Indiana is a shall-issue permit with the State Police as the issuing body. The State does not require licenses in purchasing a handgun, including registration. Any person at least 18-years-old and a resident of Indiana or neighboring states are allowed to buy long guns. Meanwhile, for handguns, the participant must be 21-years-old and a resident of Indiana to be allowed to purchase. 

Open and concealed carry are only allowed if the participant has a license to carry. In applying for a permit, the minimum requirements are proof of residency or regular place of business/employment and the age limit of 18-years-old. All applicants are not required to undergo a firearms training course to acquire a license. Indiana reciprocity honors all permits from all states and jurisdiction. Hence, for non-residents, a valid concealed carry license from their State of origin is required to be allowed to conceal or open carry.

Processing Your Indiana License To Carry Permit

Minimum Requirements:

  • The applicant must be at least 18-years-old to apply.
  • The applicant is a citizen of the United States;
  • Or a resident of Indiana for a lifetime license (non-residents can get the 4-years license).
  • A "Proper Person" described in IC 35-47-1-7:
    • No conviction for resisting law enforcement under IC 35-44.1-3-1 within five years before the person applies for a license or permit.
    • No conviction for a crime for which the person could have been sentenced for more than one year.
    • No conviction for a crime of domestic violence -- IC 2015 (as defined in IC 35-31.5-2-78), unless a court has restored the person's right to possess a firearm under IC 35-47-4-7.
    • Not prohibited by a court order from possessing a handgun.
    • No alcohol or drug abuse record.
    • Without documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that the person has a propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct.
    • No false statement of material fact on the persons' application.
    • No conviction for a crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun.
    • No conviction for violation of the provisions of this article within five years of the person's application.
    • No adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, if the person applying for a license or permit under this chapter is less than twenty-three years of age.
    • Has not been involuntarily committed, other than a temporary commitment for observation or evaluation, to a mental institution by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority.
    • Has not been the subject of:
      • (A) ninety (90) day commitment as a result of proceeding under IC 12-26-6; or
      • (B) a regular commitment under IC 12-26-7; or
    • Has not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, including being found:
      • (A) not guilty by reason of insanity;
      • (B) guilty but mentally ill; or
      • (C) incompetent to stand trial.

To apply for a License to Carry, please follow these steps:

  • Complete the online license application. NOTE: You have to specify your reason why you require a weapon -- for personal protection or target shooting.
  • Schedule an electronic fingerprinting.
  • Take your application number to your local law enforcement and pay the necessary fees.
  • Your application will be transferred and reviewed by ISP.
  • You will be notified via mail whether your application is approved or denied.


Non-residents are prohibited from obtaining a lifetime license. The license issued for non-residents is valid for four years only.

To renew your License to Carry permit, please follow these steps:

  • Complete a Handgun License Application online via the Indiana State Police's Handgun Licensing Portal.
  • Schedule an appointment to submit your fingerprints electronically.
  • Within 90 days you must visit your law enforcement agency and bing the following:
    • Handgun License Application Number
    • Local Fee
  • All application expires after 90 days of filing. If you failed to accomplish your renewal within that timeframe, do this:
    • Sign in to the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal.
    • Follow the prompts for duplicate/status update.
  • If your application is approved, your permit will be sent via U.S. Mail. If denied, you will be notified via U.S. mail, including the instructions on how to file an appeal.

Here is the summary of all the license fees:

Application Type Validity Local Fee State Fee
Hunting and Target 4 $10/$5 refundable $5
Personal Protection 4 $10/$5 refundable $30
Hunting and Target
(no current license)
Lifetime $50/$30 refundable $25

Hunting and Target
(with current Indiana License)

Lifetime $40/$30 refundable $20

Personal Protection
(no current license)

Lifetime $50/$30 refundable $75

Personal Protection
(current Indiana License)

Lifetime $40/$30 refundable $60




Retired Law Enforcement Officer



Retired Corrections Officer



Firearms Dealer



Things to Consider:

  • Additional Fee:
    • The State charges an additional fee of $11.95 for a new license application to cover IDEMIA Electronic Fingerprinting.
    • An additional fee is also charged by the Indiana Government to cover processing costs (charges varies per license type).
  • Local Fees:
    • Local fees are not accepted online. All applicants MUST contact their local Sheriff and inquire regarding local fee payments.
  • Duplicates:
    • All duplicate licenses have a fee of $20, including anyone with exempt status.
  • Refunds:
    • In the case your license was not issued, you can file for a reimbursement, which is half for the local fees and full for the state fee.
  • Non-Online Payments:
    • You can pay all fees straight to the Indiana State Police Firearms Unit if you're not comfortable with processing it online. All your need to do is sent to this following address:
      • Indiana State Police Firearms Unit
        General Headquarters
        100 N. Senate Ave.
        Indiana Government Center North room 302


Indiana CCW Laws: Facts To Know

Must Notify Officer

No - Must Notify Officer

Indiana Gun Laws permit all permittee not to inform any law enforcement officer of private property or business if you're carrying a firearm. However, you are legally required to carry your permit at all times.

Vehicle Carry

Yes/No - Vehicle Carry

Yes, you are allowed to carry a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle if you have a CCW License.

No, if you do not have a permit/license.

No Weapons Allowed

No - "No Weapons Allowed" Sign Not Enforced

Private properties or businesses have no force of law in posting "No Weapons Allowed" signs unless it is in the off-limits area imposed by the State.

Purchase and Possession


Unless a handgun comes from a parent or legal guardian, it is otherwise illegal to transfer possession of it to any individual under the age of 18. It is illegal to sell or transfer possession of a firearm to any individual believed to be a convicted felon, a drug abuser, under the influence of any drug, an alcohol abuser or intoxicated, or mentally impaired.

The sale, trade, or transfer of handguns between private individuals shall be regulated in the same manner as handgun sales between retail firearms dealers and buyers.

A dealer must comply with all federal regulations that require a NCIS background check before selling, renting trading, or transferring a firearm to another individual.

Any buyer denied the right to purchase a handgun due to an inaccurately reported criminal history has the right to review the information and pursue correction of it.

The following persons are exempt from the federal instant background check: law enforcement officers, licensed firearms manufacturers, licensed firearms importers, licensed collectors and licensed firearms dealers.


The possession of a rifle, shotgun, or handgun does not require a state permit. No child shall possess or receive a firearm from an adult unless he/she is engaged in or at:

  • A firearms safety course or a hunter safety course while under the supervision of an adult;
  • Target shooting in an area designated for such activity or at an established shooting range while under the supervision of an adult or qualified firearms instructor;
  • An organized firearms competition or in the act of practicing for the competition.
  • Hunting or trapping while in the possession of an Indiana state license;
  • The transport of an unloaded firearm while traveling to or from any of the above activities; or while
  • The premises of property controlled by the child’s parent, guardian, or adult family member, with permission from the parent or legal guardian to possess a firearm;
  • The residence of the child with permission of the child’s parent, legal guardian, or an adult family member to possess a firearm.                

It is illegal to possess a firearm on any school grounds, at a school function, or on a school bus. This does not apply to firearms legally transported in motor vehicles by persons dropping off or picking up students at school or school functions.

Carrying a Firearm

It is prohibited to carry a handgun in a vehicle or on or about the person without possession of a license to do so. The following exceptions apply to carrying without a license:

  • Carrying a handgun on one’s own property, including in his/her residence, or at one’s place of business;
  • Any law enforcement officer, authorized corrections or judicial officer, or member of the armed services while engaged in official duties, regular members of any organization lawfully allowed to purchase or obtain weapons from the U.S. or the state of Indiana while meeting at an established location for assembly or target practice;
  • Any employee of the U.S. authorized to carry a handgun; or employees of a company authorized to carry a handgun while engaged in company business;
  • Any person involved in the firearms business while engaged in the ordinary course of that business;
  • Any person while moving an unloaded handgun from its place of purchase to their residence or place of business in a secure wrapping, or while moving the handgun from a place of repair to or from the residence or place of business.
  • Carrying a handgun while riding on an off road vehicle or snowmobile where the carrier has either: a license to carry is exempt from the licensing requirement, is on private property owned or controlled by him/her, or has express permission from the property owner.

An individual applying for a license to carry a handgun must make application to the chief law enforcement officer of the municipality of his/her residence or place of employment, or to the county sheriff of his her county of residence or place of employment.  The application must contain identifying information including the person’s name, address, physical description, including height, weight, nationality, age and race, any criminal history, length of time at residence, occupation, and the specific reason for wanting to carry a handgun. The law enforcement official who receives the application shall conduct an investigation on the applicant that examines his/her official records, character, reputation, and application information. All information, including the law enforcement official’s recommendation, application, and one set of finger prints shall be forwarded to the Indiana State Police Superintendent. The superintendent may investigate the applicant further or upon finding that he/she is of good character and reputation, is considered a “proper person” to carry a handgun and has a valid reason, issue either a qualified or unlimited license to carry any legally possessed handgun.

A license to carry a handgun shall be valid for a period of four years or for a lifetime, based on whether it is a qualified license or an unlimited license. A qualified license may be issued to an individual for purposes of hunting and target practice. An unlimited license may be issued to an individual in order to protect life and property. The superintendent may adopt rules imposing limitations on the use and carrying of handguns by a license holder who carries a handgun as a condition of his employment.

The term “proper person” refers to a person who:

  • Is at least 18 years of age and has never been convicted of a crime carrying a sentence of more than one year;
  • Does not abuse drugs or alcohol and does not have a history of violence or instability;
  • Has not misrepresented any statement of fact on his/her application;
  • Has not been convicted of an offense for resisting law enforcement or of a violation of Indiana weapons laws in the five years prior to submitting the application; and
  • Has not been adjudicated a delinquent and has not committed any crime that would be considered a felony if committed by an adult, if the applicant is under 23 years of age.

An applicant’s reputation and propensity to commit a crime may be determined without evidence of a conviction for a violation of the law. If the court can find reason to believe that an applicant committed a Class A or Class B felony, that involved carrying of a weapon while in the commission of a crime, or committing a violent crime, a license to carry a handgun can be denied even if there is no conviction for those offenses.

A license will be granted or rejected by the Indiana State Police Superintendent. An application for renewal of an existing license may be filed 365 days prior to expiration. If a renewal is filed within 30 days of expiration, the license will be automatically extended until a decision has been made. An applicant may request a hearing before the Superintendent if his/her application for a license to carry has been denied. In cases where the denial is upheld, the appeal may be presented to the circuit court.

Fees for the application are broken down by separate state and local amounts. For a four-year unlimited (Personal Protection) license, the fee is $10 for local and $30 state. A four-year qualified (Hunting and Target) license is $10 and $5 state. The fee for a lifetime Personal Protection license for an applicant without a current valid license is $50 local and a $75 fee for the state. A $30 refund shall be given if the license is not issued. A lifetime Personal Protection license with a current valid license will cost $40 local and $60 state. If the license is not issued, $30 will be refunded to the applicant as well. The fee for a Lifetime Hunting and Target license is $50 local and $25 state without a current valid license, and a lifetime Personal Protection license to a person who currently possesses a valid license is $40 local and $60 state fee. A $30 fee shall be refunded if the license is not issued. The lifetime Hunting and Target license fees are $50 local and $25 state if the applicant does not have a current valid license, and $40 local and $20 state with a current valid license. Licensing fees are waived for applicants who are honorably retired from any state or U.S. law enforcement office as a 20-year service member, or a retiree with a disability.

If a superintendent believes that a license should be suspended or revoked and has reasonable grounds to support this finding, he/she may act within their authority to do so.

Any license to carry a handgun issued by another state or foreign country shall be valid within the scope of such license if the holder is not a resident of the state of Indiana.

Indiana state law is silent on the issue of carrying rifles and shotguns, outside of any exceptions or limitations during game seasons that may apply.

Unless a firearm or ammunition for that firearm requires a federal license for possession, no individual, government entity, or corporation may adopt or enforce any rule that prohibits an employee from lawfully possessing a firearm that is locked in the trunk of his/her personal vehicle and parked on his/her property or on company premises.

Antiques & Replicas

Any firearm that is not designed to use fixed cartridges or fixed ammunition, or was manufactured in or before 1899 does not fall under codes concerning the regulation of handguns. Handguns considered inoperable may not be carried as they meet the technical definition for a handgun.

Machine Guns

Machine guns may be possessed by the following: members of the armed services, any approved government agency personnel, and law enforcement officers in the course of their duties; machine guns for display kept as relics that are inoperable and harmless; persons possessing a machine gun under U.S. statutes that apply, or have applied to possess a machine gun under those statutes given that the machine gun was transferred in full compliance with Indiana state law; and any person actively engaged in a business that involves machine guns while acting within the scope of their business.

It is illegal to manufacture, possess, give, lend, sell, or import a sawed-off shotgun with the exception of any law enforcement officer acting within his/her lawful duties or any manufacturer, importer or seller of sawed-off shotguns to law enforcement agencies.

Range Protection

If a shooting range complies with all laws or ordinances applicable at the time of construction or initial operation, a person who owns, operates, or uses the range may not be held liable whether civilly or criminally for any matter relating to noise as a result of normal operation of the facility.

14-22-31  5-1  As used in this chapter, "local unit of government" means a county, city, town, or township.
As added by P.L.134-1996, SEC.4.

14-22-31. 5-2  As used in this chapter, "person" means an individual, an association, a business entity, or a governmental entity.
As added by P.L.134-1996, SEC.4.

14-22-31. 5-3 “Shooting range” defined

Sec. 3. As used in this chapter, “shooting range” means an area designed and operated for the use of archery, rifles, shotguns, pistols, muskets, or similar firearms that are fired at silhouettes, skeet, trap, paper, stillboard, or other similar targets

14-22-31.  5-5  Except as specifically prohibited by this chapter, a local unit of government may regulate the location, use, operation, safety, and construction of a shooting range.
As added by P.L.134-1996, SEC.4.

14-22-31. 5-6  A person who owns, operates, or uses a shooting range is not liable in any civil or criminal matter relating to noise or noise pollution that results from the normal operation or use of the shooting range if the shooting range complies with a law or an ordinance that applied to the shooting range and its operation at the time of the construction or initial operation of the shooting range, if such a law or ordinance was in existence at the time of the construction or initial operation of the shooting range.

14-22-31. 5-7  Notwithstanding any ordinance adopted by a local unit of government, a shooting range that is in existence before July 1, 1996, may do the following within the geographic boundaries of the shooting range as it existed on June 30, 1996:
(1) Repair, remodel, or reinforce a building or structure that is needed to ensure public safety or to secure the continued use of the building or structure.
(2) Reconstruct, repair, restore, or resume the use of a nonconforming building that has been damaged by fire, collapse, explosion, act of nature, or war after July 1, 1996. However, the reconstruction, repair, or restoration must be completed not more than one (1) year after the date of the damage to the building or the settlement of the property damage claim. If the reconstruction, repair, or restoration is not completed within one (1) year, the local unit of government may terminate the continuation of the nonconforming use.
(3) Expand or increase the membership of the shooting range or opportunities for public participation at the shooting range.
As added by P.L.134-1996, SEC.4.

Indiana Concealed Carry Reciprocity

Indiana's Reciprocity States

States that honor an Indiana ccw license

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Indiana honors these state ccw licenses

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

States that will not accept an Indiana ccw license

California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington

Off-Limits Area in Indiana

  • In or On School Property - (locked in a vehicle is OK).
  • On a school bus
  • In or on a property that is being used by a school for a school function
  • Private School, Head Start, Preschool program
  • On commercial or charter aircraft
  • Controlled access areas of an airport
  • During the annual State Fair
  • Shipping port (Controlled by Indiana Port Commission)
  • A riverboat Casino
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Allowed Places in Indiana

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Roadside rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • If you are transporting a person to or from a school or a school function
  • All areas of the state - except those listed as Off-Limits


No local government may regulate the possession, ownership, sale, transfer, or transportation of firearms or ammunition.

All information necessary to acquire or renew a license to carry a handgun must be kept confidential, not to be published or open to public inspection, unless for a federal, state, or local investigation pertaining to a person applying for an initial license or renewal of an existing license.

A person shall not make any loan secured by a deposit, mortgage or promise of a handgun.

It is unlawful to change alter, remove, or destroy the manufacturer’s name, model, serial number or other identifying marker of any firearm, or possess such a firearm unless by exception of an applicable United States statute.

Any reckless, intentional act whereby an individual knowingly creates a substantial risk of serious bodily injury to another while armed with a deadly weapon, will be charged as a felony. It is further illegal, and a felony to “haze” another individual or engage in riot activity while armed with a deadly weapon.

It is illegal to manufacture, possess, or transfer any handgun ammunition “that has a metal core and an outer coating of plastic.” Plastic shot capsules, nylon-coated ammunition, or rifle or shotgun ammunition is exempt from this. This rule also does not apply to law enforcement personnel while engaged in their official duties, or manufacturers, sellers, or importers to law enforcement agencies.

It is illegal to shoot across or on any road.

It is illegal to discharge any firearm within the limits of a park under the jurisdiction of a county board unless designated as a hunting, firearm sport, or archery area.

Unless equipped with a key lock trigger mechanism which renders a firearm inoperable, or unloaded and locked in a case, no person may transport a firearm on an “off road vehicle” or a snowmobile.

Any student on school property in possession of a firearm shall be expelled.

A person may not bring legal action against any manufacturer of firearms or ammunition, trade association, or seller for damages, injunctive relief, or abatement of nuisance as it relates to the legal design, marketing or sale, of a firearm or ammunition, or for damages as a result of criminal or illegal use of a firearm or ammunition by any third party, with the exception of certain narrow circumstances.

Indiana Off Limit Statues

Sec. 1. This Chapter Does Not Apply to the Following:
 (A) federal;
 (B) state; or
 (C) local; law enforcement officer.
(2) A person who may legally possess a firearm and who has been authorized by:
 (A) a school board (as defined by IC 20-26-9-4); or
 (B) the body that administers a charter school established under IC 20-24; to carry a firearm in or on school property.
(3) A person who:
 (A) may legally possess a firearm; and
 (B) possesses the firearm in a motor vehicle.
(4) A person who is a school resource officer, as defined in IC 20-26-18.2-1.
(5) Except as provided in subsection (b) or (c), a person who:
 (A) may legally possess a firearm; and
 (B) possesses a firearm that is:
 (i) locked in the trunk of the person's motor vehicle;
 (ii) kept in the glove compartment of the person's locked motor vehicle; or
 (iii) stored out of plain sight in the person's locked motor vehicle.
(6) A person who:
 (A) may legally possess a firearm; and
 (B) possesses a firearm on school property in connection with or while:
 (i) attending a worship service or religious ceremony conducted at a house of worship located on the school property; or
 (ii) carrying out the person's official duties at a house of worship located on the school property, if the person is employed by or a volunteer at the house of worship.
This subdivision does not affect the right of a property owner to prohibit, in whole or in part, the possession of a firearm on a property where a school or house of worship is located.

SEC.4; P.L.107-2019, SEC.11

Sec. 2. (a) A person may not be charged with an offense under this subsection if the person may be charged with an offense described in subsection (c). A person who knowingly or intentionally possesses a firearm:
(1) in or on school property; or
(2) on a school bus; commits a Level 6 felony.

(b) It is a defense to a prosecution under subsection (a) that:
(1) the person is permitted to legally possess the firearm; and
(2) the firearm is:
 (A) locked in the trunk of the person's motor vehicle;
 (B) kept in the glove compartment of the person's locked motor vehicle; or
 (C) stored out of plain sight in the person's locked motor vehicle.
(c) A person who is permitted to legally possess a firearm and who knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly leaves the firearm in plain view in a motor vehicle that is parked in a school parking lot commits a Class A misdemeanor.

SEC.5; P.L.168-2014, SEC.89; P.L.109-2015, SEC.54.

(1) A building or other structure owned or rented by:

(A) a school corporation;
(B) an entity that is required to be licensed under IC 12-17.2or IC 31-27;
(C) a private school that is not supported and maintained by funds realized from the imposition of a tax on property, income, or sales; or
(D) a federal, state, local, or nonprofit program or service operated to serve, assist, or otherwise benefit children who are at least three

(3) years of age and not yet enrolled in kindergarten, including the following:

(i) A Head Start program under 42 U.S.C. 9831 et seq.
(ii) A special education preschool program.
(iii) A developmental child care program for preschool children.
(2) The grounds adjacent to and owned or rented in common with a building or other structure described in subdivision (1).

As added by P.L.114-2012, SEC.67.

(5) Subject to IC 35-47-16-1, the enactment or enforcement of a provision prohibiting or restricting the possession of a firearm in any building that contains the courtroom of a circuit, superior, city, town, or small claims court. However, if a portion of the building is occupied by a residential tenant or private business, any provision restricting or prohibiting the possession of a firearm does not apply to the portion of the building that is occupied by the residential tenant or private business, or to common areas of the building used by a
residential tenant or private business.

Amended by P.L.6-2012, SEC.232; P.L.147-2014, SEC.3.

(c) The casino licensee shall post a sign in a prominent place at the point of passenger ingress stating “No weapons are allowed beyond this point. Failure to comply with this rule many result in immediate removal from the casino immediate detention by security personnel, the imposition of civil penalties, or exclusion under applicable law.”

(d) The casino licensee shall provide a secure place to which patrons do not have access to store weapons checked by:

 (1) patrons;
 (2) off duty law enforcement officers; or
 (3) off duty federal enforcement officers.


Allows carrying a concealed loaded defensive handgun on an ATV or Snowmobile with a valid permit/license to carry

Sec. 3. (a) A person must not possess a firearm or bow and arrows on a DNR property unless one (1) of the following conditions apply:

(1) The firearm or bow and arrows are:
(A) unloaded and unnocked; and
(B) placed in a case or locked within a vehicle.

(4) The person possesses a handgun on a DNR property other than a reservoir owned by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or Falls of the Ohio State Park:
(A) with a valid unlimited license to carry a handgun:
(i) issued under IC 35-47-2-3; or
(ii) recognized under IC 35-47-2-21(b); 20161026-IR-312160151RFA

Sec. 1. No person in possession of a deadly weapon, destructive device, weapon of mass destruction, or any other device commonly used in furtherance of terrorism, or is readily capable of causing serious bodily injury (as defined by IC 35-41-1-25 [IC 35-41-1-25 was repealed by P.L.114-2012, SECTION 129, effective July 1, 2012.]) as determined by an authorized law enforcement officer shall be permitted into or permitted to remain in the Indiana government center campus. (Indiana Department of Administration; readopted filed.


Sec. 5. No person, except commission security, track security, and law enforcement officials while engaged in the performance of their official duties, shall possess or discharge any firearm within any race track property. (Indiana Horse Racing)


Sec. 3. No person in possession of a deadly weapon, destructive device, weapon of mass destruction, or any other as determined by an authorized law enforcement officer shall be permitted into or permitted to remain in a department office. (Department of Workforce Development)