Second Amendment of the Constitution of the United States14 and by Article I, § 13, of
the Constitution of Virginia,15 which protect all citizens, may not be summarily dismissed for transient reasons.
It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or transport into any air carrier airport terminal in the Commonwealth any
(i) gun or other weapon designed or intended to propel a missile or projectile of any kind,
(ii) frame, receiver, muffler, silencer, missile, projectile or ammunition designed for use with a dangerous weapon, and
(iii) any other dangerous weapon, including explosives, stun weapons as defined in § 18.2-308.1, and those weapons specified in subsection A of § 18.2-308. Any such weapon shall be subject to seizure by a law-enforcement officer. A violation of this section is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any weapon possessed or transported in violation of this section shall be forfeited to the
Commonwealth and disposed of as provided in § 19.2-386.28.
2013, c. 746; 2016, c. 257.
4VAC15-270-40. - Shooting or Carrying Rifle or Pistol Over Public Inland Waters
It shall be unlawful to shoot a rifle or pistol at wild birds or animals on or over the public inland waters of this Commonwealth; provided, however that licensed trappers may shoot a .22 caliber rimfire rifle or pistol on or over public inland waters for the purpose of dispatching a trapped animal. It shall be unlawful to carry a loaded rifle or pistol on a boat or other floating device on the public inland waters for the purpose of hunting wild birds and wild animals; provided, however, that unloaded rifles or pistols may be transported by
boat from one point to another. Nothing in this regulation applies to department personnel conducting wildlife management activities on the public waters of the Commonwealth
§ 4; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 6, eff. July 1, 2008.
Firearms on Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA Property)
TVA campgrounds may receive use by hunters during hunting season. While firearms and weapons are generally prohibited, possession of firearms and other weapons associated with inseason hunting excursions are permissible if they are unloaded and properly cased. Possession of firearms at TVA public ramps, associated roads, and parking areas are allowed if the possession complies with
the law of the state where the boat ramp is located and is not otherwise prohibited by law.