Purchasing and carrying a firearm in the state of Mississippi is not as scrupulous as other states. Being a state that follows a Constitutional carry policy, you can purchase or carry a gun without the need to apply for a license or permit. Whether you bring your pistol in your person or you keep it in your vehicle when you go around the state, a permit is not necessary.
However, the United States has a concept called reciprocity. The reciprocity policy makes it easier for gun owners to move from one state to another without the need to apply for a gun permit in the state that they are visiting. In general, all states that have similar and reciprocal gun laws honor the licenses and permits issued by each other. So for reciprocity reasons, two types of gun licenses that are still available in the state of Mississippi. The first is the standard firearms permit, and the other one is an enhanced version that allows licensees to carry their firearms in more locations.
If you want to know more about the gun laws implemented in the state of Mississippi, this guide is for you. Here’s everything you need to know:
Mississippi CCW Handgun License
The following are the basic requirements in applying for a Mississippi Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and Enhanced Standard Firearms Permit (E-SFP). The applicant must:
- Be at least 21 years of age or 18 if a member of the military;
- Have been a resident of the state for more than 12 months;
- Not have been convicted of a felony without having been pardoned;
- Not be suffering from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a handgun;
- Have no violent misdemeanor convictions within the last three years;
- Not have been adjudicated mentally incompetent or must wait five years from the date of his or her restoration of mental capacity by court order;
- Not have been committed to a mental institution or mental health treatment facility, unless he or she possesses a certificate from a psychiatrist licensed in Mississippi stating that he or she has not suffered from the disability for a period of 5 years;
- Not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that his or her rational faculties are impaired;
- Not be a fugitive from justice;
- Not have had an adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless three years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled; and
- Meet federal law requirements.
Please note that the residency requirements can be waived if the applicant:
- possesses a valid permit from another state;
- is on active military duty and stationed in the state;
- is a retired law enforcement officer residing in the state.
Aside from the state-mandated requirements, all applicants must also be compliant with Federal gun laws. The following are prohibited from obtaining or possessing a gun permit:
- Fugitives from justice
- Persons who are unlawful users of or are addicted to narcotics or any other controlled substances (including medical marijuana, see below)
- Persons adjudicated as a mental defective or who have been committed to a mental institution
- Persons who have been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year
- Persons who are under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year
- Military veterans discharged under dishonorable conditions
- Persons who have renounced U.S. citizenship
- Aliens illegally in the U.S.
- Persons subject to a court order that restrains them from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner or child of such intimate partner
- And persons convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence
Non-Resident Concealed Carry Permit Requirements
Non-residents can also apply for a standard permit from the state of Mississippi provided that they qualify in one of the following criteria:
- The applicant must have a valid license from another state
- The applicant must be active duty member of the military stationed in Mississippi or be a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in the state
- If the applicant is a member of the army between the ages of 18 and 21, he/she must have a valid Mississippi driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety.
Please note that the enhanced license is exclusively available to residents of Mississippi who have domiciled within the state for more than 12 months before the application of the permit.
To obtain a valid Mississippi Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and Enhanced Standard Firearms Permit (E-SFP), you need to follow the complete process as indicated in the table below:
Download the application.
Complete the application and have it notarized.
Take the notarized application to the Department of Public Safety or a Highway Patrol substation. You will also need:
Your fingerprints will be taken.
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
A person holding a Mississippi Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and Enhanced Standard Firearms Permit (E-SFP) can renew his/her license on or before the expiration date. Renewal packages are mailed out 90 days before a permit’s expiration date.
A license holder must renew his/her license within the deadline as mentioned earlier by filing with the department the renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the licensee remains qualified. If the deadline has passed and the license has expired, you still have up to six (6) months to renew your license; otherwise, it will be tagged as permanently expired. A late fee of $15 will be charged from license renewals after the expiration of the license.
Here’s the process of renewing your Mississippi gun permit:
Download the application.
Complete the application and have it notarized.
Take the notarized application to the Department of Public Safety or a Highway Patrol substation. You will also need:
Renewals may be mailed in for the first renewal and then every other time of renewal. The applicant must appear in person every 10 years for the purpose of obtaining a new photograph and fingerprint.
You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
The following are the fees for applying for a license in Mississippi:
Application (Five yrs. validity)
Renewal (Four yrs. validity)
Renewal (65+ yrs. Old, four yrs. validity)
Mississipi Concealed Carry Laws
YES - WITHOUT A LICENSE
As long as the firearm is in a sheath, belt holster or shoulder holster or in a purse, handbag, satchel, other similar bag or briefcase or is fully enclosed case, a permit is not required for a loaded or unloaded handgun to be carried inside are car or any vehicle.
Must Notify Officer
NO - MUST INFORM OFFICER
The Mississippi law is silent about informing a law enforcement officer if you have a firearm when approached on official business. However, you must carry the permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
The Law: 45.9.101
YES - WITHOUT A LICENSE
You can carry your gun openly without a permit as long as you carry it outside the places listed off as “Off-Limits.”
No Weapons Allowed signs enforced?
Non Enhanced permit - YES|
Enhanced permit - YES/NO?
There is unclear legislation regarding this and it is best to consult the Attorney General's website.
No permits are required to carry a firearm in Mississippi making it a constitutional carry state.
Mississippi Gun Forms & Supporting Documentation
Purchase and Possession
A permit from the state of Mississippi is not required to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun.
No individual may knowingly give, sell, or lend any firearm or pistol cartridge to a minor, or any person who is under the influence of alcohol.
A permit from the state is not required to possess any rifle, shotgun, or handgun. It is illegal for a convicted felon to possess a firearm unless he/she has been pardoned for the offense or received under federal law, relief from disability or a certificate of rehabilitation. A certificate of rehabilitation may be granted by the same court that originally convicted an individual of a felony if it is proven that he/she has led a productive life in the time since the sentence has been completed and will not likely be a danger to the public.
Carrying a Firearm
It is illegal to carry any pistol, revolver or rifle concealed (whether partially or not) with a barrel shorter than 16 inches long, any shotgun with a barrel less than 18 inches long, or any silencing device, machine gun, or fully automatic weapon.
It is permissible for an individual 18 years and over to carry a concealed firearm inside his/her residence, place of business, motor vehicle, or any real property owned that is connected with his/her home or workplace. It is further legal for an individual to carry concealed while engaged in a shooting sport that is legitimate, or while traveling to or from such an event or activity, or while in possession of a license to carry concealed from the Department of Public Safety.
An individual who has been indicted or charged with the crime of carrying a concealed firearm may provide the courts a legitimate defense under the following circumstances:
That he/she felt threatened and had sufficient reason to defend himself/herself from a serious attack;
That he/she was travelling or preparing to journey, and not a vagrant;
That he/she was engaged in duty as a peace officer or law enforcement officer;
That he/she was carrying concealed in the course of his/her duties as a mail carrier;
- That he/she was engaged in the transport of valuables for a bank or courier company;
- That he/she was engaged in their lawful duties as a guard or patrolman in a state or municipal institution, or a member of the Emergency Management Corps, United States armed forces, State Militia, or National Guard.
- That he/she was in pursuit of an individual believed to have committed a felony; or
- That he/she was carrying concealed while participating in a legitimate sport.
It is the full responsibility of the accused to carry concealed firearms within these exceptions.
A license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver shall be issued by the Department of Public Safety to any individual who is at least 21 years of age and has been a resident of Mississippi for the previous 12 months, or to an individual possessing a valid license from another state, or a person who is retired from law enforcement and now resides in the state, is a member of the United States armed forces on active duty, and does not have any physical condition that prohibits the safe use of a handgun, and does not abuse any drug or alcohol, has not been convicted of a felony, or is not a fugitive from justice, or has not suffered from any mental illness, or has no misdemeanor convictions for violent offenses in the past three years, and is not restricted from possessing a firearm under federal law.
A $100 licensing fee, full-face photograph, set of fingerprints, and fingerprinting fee must be submitted to obtain a license. The license shall be valid for a period of five years and will be issued to the applicant within 45 days of application.
The fee for renewal of a license is $50, and $25 (for individuals 65 and older), in addition to a charge for fingerprinting.
The renewal may be processed by mail the first time; however, the following renewal must be in person. Renewals thereafter may be made by mail, except for those that occur every 10 years. This ensures that the licensee appears for purposes of updating his/her photograph.
A valid license to carry a concealed pistol or revolver that has been issued from another state shall be recognized if that state has reciprocity with Mississippi (for carrying purposes). This condition of reciprocity must be communicated to the Department of Public Safety.
No licensee may carry a handgun into any courthouse, polling place, detention center, meeting of any government body, public park, school, college, athletic event or contest that is professional, or a demonstration or parade, place of worship, any location or area where it is specifically posted, “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited”, or any place where it is not permitted according to federal law. It is further illegal to carry a firearm into any place licensed to dispense alcohol for consumption on the premises, or into any passenger terminal of an airport, unless the firearm is prepared and encased for shipment.
Any fish and game law enforcement officer, Attorney General, State Fire Marshall, or Deputy Fire Marshall employed by the State Fire Marshall, shall have the right to carry a concealed firearm1 while in the course of their duties.
It is illegal for a parent, legal guardian, or custodian of a minor less than 18 years of age to allow that minor to possess, own or carry a weapon that is prohibited from concealed carry.
Antiques & Replicas
Mississippi does not post laws that regulate antique firearms or replicas of firearms. In this way, they are treated as regular firearms.
It is legal to possess a registered machine gun if it is in compliance with federal and state regulations.
A person who operates or uses a sport-shooting range in this state is not subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution for noise or noise pollution...
MISS. CODE ANN. § 95-13-1. Sport-shooting ranges; noise pollution; objections to location; hearing procedures
(1) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires:
(a) “Local unit of government” means a county, municipality or other entity of local government;
(b) “Person” means an individual, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club, or other legal entity; and
(c) “Sport-shooting range” or “range” means an area designed and operated for the use of rifles, shotguns, pistols, silhouettes, skeet, trap, black powder or any other similar sport shooting which complies with the provisions of subsection (3) of this section.
(2)(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, a person who operates or uses a sport-shooting range in this state is not subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution for noise or noise pollution resulting from the operation or use of the range if the range is in compliance with all noise control laws, resolutions, ordinances or regulations, issued by a local unit of government, that applied to the range and its operation at the time the range was constructed and began operation.
(b) A person who operates or uses a sport-shooting range is not subject to an action for nuisance, and a court of the state shall not enjoin the use or operation of a range on the basis of noise or noise pollution, if the range is in compliance with all noise control laws, resolutions, ordinances or regulations issued by a unit of local government that applied to the range and its operation at the time the range was constructed and began operation.
(c) A person who subsequently acquires title to or who owns real property adversely affected by the use of property with a permanently located and improved range shall not maintain a nuisance action against the person who owns the range to restrain, enjoin or impede the use of the range where there has not been a substantial change in the nature of the use of the range or by a person using the range.
(d) Rules or regulations adopted by any state department or agency for limiting levels of noise in terms of descried level which may occur in the outdoor atmosphere shall not apply to a sport-shooting range exempted from liability under this section.
(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, nothing in this section shall be construed to limit civil liability except in the limited case of noise pollution.
(3)(a) In order to qualify for the limitation of liability afforded by this act, a sport-shooting range must be located wholly within a tract or parcel of land consisting of not less than three hundred twenty (320) contiguous acres. All persons owning property any part of which lies within one thousand (1,000) yards of any boundary of the sport-shooting range property shall have standing to appear and object to the location of the sport-shooting range at a hearing to be conducted by the Industrial Development Authority Board.
(b) The person seeking to operate the range and secure the limitation of liability afforded by this act shall bear the expense of the hearing and other costs associated therewith.
(c) Actual notice shall be afforded to all persons having standing to object if the identity and addresses of those persons can be determined by examining the property tax records of the county. Actual notice shall be made in writing mailed via first class mail, postage prepaid, not less than thirty (30) days prior to the date set for the hearing.
(d) Publication shall be made in a newspaper of general circulation in the county once a week for three (3) weeks, the first such publication to be made not less than thirty (30) days prior to the date of the hearing.
(e) Claims of persons who do not appear and object shall be barred as provided in this act.
(f) Notwithstanding any provision of this act to the contrary, the cause of action of any person owning property in the vicinity of the proposed range and having standing to object prior to the time of the hearing shall not be barred by the provisions of this act provided the property owner registers his complaint with the board at or before the hearing.
(4) The provisions of this section shall apply only in a county bordering the State of Tennessee wherein U.S. Highway 78 intersects State Highway 7 and in a county where U.S. Highway 61 and State Highway 4 intersect.
Mississippi Concealed Carry Reciprocity
While Mississippi adopts a constitutional carry policy, licenses are still issued for the purpose of reciprocity. That means that the license issued by the state can be used in other states that honor the license.
Mississippi's Reciprocity States
States honoring a Mississippi CCW permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
CCW permits Mississippi honors
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
States not honoring a Mississippi permit
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington.
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia
Off Limit Sites
- The court and its premises
- Any law enforcement station, which includes the Police, Sheriff, and highway patrol
- Any detention facility, prison, or jail
- Polling areas
- During a meeting of a government or legislative body
- All schools in all levels
- School, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms
- Religious properties, churches, and places of worship
- Private properties with a NO GUN sign
- Establishments selling alcoholic beverages for consumption within the premises
- The passenger terminal of any airport, except if the firearm is encased for shipment
- Other places prohibited by the Federal Law
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
It is illegal for a person who is not specifically authorized by federal law to possess, make, manufacture, or sell any armor piercing ammunition, or silencer or muffling device “as defined in federal law".
In general, no local government may regulate or restrict the possession, sale, transfer, or ownership of any firearm, ammunition, or parts thereof. Further, local government may not regulate the discharge of any shotgun, BB gun, air gun, or bow and arrow on a parcel of land over 10 acres, or the discharge of a rimfire or center-fire rifle, pistol, revolver, or muzzleloader on parcels greater than 50 acres in size.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long would it take to process a license application?
It would take up to 45 days to process a license application. For renewals, the new license will be mailed within 90 days before the license’s expiration date.
Where do I apply for a gun permit?
You can apply at the nearest Highway Patrol Station in your area.
Do I need to be fingerprinted every time I renew my permit?
Not necessarily. You will be fingerprinted every other renewal or once every ten years.
What do I need to do if I change my address?
You need to notify the Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the address change. Mail the notification to the following address:
Firearm Permit Unit,
P.O. Box 958,
Jackson, MS, 39205-0958.
Please include your permit number, name, and new and old address.
What do I do if my permit is lost?
Report the loss of your permit to the Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the incident. You will need to download the Lost or Stolen Affidavit form, fill it up, and mail it to the address above. Not that the statement must be notarized. You can obtain your duplicate permit at the DPS headquarters and substations for a $15 fee.
How long is an enhanced endorsement valid?
Once the permit has an enhanced endorsement, it is valid indefinitely. Nonetheless, you need to renew it every five years.
Can I transport my handgun through Mississippi?
How long is a security guard permit valid?
Security guard permits are valid for four years and cost $132.
Mississippi Off Limit Statues
§ 45-9-101 - License to carry stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver
- Any police, sheriff or highway patrol station: any detention facility, prison or jail.
- Any courthouse; any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a judge from carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in his courtroom;
- Any polling place; any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity; any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof.
- Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms;
- Any portion of an establishment, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, that is primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages; any portion of an establishment in which beer or light wine is consumed on the premises, that is primarily devoted to such purpose;
- Any elementary or secondary school facility; any junior college, community college, college or university facility unless for the purpose of participating in any authorized firearms-related activity;
- Inside the passenger terminal of any airport, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal if the firearm is encased for shipment ,for purposes of checking such firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft;
- Any church or other place of worship;
- Or any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.
- In addition to the places enumerated in this subsection, the carrying of a concealed pistol or revolver may be disallowed in anyplace in the discretion of the person or entity exercising control over the physical location of such place by the placing of a written notice clearly readable at a distance of not less than ten (10) feet that the "carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited."
- No license issued pursuant to this section shall authorize the participants in a parade or demonstration for which a permit is required to carry a concealed pistol or revolver Laws, 2016, ch. 421, § 2,
§ 97-37-17 - Possession of weapons by students; aiding or encouraging
(6) It shall not be a violation of this section for any person to possess or carry, whether openly or concealed, any gun, rifle, pistol or other firearm of any kind on educational property if:
(a) The person is not a student attending school on any educational property;
(b) The firearm is within a motor vehicle; and
(c) The person does not brandish, exhibit or display the firearm in any careless, angry or threatening manner.
Mississippi Attorney General Jim Hood put out “An Opinion” on December 5, 2013, written to the City of Corinth, which outlines the following places where the Mississippi statutes authorize a person with an enhanced permit to carry regardless of signage posted by a state governmental entity:
1. Any polling place. – (Other than the Section 45-9-101(13) prohibiting regular permit holders from carrying in polling places, Mississippi Code Sections 23-15-895 (relating to armed candidates) and 97-13-29 (military officer keeping armed troops within one mile of an election) are the only other state law restrictions regarding firearms in polling places.)
2. Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity. – (It is the opinion of this office that the phrase meeting place means the room in which a meeting transpires as opposed to the entire building. Thus, although an enhanced permit holder would be entitled to carry a concealed pistol or revolver into a meeting place, that individual would not have unfettered gun carrying access to places within the building that are not generally open to the general public. See MS AG Op. Cantrell (Oct. 1, 2013).
3. Any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof. – (Notwithstanding this language, it is the understanding of this office that the House and the Senate have each passed rules or regulations restricting the right of individuals to carry weapons at meetings of the Legislature or its committees.)
4. Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms. – (This provision authorizes an enhanced permit holder to carry a stun gun, concealed pistol or revolver into non-firearm related events even if signage is posted pursuant to Section 45-9-101(13). However, if signage were posted relating to a firearm related school, college or professional event, enhanced permit holders would not be authorized to carry their weapons.)
5. Any portion of an establishment, licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, that is primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages. -- (This provision would only have applicability to governmental entities to the extent that such entities owned an establishment that was primarily devoted to consuming alcoholic beverages.)
6. Any portion of an establishment in which beer or light wine is consumed on the premises, that is primarily devoted to such purpose. -- (This provision would only have applicability to governmental entities to the extent that such entities owned an establishment that was primarily devoted to consuming beer or light wine.)
7. Any elementary or secondary school facility. – (See MS AG Op. Cantrell (Oct. 1, 2013)).
8. Any junior college, community college, college or university facility.
9. Inside the passenger terminal of any airport. – (Any person may bring a weapon into a passenger terminal if brought in for the purposes of properly lawfully checking or shipping such weapon. An enhanced permit holder could of course still be arrested under federal law for possessing a weapon in areas prohibited by federal law.)
10. Any church or other place of worship. (Practically speaking this provision would not apply to public entities who do not own or control places of worship. This provision has little practical value because private land owners can generally always allow or disallow anyone from carrying a weapon on their private property regardless of whether the state has granted a license. – See MS AG Op. Cantrell (Oct. 1, 2013)).
11. Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law. – (This provision can only be read to mean that an enhanced permit holder carrying a weapon on prohibited federal property would not be subject to prosecution for state law violations. The federal government certainly could and probably would prosecute anyone bringing a weapon into an unauthorized area regardless of the person’s possession of a state permit.).
12. In a parade or demonstration for which a permit is required.
13. In courthouses except in courtrooms during a judicial proceeding. -- (The right to carry in courthouses except in courtrooms during judicial proceedings is granted to enhanced permit holders expressly by Section 97-37-7 without reference to Section 45-9-101(13). Section 45-9-101(13) states that regular permit holders may not carry in “courthouses” or “courtrooms” with the caveat that nothing contained therein precludes a judge from determining who “will” carry a weapon “in his courtroom.” Presumably under this authority, a
judge has authority to determine who will, who can and who cannot carry a weapon in his courtroom. However, the governing authority of the jurisdiction, whether municipal or county could restrict a regular permit holder from initial entry into the courthouse, as opposed to the courtroom, by posting a sign. However, such signage could not prevent an enhanced permit holder from entry into the courthouse. Under no interpretation of the law would either a regular or enhanced permit holder be authorized to carry a firearm
into a courtroom during a judicial proceeding unless authorized by the judge. Likewise, as noted above, an individual would not have unfettered gun carrying access to places within the building that are not generally open to the general public. (See Mississippi Supreme Court Ruling on 6/7/18 that allows Enhanced Permits Holders to carry in court houses not in courtrooms.)
This opinion does not affect the rights of property owners or custodians as follows:
1. Private landowners may post signs or otherwise prevent carrying of onto weapons onto their private
2. State or local governmental entities may prohibit concealed carry by enhanced permit holders into areas posted with no weapons signage if the place is not one of the 13 enumerated places above.
3. Federal installations and buildings can prohibit the carrying of weapons regardless of these state statutes. The opinion likewise points out that an enhanced permit holder who carries a weapon onto property in a place not listed in the 13 places above in violation of a posted sign could be charged for criminal trespass The following list identifies places which by statute you cannot carry regardless of the type of permit you have:
1. Any place of nuisance defined in Section 95-3-1 which would include “any place . . . in or upon which lewdness, assignation or prostitution is conducted, permitted, continued or exists or any other place . . . or upon which a controlled substance as defined in section 41-29-105 . . . is unlawfully used, possessed, sold or delivered and the personal property and contents used in conducting or maintaining any such place for any such purpose. See Miss. Code Ann. Section 95-3-1 (as amended).
2. Any police, sheriff or highway patrol station.
3. Any detention facility, prison or jail
45-9-51. - Prohibition Against Adoption of Certain Ordinances
2) No public housing authority operating in this state may adopt any rule or regulation restricting a lessee or tenant of a dwelling owned and operated by such public housing authority from lawfully possessing firearms or ammunition or their components within individual dwelling units or the transportation of such firearms or ammunition or their components to and from such dwelling.
Laws, 2014, ch. 443, § 3
§ 45-9-53 - Exceptions; Procedure for Challenging Ordinances; County or Municipal Programs to Purchase Weapons From Citizens.
(1) This section and Section 45-9-51 do not affect the authority that a county or municipality may have under another law:
(4) No county or a municipality may use the written notice provisions of Section 45-9-101(13) to prohibit firearms on property under their control except:
(a) At a location listed in Section 45-9-101(13) indicating that a license issued under Section 45-9-101 does not authorize the holder to carry a firearm into that location, as long as the sign also indicates that carrying a firearm is unauthorized only for license holders without a training endorsement or that it is a location included in Section 310 97-37-7(2) where carrying a firearm is unauthorized for all license holders; and
(b) At any location under the control of the county or municipality aside from a location listed in subsection (1)(f) of this section or Section 45-9-101(13) indicating that the possession of a firearm is prohibited on the premises, as long as the sign also indicates that it does not apply to a person properly licensed under Section 45-9-101 or Section 97-37-7(2) to carry a concealed firearm or to a person lawfully carrying a firearm that is not concealed.
(f) To regulate the carrying of a firearm at: (i) a public park or at a public meeting of a county, municipality or other governmental body; (ii) a political rally, parade or official political meeting; or (iii) a nonfirearm-related school, college or professional athletic event;
(5) (a) A citizen of this state, or a person licensed to carry a concealed pistol or revolver under Section 45-9-101, or a person licensed to carry a concealed pistol or revolver with the endorsement under Section 97-37-7,who is adversely affected by an ordinance or posted written notice adopted by a county or municipality in violation of this section may file suit for declarative and injunctive relief against a county or municipality in the circuit court which shall have jurisdiction over the county or municipality where the violation of this
Laws, 2015, ch. 433, § 4